ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
110.26
by gfretwell. 02/18/18 12:14 AM
2018 Code Explained
by Potseal. 02/14/18 03:16 PM
Air Compressor feeder conductor sizing
by Potseal. 02/14/18 03:11 PM
New in the Gallery:
Housebilding DIY wiring
SE cable question
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 23 guests, and 7 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Phantom voltage affecting motion switch #166001
07/09/07 09:21 PM
07/09/07 09:21 PM
H
Haligan  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 111
Berkeley, CA USA
I have an occupancy detector switch controlling a split 15a rec. (top half always hot, bottom half switched. )
A very low resistive lighting load is plugged into the rec.
When the switch is set to Auto, the light is always on (low power). I swapped out that load with an incandescent lamp and the switch operates as expected.
My meter is reading 2-3 volts from the recep when the switch is on Auto and no motion is present.
Circuit is grounded all the way to panel.

I figure my options are:
1. Put the switched recep in its own box. It's in a 2gang box with another recep.
2. Find a way to add resistance to the low light load.
3. Try another switch.

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Phantom voltage affecting motion switch [Re: Haligan] #166003
07/09/07 09:29 PM
07/09/07 09:29 PM
J
JCooper  Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 228
Kendall Park, NJ USA
You may be seeing leakage from your switch, not induced voltage from the adjacent cable

Re: Phantom voltage affecting motion switch [Re: JCooper] #166006
07/09/07 10:10 PM
07/09/07 10:10 PM
H
Haligan  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 111
Berkeley, CA USA
That narrows it down to #2 and #3.

Re: Phantom voltage affecting motion switch [Re: Haligan] #166017
07/10/07 11:54 AM
07/10/07 11:54 AM
J
Jonno  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 20
The sensor is deriving power from the AC line through the load. The sensor needs power all the time to be able to detect motion, and as a result lets a few mA leak through the load to power itself. With incandesant lighting this is unnoticable and not an issue. If you read the spec. sheet these sensors typicaly call for connection to permenant incandessant fixtures (not plug and cord connected). With an incandesant fixture (there may be a minimum wattage specified) it will work fine.

I know this is not a solution but it should atleast help you understand the problem. It is nothing to do with your wiring methods.

Re: Phantom voltage affecting motion switch [Re: Jonno] #166022
07/10/07 03:09 PM
07/10/07 03:09 PM
H
Haligan  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 111
Berkeley, CA USA
I'll check the spec sheet. Letsee here, French, German, Spanish, Swahili, aha! English!

Yep. that was it. I called Leviton. They have a relay- driven sensor switch. I'll swap it out for that one.

thx


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
richard
richard
L.I. New York
Posts: 95
Joined: August 2003
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 9
Popular Topics(Views)
244,015 Are you busy
181,009 Re: Forum
171,258 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.014s Queries: 15 (0.003s) Memory: 0.9671 MB (Peak: 1.1060 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-02-19 03:48:28 UTC