ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
How's Florida doing with Hurricane Ian?
by Bill Addiss - 09/28/22 12:41 PM
Tough being a lineman's kid
by Bill Addiss - 09/28/22 12:39 PM
GFCI's pops in large numbers
by dsk - 09/26/22 04:35 AM
AFCI’s Revisited
by sparky - 09/24/22 09:58 AM
NFPA Price Increase Coming
by Bill Addiss - 09/23/22 02:22 PM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 16 guests, and 8 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 68
H
homer Offline OP
Member
Can anybody tell me how to size the service cable from the feed through meter to two 200-amp panels at a residence. I am removing the existing CT's and meter because an addition will put the meter inside of the house. They are also going to a heat pump and removing the circuits for the electric ceiling heat for a house that is about 3000 square feet. So the load will be reduced at least 50%. The service calculates at about 140 amps max. I am planning on leaving both of the existing 200-amp panels which will be fed from this service lateral. Thanks for your help guys!

Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:


2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
Pass Your Exam the FIRST TIME with these Exam Prep Combos:
 

>> Master Electrician Exam Prep     >> JourneyMan Electrician Exam Prep
 

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,313
Likes: 7
Member
Common install here (NJ) is 200 amp SEU cable (4/0 al-2 insulated, 1 bare) to each 200 amp MCB panel. Provided that panels are within acceptable distance. Option would be conduit & 4/0 al conductors.

I'm assuming that you are talking about the 'load' side of the meter, and the disconnects are in each panel?

John


John
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 745
E
Member
4/0 SEU (AL) or 2/0 SEU (CU) to each panel is the norm here in Virginia as well. We are lucky, the power company handles all final connections at the meter, so all we have to do is mount the meter socket and bring the cables into it. They do the rest.


---Ed---

"But the guy at Home Depot said it would work."
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 68
H
homer Offline OP
Member
Thanks for your input, guys. I have a single 3" conduit, so I did some research in section 230 on service ampacity. As long as the computed load is less than the service ampacity, the cable can have a smaller ampacity than the overcurrent rating of the service. I didn't want to run parallel cables from the 320-amp meter to each panel. It looks like 350-alum will be plenty big for the two panels. It will splice in the old CT cabinet. (The CT's are going away). Thanks again for your replies!


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Grover
Grover
Sebago, ME, USA
Posts: 109
Joined: January 2005
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
297,630 Are you busy
228,437 Re: Forum
213,291 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5