ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Is this safe?
by twh. 04/25/18 06:21 PM
Inspections and Testing
by HotLine1. 04/25/18 08:41 AM
FEMA height and electrical equiment.,
by HotLine1. 04/20/18 08:49 AM
This anti-theist is priceless!!!
by LongRunner. 04/19/18 04:02 PM
Recall notice: Square D Services Switches
by gfretwell. 04/18/18 01:24 PM
New in the Gallery:
Housebilding DIY wiring
SE cable question
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 10 guests, and 8 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Gfi's and testers. #169841
10/17/07 09:17 PM
10/17/07 09:17 PM
D
derater  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 179
Could use some insight on this; gfi receptacle trips with 'test' button, but not with a gfi tester. New type that supposedly won't work if wired wrong. Tester is ok. Ideas ?

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Gfi's and testers. [Re: derater] #169843
10/17/07 09:29 PM
10/17/07 09:29 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,199
Estero,Fl,usa
No ground?


Greg Fretwell
Re: Gfi's and testers. [Re: gfretwell] #169846
10/17/07 10:32 PM
10/17/07 10:32 PM
S
SP4RX  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 56
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada...eh
I agree with Fretwell. I think that the gfi tester works by allowing a small amount of current to flow from the hot conductor through a resistor to the grounding conductor. So if you have no ground connection at the gfi the tester's ground prong wouldn't have a good return path for the simulated ground fault.
This doesn't mean that the gfi won't work as intended though since it normally compares line current to neutral current, with no need for a ground.
Perhaps you could verify it's correct operation by unscrewing the gfi and, using a separate wire, make a temporary connection to a good remote ground point and then try your tester again?

Shawn.

Re: Gfi's and testers. [Re: SP4RX] #169858
10/18/07 12:54 PM
10/18/07 12:54 PM
J
JValdes  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 301
South Carolina
The neutral carries the same current as the hot conductor. A ground would be necessary for the GFCI to work properly.

Re: Gfi's and testers. [Re: JValdes] #169859
10/18/07 01:12 PM
10/18/07 01:12 PM
S
SteveFehr  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,213
Chesapeake, VA
Originally Posted by JValdes
The neutral carries the same current as the hot conductor. A ground would be necessary for the GFCI to work properly.
The GFCI will still work properly without a ground (hence its acceptability in ungrounded retrofit appliations) but the GFCI tester wouldn't work, as it can't shunt a small amount of current to ground if there's no ground to shunt to. Standing in a puddle and sticking a wet finger into the receptacle aught to do the trick, though. But it's certainly not recommend as the consequences if the test fails are potentially rather dire...

Last edited by SteveFehr; 10/18/07 01:13 PM.
Re: Gfi's and testers. [Re: SteveFehr] #169865
10/18/07 03:56 PM
10/18/07 03:56 PM
D
derater  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 179
Thanks all. That's the case, no ground.


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
TOOL_5150
TOOL_5150
Bay Area
Posts: 61
Joined: August 2007
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
245,931 Are you busy
183,023 Re: Forum
172,782 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.027s Queries: 15 (0.004s) Memory: 0.9755 MB (Peak: 1.1238 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-04-26 04:02:43 UTC