ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Lock-down Thread
by HotLine1 - 03/02/21 02:14 PM
Northern Tool Recalls Powerhorse Generators
by Admin - 02/25/21 09:49 PM
You will never guess
by gfretwell - 02/25/21 07:48 PM
New tool
by SMOKEYBOB - 02/15/21 04:59 PM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (HotLine1), 19 guests, and 20 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Phantom voltage affecting motion switch #166001 07/09/07 09:21 PM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 115
H
Haligan Offline OP
Member
I have an occupancy detector switch controlling a split 15a rec. (top half always hot, bottom half switched. )
A very low resistive lighting load is plugged into the rec.
When the switch is set to Auto, the light is always on (low power). I swapped out that load with an incandescent lamp and the switch operates as expected.
My meter is reading 2-3 volts from the recep when the switch is on Auto and no motion is present.
Circuit is grounded all the way to panel.

I figure my options are:
1. Put the switched recep in its own box. It's in a 2gang box with another recep.
2. Find a way to add resistance to the low light load.
3. Try another switch.

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Phantom voltage affecting motion switch [Re: Haligan] #166003 07/09/07 09:29 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 228
J
JCooper Offline
Member
You may be seeing leakage from your switch, not induced voltage from the adjacent cable

Re: Phantom voltage affecting motion switch [Re: JCooper] #166006 07/09/07 10:10 PM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 115
H
Haligan Offline OP
Member
That narrows it down to #2 and #3.

Re: Phantom voltage affecting motion switch [Re: Haligan] #166017 07/10/07 11:54 AM
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 20
J
Jonno Offline
Member
The sensor is deriving power from the AC line through the load. The sensor needs power all the time to be able to detect motion, and as a result lets a few mA leak through the load to power itself. With incandesant lighting this is unnoticable and not an issue. If you read the spec. sheet these sensors typicaly call for connection to permenant incandessant fixtures (not plug and cord connected). With an incandesant fixture (there may be a minimum wattage specified) it will work fine.

I know this is not a solution but it should atleast help you understand the problem. It is nothing to do with your wiring methods.

Re: Phantom voltage affecting motion switch [Re: Jonno] #166022 07/10/07 03:09 PM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 115
H
Haligan Offline OP
Member
I'll check the spec sheet. Letsee here, French, German, Spanish, Swahili, aha! English!

Yep. that was it. I called Leviton. They have a relay- driven sensor switch. I'll swap it out for that one.

thx


Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Lostazhell
Lostazhell
Bakersfield, CA (Originally Orange Co.)
Posts: 1,437
Joined: February 2004
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
275,550 Are you busy
209,467 Re: Forum
196,852 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3