ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
MRI LED lights dimmer control replacement - wow!
by Potseal. 01/18/18 10:41 PM
Video: Inventor of the GFCI self-testing shocks
by Bill Addiss. 01/17/18 11:11 PM
FPE in Germany
by HotLine1. 01/17/18 07:07 PM
VDE 0100 to introduce AFCIs
by LongRunner. 01/17/18 10:32 AM
Fujifilm Recalls Power Adapter Wall Plugs
by Admin. 01/16/18 07:04 PM
New in the Gallery:
Housebilding DIY wiring
SE cable question
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 10 guests, and 14 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
How deep does RG6 Cable need to be buried? #163975
05/22/07 02:41 PM
05/22/07 02:41 PM
S
Squintz  Offline OP
Junior Member
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 9
Harford, Maryland
My cable company(Comcast) keeps laying their cable along the edge of my townhomes yard and I keep cutting it with my edger. I have told them many times to lay it deeper. I am wondering if there is something in the code book that says it should or must me at a certain depth. I did a quick browse through my 2005 book but nothing stands out to me.

Study Guides for VDV / Structured Cabling Installers

Voice, Data, Video, (VDV) Fiber Optics, Communications, Low Voltage,
Fire Alarm, Electronic Security Systems Installations & Related

NTC Low Voltage Training & NICET Exam Study Guides
Low Voltage Training & NICET Exam Study Guides

Re: How deep does RG6 Cable need to be buried? [Re: Squintz] #163980
05/22/07 03:47 PM
05/22/07 03:47 PM
Theelectrikid  Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 810
Levittown, PA
Even if it was code, they wouldn't care...

Especially contractors...

Ian A.


Is there anyone on board who knows how to fly a plane?
Re: How deep does RG6 Cable need to be buried? [Re: Theelectrikid] #163984
05/22/07 04:12 PM
05/22/07 04:12 PM
dougwells  Offline

Member
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 1,142
kamloops BC Canada
I have been to townhouses were the strata has said please do not bury the cable as it has been treated for termites and we are not allowed to disturb it.

Re: How deep does RG6 Cable need to be buried? [Re: dougwells] #163987
05/22/07 04:49 PM
05/22/07 04:49 PM
G
ghost307  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 926
Chicago Illinois USA
One of our infamous local 'lowball' Contractors used to run UF to the post light in the yard on top of grade...then lay sod over the wire.

I guess they didn't want to get their shovel all dirty.


Ghost307
Re: How deep does RG6 Cable need to be buried? [Re: ghost307] #163994
05/22/07 06:11 PM
05/22/07 06:11 PM
H
hbiss  Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 886
Hawthorne, NY USA
No, nothing in the Code that covers this. I also understand your situation. It's tough to get the cable below the depth of your lawn edger when that's the same tool they use to create a slit to stomp the cable into.

Only way to get this right is to do it yourself. I would suggest some 1-1/2" PVC buried 18" deep. Then have them pull a new drop through it.

-Hal

Re: How deep does RG6 Cable need to be buried? [Re: hbiss] #164010
05/23/07 12:24 AM
05/23/07 12:24 AM
noderaser  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 404
Portland, Oregon, United State...
Doesn't telephone cable have to be buried at least 18"?

Re: How deep does RG6 Cable need to be buried? [Re: noderaser] #164014
05/23/07 07:32 AM
05/23/07 07:32 AM
I
ITO  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 348
Texas
1-1/2" for (1) RG6? You must be a data contractor.

Last edited by ITO; 05/23/07 07:33 AM.

101° Rx = + /_\
Re: How deep does RG6 Cable need to be buried? [Re: noderaser] #164017
05/23/07 07:38 AM
05/23/07 07:38 AM
G
ghost307  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 926
Chicago Illinois USA
I like Hal's idea.

Install some PVC with a pull string in it. Then tell the lazy bums when they get there to just tie their cable to the string and pull on the other end.

They'll like something that reduces their work to almost nothing...and you'll get the cable where you wanted it.

BTW, when I had my satellite TV installed, I pre-wired my desired route with string. The installers wanted to take their own route and drill holes in my house, but they were DELIGHTED when they found out that their entire wiring job was reduced to tying a few knots and getting done early.


Ghost307
Re: How deep does RG6 Cable need to be buried? [Re: ghost307] #164025
05/23/07 09:54 AM
05/23/07 09:54 AM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,166
Estero,Fl,usa
When I replaced my driveway I put 6 sleeves under it (2 water, 3 line voltage and a 2" for LV, phone, cable or whatever. One thing I did to help find them in 20 years is to cut a small triangle wedge of wood that points in line with the sleeve on both ends and nailed inside the form. It took a few minutes on my table saw to get them cut right. Now I have a notch in the edge of the concrete at each entrance and exit. As long as your sleeves don't cross you just count them down from the end.


Greg Fretwell
Re: How deep does RG6 Cable need to be buried? [Re: noderaser] #164210
05/27/07 11:07 PM
05/27/07 11:07 PM
D
dereckbc  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 156
Tulsa, OK
Originally Posted by noderaser
Doesn't telephone cable have to be buried at least 18"?

Nope CATV, POCO's, and Telco's don't have to play NEC games and rules until they hit the dmarc.


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Theelectrikid
Theelectrikid
Levittown, PA
Posts: 810
Joined: April 2004
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 20
sparky 18
Potseal 14
Popular Topics(Views)
243,546 Are you busy
180,351 Re: Forum
170,832 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.025s Queries: 15 (0.005s) Memory: 1.0157 MB (Peak: 1.1963 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-01-19 09:52:43 UTC