ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
sec cable code conflict
by gfretwell. 11/18/18 12:25 PM
This anti-theist is priceless!!!
by Texas_Ranger. 11/17/18 02:15 PM
High current GFI vs regular GFCI
by Texas_Ranger. 11/17/18 02:07 PM
Single phase and what you call it.
by dsk. 11/12/18 11:10 AM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 19 guests, and 26 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Resetting breakers under incandescent loads. #168581
09/09/07 08:34 PM
09/09/07 08:34 PM
B
BigB  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 734
Tucson, AZ USA
I have had this happen twice now, two different customers. A circuit breaker will not reset, it will snap open, acting like there is a short circuit. In looking for the short circuit, I discovered there were lighting loads turned on. Once these loads were turned off, the breaker will reset fine, and stay set when the lights are switched back on. Once it was a new cutler hammer, the last one was a fairly new GE. I am figuring it is the low resistance of the cold tungsten filaments not allowing the breaker to reset.

The loads were not great, the first time it was a single incandescent bulb, this last one was three cans. The only thing both had in common were 3 way switching, but I can't see how that would matter. Any ideas or anyone else experience this??

Last edited by BigB; 09/09/07 08:35 PM.
Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Resetting breakers under incandescent loads. [Re: BigB] #168586
09/09/07 09:21 PM
09/09/07 09:21 PM
C
Clydesdale  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 138
wow, never heard of that before...(5 years only in the business)...to my knowledge a GE breaker will hold fast with a dead short for quite some time, pretty strange it would not reset under the conditions you described...interesting, very.

Last edited by Clydesdale; 09/09/07 09:21 PM.
Re: Resetting breakers under incandescent loads. [Re: Clydesdale] #168590
09/09/07 09:45 PM
09/09/07 09:45 PM
W
wis-sparky  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 16
Wisconsin
I think it has to do with all of the poor quality bulbs being sold now - I've run across this twice before.

Re: Resetting breakers under incandescent loads. [Re: wis-sparky] #168593
09/09/07 10:05 PM
09/09/07 10:05 PM
F
frenchelectrican  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 939
Wi/ Paris France { France for ...
i heard about it as well but depending how many lightbulbs and type it was on the circuit it will affect it but if that keep tripping the breaker you can try to use the high magatinc swd breaker [ kinda like specal order breaker ] that will help to get by the montarly load

Merci , Marc


Pas de problme,il marche n'est-ce pas?"(No problem, it works doesn't it?)


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Posts: 165
Joined: March 2007
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 7
Popular Topics(Views)
251,587 Are you busy
188,737 Re: Forum
178,445 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.018s Queries: 15 (0.004s) Memory: 0.9608 MB (Peak: 1.0931 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-11-19 03:24:06 UTC