ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
dsk 13
Admin 8
doc 3
Recent Posts
Bathroom electrical
by doc. 08/19/17 06:53 AM
electircal ageing test on IPC
by SIAME. 08/15/17 02:43 AM
electrical aging test on IPC
by gfretwell. 08/15/17 12:27 AM
"Line level" audio on Cat 5?
by gfretwell. 08/08/17 10:39 PM
Fire alarm phone lines and color coding
by gfretwell. 08/08/17 10:26 PM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
240,033 Are you busy
175,645 Re: Forum
167,876 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 83 guests, and 12 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#169841 - 10/17/07 09:17 PM Gfi's and testers.  
derater  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 179
Could use some insight on this; gfi receptacle trips with 'test' button, but not with a gfi tester. New type that supposedly won't work if wired wrong. Tester is ok. Ideas ?


Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades

#169843 - 10/17/07 09:29 PM Re: Gfi's and testers. [Re: derater]  
gfretwell  Offline


Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,103
Estero,Fl,usa
No ground?


Greg Fretwell

#169846 - 10/17/07 10:32 PM Re: Gfi's and testers. [Re: gfretwell]  
SP4RX  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 56
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada...eh
I agree with Fretwell. I think that the gfi tester works by allowing a small amount of current to flow from the hot conductor through a resistor to the grounding conductor. So if you have no ground connection at the gfi the tester's ground prong wouldn't have a good return path for the simulated ground fault.
This doesn't mean that the gfi won't work as intended though since it normally compares line current to neutral current, with no need for a ground.
Perhaps you could verify it's correct operation by unscrewing the gfi and, using a separate wire, make a temporary connection to a good remote ground point and then try your tester again?

Shawn.


#169858 - 10/18/07 12:54 PM Re: Gfi's and testers. [Re: SP4RX]  
JValdes  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 301
South Carolina
The neutral carries the same current as the hot conductor. A ground would be necessary for the GFCI to work properly.


#169859 - 10/18/07 01:12 PM Re: Gfi's and testers. [Re: JValdes]  
SteveFehr  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,208
Chesapeake, VA
Originally Posted by JValdes
The neutral carries the same current as the hot conductor. A ground would be necessary for the GFCI to work properly.
The GFCI will still work properly without a ground (hence its acceptability in ungrounded retrofit appliations) but the GFCI tester wouldn't work, as it can't shunt a small amount of current to ground if there's no ground to shunt to. Standing in a puddle and sticking a wet finger into the receptacle aught to do the trick, though. But it's certainly not recommend as the consequences if the test fails are potentially rather dire...

Last edited by SteveFehr; 10/18/07 01:13 PM.

#169865 - 10/18/07 03:56 PM Re: Gfi's and testers. [Re: SteveFehr]  
derater  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 179
Thanks all. That's the case, no ground.



Member Spotlight
Tom
Tom
Shinnston, WV USA
Posts: 1,044
Joined: January 2001
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.016s Queries: 15 (0.003s) Memory: 0.7766 MB (Peak: 0.9221 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-08-21 15:47:42 UTC