ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Photocell
by Docholiday. 01/22/18 10:52 AM
AreMetal Ladders Ever OK For Electrical Work?
by gfretwell. 01/22/18 01:15 AM
VDE 0100 to introduce AFCIs
by sparky. 01/20/18 05:09 PM
MRI LED lights dimmer control replacement - wow!
by Potseal. 01/19/18 08:52 PM
New in the Gallery:
Housebilding DIY wiring
SE cable question
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 22 guests, and 15 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Gfi's and testers. #169841
10/17/07 08:17 PM
10/17/07 08:17 PM
D
derater  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 179
Could use some insight on this; gfi receptacle trips with 'test' button, but not with a gfi tester. New type that supposedly won't work if wired wrong. Tester is ok. Ideas ?

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Gfi's and testers. [Re: derater] #169843
10/17/07 08:29 PM
10/17/07 08:29 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,167
Estero,Fl,usa
No ground?


Greg Fretwell
Re: Gfi's and testers. [Re: gfretwell] #169846
10/17/07 09:32 PM
10/17/07 09:32 PM
S
SP4RX  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 56
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada...eh
I agree with Fretwell. I think that the gfi tester works by allowing a small amount of current to flow from the hot conductor through a resistor to the grounding conductor. So if you have no ground connection at the gfi the tester's ground prong wouldn't have a good return path for the simulated ground fault.
This doesn't mean that the gfi won't work as intended though since it normally compares line current to neutral current, with no need for a ground.
Perhaps you could verify it's correct operation by unscrewing the gfi and, using a separate wire, make a temporary connection to a good remote ground point and then try your tester again?

Shawn.

Re: Gfi's and testers. [Re: SP4RX] #169858
10/18/07 11:54 AM
10/18/07 11:54 AM
J
JValdes  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 301
South Carolina
The neutral carries the same current as the hot conductor. A ground would be necessary for the GFCI to work properly.

Re: Gfi's and testers. [Re: JValdes] #169859
10/18/07 12:12 PM
10/18/07 12:12 PM
S
SteveFehr  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,213
Chesapeake, VA
Originally Posted by JValdes
The neutral carries the same current as the hot conductor. A ground would be necessary for the GFCI to work properly.
The GFCI will still work properly without a ground (hence its acceptability in ungrounded retrofit appliations) but the GFCI tester wouldn't work, as it can't shunt a small amount of current to ground if there's no ground to shunt to. Standing in a puddle and sticking a wet finger into the receptacle aught to do the trick, though. But it's certainly not recommend as the consequences if the test fails are potentially rather dire...

Last edited by SteveFehr; 10/18/07 12:13 PM.
Re: Gfi's and testers. [Re: SteveFehr] #169865
10/18/07 02:56 PM
10/18/07 02:56 PM
D
derater  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 179
Thanks all. That's the case, no ground.


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
CDS
CDS
Nicholson Ga
Posts: 34
Joined: June 2006
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 21
Potseal 15
sparky 15
Popular Topics(Views)
243,595 Are you busy
180,392 Re: Forum
170,862 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.030s Queries: 15 (0.009s) Memory: 0.9756 MB (Peak: 1.1239 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-01-22 18:03:44 UTC