ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Lock-down Thread
by Bill Addiss - 02/27/21 01:16 PM
Northern Tool Recalls Powerhorse Generators
by Admin - 02/25/21 09:49 PM
You will never guess
by gfretwell - 02/25/21 07:48 PM
New tool
by SMOKEYBOB - 02/15/21 04:59 PM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 20 guests, and 18 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Sizing of service lateral from 320 Amp meter base? #164980 06/15/07 07:08 PM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 68
H
homer Offline OP
Member
Can anybody tell me how to size the service cable from the feed through meter to two 200-amp panels at a residence. I am removing the existing CT's and meter because an addition will put the meter inside of the house. They are also going to a heat pump and removing the circuits for the electric ceiling heat for a house that is about 3000 square feet. So the load will be reduced at least 50%. The service calculates at about 140 amps max. I am planning on leaving both of the existing 200-amp panels which will be fed from this service lateral. Thanks for your help guys!

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: Sizing of service lateral from 320 Amp meter base? [Re: homer] #165137 06/19/07 05:16 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,233
HotLine1 Offline
Member
Common install here (NJ) is 200 amp SEU cable (4/0 al-2 insulated, 1 bare) to each 200 amp MCB panel. Provided that panels are within acceptable distance. Option would be conduit & 4/0 al conductors.

I'm assuming that you are talking about the 'load' side of the meter, and the disconnects are in each panel?

John


John
Re: Sizing of service lateral from 320 Amp meter b [Re: HotLine1] #165150 06/20/07 03:28 PM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 745
E
EV607797 Offline
Member
4/0 SEU (AL) or 2/0 SEU (CU) to each panel is the norm here in Virginia as well. We are lucky, the power company handles all final connections at the meter, so all we have to do is mount the meter socket and bring the cables into it. They do the rest.


---Ed---

"But the guy at Home Depot said it would work."
Re: Sizing of service lateral from 320 Amp meter b [Re: EV607797] #165187 06/22/07 01:30 AM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 68
H
homer Offline OP
Member
Thanks for your input, guys. I have a single 3" conduit, so I did some research in section 230 on service ampacity. As long as the computed load is less than the service ampacity, the cable can have a smaller ampacity than the overcurrent rating of the service. I didn't want to run parallel cables from the 320-amp meter to each panel. It looks like 350-alum will be plenty big for the two panels. It will splice in the old CT cabinet. (The CT's are going away). Thanks again for your replies!


Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Scott35
Scott35
Anaheim, CA. USA
Posts: 2,721
Joined: October 2000
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
275,440 Are you busy
209,338 Re: Forum
196,620 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3