ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
nec 110.3 (B)
by gfretwell - 09/22/21 11:11 PM
Grounding electrodes
by gfretwell - 09/07/21 03:41 PM
Looking For Electricians in the Midlands
by Alex247 - 09/06/21 05:26 AM
New in the Gallery:
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
February, North East Indiana
February, North East Indiana
by timmp, July 25
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 40 guests, and 21 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 507
M
mahlere Offline OP
Member
Here is what we have...customer has 14 TV's total...basic CATV to 7 tvs, no set top boxes....HDTV set top boxes to the other 7....they have Direct TV for music and football only...

To the 7 HDTV TV's we have 2 RG6 quad shield cables...1 cable with CATV to the set top (with video cables into the TV's) and the 2nd cable directly to the input on the TV. When the customer turns off the set top input, and changes the tv to chanel 88, 90, 92, or 94, they recieve the satellite channel that is programmed to that tv chanel...ie, channel 88 receiver is programmed to music.

Now, back to the other 7 TV's, they do not have HDTV or set top boxes...they simply have basic CATV directly to the input on the tv.

question, is there a way to combine the Satellite signal with the CATV signal and run it through the one cable to these TV's?

The channels being used for Sat (88,90,92,94) do not have any CATV channels on them...So that theoretically, channels 2-60 should have the CATV channels, but 88 will pick up the Satellite feed.

I looked at diplexers, but they seem to require a set top box.

Thanks for the help....let me know if I need to clarify anything.

Joined: May 2003
Posts: 1,157
Member
are the 7 TVs daisy chained or do they all run back to a 8 way splitter
Not sure if this will help
http://www.eagleaspen.com/admin/download/fujian/file_17.pdf

this company has some products that might work too.

http://www.channelplus.com/product_detail.php?productId=38

Last edited by dougwells; 08/08/07 05:04 AM.
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 507
M
mahlere Offline OP
Member
doug,

they are all home runs back to an 8 way splitter.

I didn't really get a look at your second link, but the 1st one would work if I had a set top box.

It combines the signals, but then calls for a diplexer at the TV to split them again.

What I am not sure of is this...do I need that diplexer at the TV or will the TV be able to take both signals in and understand them?

Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 745
E
Member
Erik:

Channel Plus is definitely the way to go. I am using their equipment at home for almost exactly the same scenario and it works great.


---Ed---

"But the guy at Home Depot said it would work."
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 507
M
mahlere Offline OP
Member
well, I humbly admit that due to time constraints (pre-season football beginning soon) and not wanting to tick off the bar that these TV's are in, I am calling in the cavalry...:D

We work closely with an AV company, so they are coming to bail me out friday morning...but I shall learn something new, that's a good thing...

Joined: May 2003
Posts: 1,157
Member
Cool

Joined: May 2003
Posts: 1,157
Member
Originally Posted by mahlere
well, I humbly admit that due to time constraints (pre-season football beginning soon) and not wanting to tick off the bar that these TV's are in, I am calling in the cavalry...:D

We work closely with an AV company, so they are coming to bail me out friday morning...but I shall learn something new, that's a good thing...


How did it go

Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 507
M
mahlere Offline OP
Member
went well, and I did learn something new...

problem was in the cable side...because some TV's were using digital HD boxes and others weren't...

apparently the filters that are used, basically filter out the digital signals.

so we had to split everything into three groups

digital
regular cable
satellite

once we did that, we could run digital and satellite as we were

but then we filtered the satellite and ran it backwards through a splitter with the cable. then the one cable going to the TV worked like a charm running both satellite and cable.

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,429
L
LK Offline
Member
Sounds likr they are trying to cheap out, for true HD they will nedd seperate runs, from the HD receivers.

Joined: May 2005
Posts: 247
T
Member
Originally Posted by LK
Sounds likr they are trying to cheap out, for true HD they will nedd seperate runs, from the HD receivers.


See the initial posting.. The HD sets are using set-top boxes, with digital cable feeding them.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
mxslick
mxslick
Atomic City, ID USA
Posts: 806
Joined: October 2004
Top Posters(30 Days)
timmp 3
Popular Topics(Views)
283,074 Are you busy
216,807 Re: Forum
203,189 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5