ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
You will never guess
by Bill Addiss - 02/24/21 04:45 PM
Lock-down Thread
by Bill Addiss - 02/24/21 04:40 PM
New tool
by SMOKEYBOB - 02/15/21 04:59 PM
Split Bus Breaker Panel
by gfretwell - 02/15/21 02:30 PM
Sierraplex recpts
by gfretwell - 02/15/21 02:27 PM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 23 guests, and 18 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Resetting breakers under incandescent loads. #168581 09/09/07 08:34 PM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 777
B
BigB Offline OP
Member
I have had this happen twice now, two different customers. A circuit breaker will not reset, it will snap open, acting like there is a short circuit. In looking for the short circuit, I discovered there were lighting loads turned on. Once these loads were turned off, the breaker will reset fine, and stay set when the lights are switched back on. Once it was a new cutler hammer, the last one was a fairly new GE. I am figuring it is the low resistance of the cold tungsten filaments not allowing the breaker to reset.

The loads were not great, the first time it was a single incandescent bulb, this last one was three cans. The only thing both had in common were 3 way switching, but I can't see how that would matter. Any ideas or anyone else experience this??

Last edited by BigB; 09/09/07 08:35 PM.
Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Resetting breakers under incandescent loads. [Re: BigB] #168586 09/09/07 09:21 PM
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 138
C
Clydesdale Offline
Member
wow, never heard of that before...(5 years only in the business)...to my knowledge a GE breaker will hold fast with a dead short for quite some time, pretty strange it would not reset under the conditions you described...interesting, very.

Last edited by Clydesdale; 09/09/07 09:21 PM.
Re: Resetting breakers under incandescent loads. [Re: Clydesdale] #168590 09/09/07 09:45 PM
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 16
W
wis-sparky Offline
Member
I think it has to do with all of the poor quality bulbs being sold now - I've run across this twice before.

Re: Resetting breakers under incandescent loads. [Re: wis-sparky] #168593 09/09/07 10:05 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 939
F
frenchelectrican Offline
Member
i heard about it as well but depending how many lightbulbs and type it was on the circuit it will affect it but if that keep tripping the breaker you can try to use the high magatinc swd breaker [ kinda like specal order breaker ] that will help to get by the montarly load

Merci , Marc


Pas de problme,il marche n'est-ce pas?"(No problem, it works doesn't it?)


Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
noderaser
noderaser
Portland, Oregon, United States
Posts: 404
Joined: March 2007
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
275,348 Are you busy
209,214 Re: Forum
196,517 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3