ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
by Rabbit. 03/20/18 08:23 PM
Recall notice: Southwire wi-fi wall switches
by sparkyinak. 03/15/18 06:03 PM
Goodman Manufacturing Recalls Modular Blowers
by Admin. 03/13/18 10:40 PM
MAAX Spas Recalls Hot Tubs and Swim Spas
by Admin. 03/13/18 10:29 PM
New in the Gallery:
Housebilding DIY wiring
SE cable question
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 6 guests, and 7 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Resetting breakers under incandescent loads. #168581
09/09/07 09:34 PM
09/09/07 09:34 PM
BigB  Offline OP
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 725
Tucson, AZ USA
I have had this happen twice now, two different customers. A circuit breaker will not reset, it will snap open, acting like there is a short circuit. In looking for the short circuit, I discovered there were lighting loads turned on. Once these loads were turned off, the breaker will reset fine, and stay set when the lights are switched back on. Once it was a new cutler hammer, the last one was a fairly new GE. I am figuring it is the low resistance of the cold tungsten filaments not allowing the breaker to reset.

The loads were not great, the first time it was a single incandescent bulb, this last one was three cans. The only thing both had in common were 3 way switching, but I can't see how that would matter. Any ideas or anyone else experience this??

Last edited by BigB; 09/09/07 09:35 PM.
Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Resetting breakers under incandescent loads. [Re: BigB] #168586
09/09/07 10:21 PM
09/09/07 10:21 PM
Clydesdale  Offline
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 138
wow, never heard of that before...(5 years only in the business) my knowledge a GE breaker will hold fast with a dead short for quite some time, pretty strange it would not reset under the conditions you described...interesting, very.

Last edited by Clydesdale; 09/09/07 10:21 PM.
Re: Resetting breakers under incandescent loads. [Re: Clydesdale] #168590
09/09/07 10:45 PM
09/09/07 10:45 PM
wis-sparky  Offline
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 16
I think it has to do with all of the poor quality bulbs being sold now - I've run across this twice before.

Re: Resetting breakers under incandescent loads. [Re: wis-sparky] #168593
09/09/07 11:05 PM
09/09/07 11:05 PM
frenchelectrican  Offline
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 939
Wi/ Paris France { France for ...
i heard about it as well but depending how many lightbulbs and type it was on the circuit it will affect it but if that keep tripping the breaker you can try to use the high magatinc swd breaker [ kinda like specal order breaker ] that will help to get by the montarly load

Merci , Marc

Pas de problme,il marche n'est-ce pas?"(No problem, it works doesn't it?)


2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman


Member Spotlight
Posts: 70
Joined: June 2012
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 5
Trumpy 5
Popular Topics(Views)
244,539 Are you busy
181,661 Re: Forum
171,710 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.025s Queries: 15 (0.005s) Memory: 0.9600 MB (Peak: 1.0923 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-03-21 16:27:44 UTC