ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (gfretwell), 32 guests, and 14 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#166552 07/23/07 04:27 PM
C
Here is a little personal info about myself. I'm currently in the military and I will be getting out with 8 years of service. I have an Associates Degree in Electromechanical Control Technology, a certificate in electrical wiring, ETA certified Fiber Optics Installer, ETA certified Fiber Optics Technician and my completed Electrical Apprenticship Certificate. I have a couple questions for the experienced civilian electrician.

1. I plan on living in Texas and I want to get my Journeymans License for Texas. I am stationed in Virginia is there any way I can take the test at a Virginia test site? or will I have to fly out to Texas?
2. What are the pro's and con's about being a Union Electrician? Being that I already have the training, is it a good decision to join a union? If so which one?
3. What do you think a realistic starting salary would be for me?
4. Are there any special skills or certificate employer's are looking for?

charlesA #166555 07/23/07 05:23 PM
Charles, I see you are a new member.
Welcome!

We won't address question #2 here.

There are a few places we don't go on this forum. Discussions of the pros and cons of union vs non is one of those places smile

electure #166556 07/23/07 05:39 PM
I
ITO Offline