ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
dsk 13
Admin 8
doc 3
Recent Posts
Bathroom electrical
by doc. 08/19/17 06:53 AM
electircal ageing test on IPC
by SIAME. 08/15/17 02:43 AM
electrical aging test on IPC
by gfretwell. 08/15/17 12:27 AM
"Line level" audio on Cat 5?
by gfretwell. 08/08/17 10:39 PM
Fire alarm phone lines and color coding
by gfretwell. 08/08/17 10:26 PM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
239,955 Are you busy
175,546 Re: Forum
167,799 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (Admin), 60 guests, and 9 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#164502 - 06/04/07 07:45 PM Electricity on San Andres  
Admin  Online Content

Administrator
Member
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,456
NY, USA
Quote
Here are two Photos, i shot on San Andres, a pretty little isla near Columbia in the caribian sea.

At first, look at the very impressive "mounting" of the Transformer It is not mounted on the Plate by any screws at all, there are only two wires, attached to the poles wich should apparently hold it in place if an earthquake or something may appear *G*

second, the outgoing 5(!) Lines seems to be remarkable. The Transformer is connected neutral on top line and the three phases on the lower three lines, so what is the 5th line good for?

Third: the use of something, what we call here in Germany "Kabelklemme"
(maybe Cable Gland in your Language) seems to be a foreign word there.

Regards
Herrmann

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]


Tools for Electricians:

#164519 - 06/05/07 05:40 AM Re: Electricity on San Andres [Re: Admin]  
techie  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 246
palo alto, ca usa
On the left side of the pole, it looks like there is a thin wire jumping between the 2nd and third wires. (unknown wire + X phase). On the right, I don't see anything connected to the 2nd wire.

Could it possibly be something as mundane as master control for street lighting?


#164523 - 06/05/07 07:59 AM Re: Electricity on San Andres [Re: techie]  
Texas_Ranger  Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,400
Vienna, Austria
Probably not even a control but simply a switched phase. I've seen that setup in several countries like Greece and the Czech Republic.

I wonder how that street light works... only one wire seems to be connected!


#164824 - 06/11/07 11:25 PM Re: Electricity on San Andres [Re: Texas_Ranger]  
yaktx  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 288
Austin, Texas, USA
Originally Posted by Texas_Ranger
I wonder how that street light works... only one wire seems to be connected!


I think I see two wires there. It is hard to see how they are connected, though.


#164833 - 06/12/07 08:01 AM Re: Electricity on San Andres [Re: yaktx]  
n1ist  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 183
Malden MA
It looks like the light has a 2-conductor cable coming from the bottom of the conduit. The two wires are separated out in line with the support bracket for the xfmr, where they appear to be connected to the lower two wires heading left. Hard to tell with that rats-nest...


#164846 - 06/12/07 02:31 PM Re: Electricity on San Andres [Re: n1ist]  
EV607797  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 745
Fredericksburg, VA, USA
Did anybody notice that the cutouts are open on the feeders going into the "conduit" (I use that term loosely)? Wonder what that's all about.

Then, we have the question of what appears to be a telephone or CATV cable actually crossing through that mess.

Their workmanship sure makes me appreciate the way we do things here for sure.

This is more like it:

[Linked Image]


Last edited by pauluk; 06/13/07 07:45 AM. Reason: Image copied to ECN server

---Ed---

"But the guy at Home Depot said it would work."

#164850 - 06/12/07 04:43 PM Re: Electricity on San Andres [Re: EV607797]  
CTwireman  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 840
Connecticut, USA
It appears they loosely follow some type of international standard. It definitely isn't the American one though.


Peter

#164852 - 06/12/07 05:44 PM Re: Electricity on San Andres [Re: CTwireman]  
Radar  Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 349
Los Angeles, CA
3 Wire Primary? I don't see many of those on single phase systems, not around here anyway.


There are 10 types of people. Those who know binary, and those who don't.

#164858 - 06/12/07 09:47 PM Re: Electricity on San Andres [Re: Radar]  
noderaser  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 404
Portland, Oregon, United State...
Originally Posted by Radar
3 Wire Primary? I don't see many of those on single phase systems, not around here anyway.


It would appear to be 3-phase service, as denoted by the "Z, Y, X" on the secondary bushings.


#164864 - 06/13/07 07:37 AM Re: Electricity on San Andres [Re: noderaser]  
pauluk  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 7,520
Norfolk, England
In a lot of countries 3-phase is used much more extensively than in the U.S. right down to local distribution.

Even here in the U.K. where we're kind of between the U.S. and Europe in this regard, single-phase HV spurs and transformers are only found feeding very small collections of houses.

As soon as you get to anywhere of any size (even a small village) you'll find xfmrs feeding a 3-ph 4-w 240/415V wye network with each house then just tapped from one phase and neutral.

You only have to hop over the Channel as far as France to see 3-phase services even in very small houses.


Page 1 of 2 1 2

Member Spotlight
mxslick
mxslick
Atomic City, ID USA
Posts: 803
Joined: October 2004
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.016s Queries: 16 (0.002s) Memory: 0.8210 MB (Peak: 1.0000 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-08-19 22:36:48 UTC