ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
110.26
by gfretwell. 02/18/18 12:14 AM
2018 Code Explained
by Potseal. 02/14/18 03:16 PM
Air Compressor feeder conductor sizing
by Potseal. 02/14/18 03:11 PM
New in the Gallery:
Housebilding DIY wiring
SE cable question
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (electure), 21 guests, and 9 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Sizing of service lateral from 320 Amp meter base? #164980
06/15/07 07:08 PM
06/15/07 07:08 PM
H
homer  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 68
Vancouver, WA, USA
Can anybody tell me how to size the service cable from the feed through meter to two 200-amp panels at a residence. I am removing the existing CT's and meter because an addition will put the meter inside of the house. They are also going to a heat pump and removing the circuits for the electric ceiling heat for a house that is about 3000 square feet. So the load will be reduced at least 50%. The service calculates at about 140 amps max. I am planning on leaving both of the existing 200-amp panels which will be fed from this service lateral. Thanks for your help guys!

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: Sizing of service lateral from 320 Amp meter base? [Re: homer] #165137
06/19/07 05:16 PM
06/19/07 05:16 PM
HotLine1  Offline

Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,926
Brick, NJ USA
Common install here (NJ) is 200 amp SEU cable (4/0 al-2 insulated, 1 bare) to each 200 amp MCB panel. Provided that panels are within acceptable distance. Option would be conduit & 4/0 al conductors.

I'm assuming that you are talking about the 'load' side of the meter, and the disconnects are in each panel?

John


John
Re: Sizing of service lateral from 320 Amp meter b [Re: HotLine1] #165150
06/20/07 03:28 PM
06/20/07 03:28 PM
E
EV607797  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 745
Fredericksburg, VA, USA
4/0 SEU (AL) or 2/0 SEU (CU) to each panel is the norm here in Virginia as well. We are lucky, the power company handles all final connections at the meter, so all we have to do is mount the meter socket and bring the cables into it. They do the rest.


---Ed---

"But the guy at Home Depot said it would work."
Re: Sizing of service lateral from 320 Amp meter b [Re: EV607797] #165187
06/22/07 01:30 AM
06/22/07 01:30 AM
H
homer  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 68
Vancouver, WA, USA
Thanks for your input, guys. I have a single 3" conduit, so I did some research in section 230 on service ampacity. As long as the computed load is less than the service ampacity, the cable can have a smaller ampacity than the overcurrent rating of the service. I didn't want to run parallel cables from the 320-amp meter to each panel. It looks like 350-alum will be plenty big for the two panels. It will splice in the old CT cabinet. (The CT's are going away). Thanks again for your replies!


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Tom
Tom
Shinnston, WV USA
Posts: 1,044
Joined: January 2001
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 9
Popular Topics(Views)
244,027 Are you busy
181,017 Re: Forum
171,265 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.022s Queries: 15 (0.003s) Memory: 0.9603 MB (Peak: 1.0930 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-02-20 03:31:23 UTC