ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Questioning the electrical norms
by HotLine1 - 03/04/21 12:35 PM
Lock-down Thread
by gfretwell - 03/03/21 12:38 PM
Northern Tool Recalls Powerhorse Generators
by Admin - 02/25/21 09:49 PM
You will never guess
by gfretwell - 02/25/21 07:48 PM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 17 guests, and 18 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Something new to me - Wireless Switch #163848 05/18/07 08:42 PM
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 9
J
jft1215 Offline OP
Junior Member
This may be a no-brainer for most but I've come across something new today. This afternoon I got a call from a landscaper in a bind and he needed some help. It looks like the electrician working on his project has hit the road and left him with a mess.

One of the things the old electrician was responsible for was to wire the pump for a four tier waterfall. The guy buried conduit from the house (under the kitchen sink, where he mounted a W/P box) and stubbed up directly in front of the waterfall. He put a W/P box and receptacle n the stub and plugged the pump in. At the house it looks like he tied into the garbage disposal for his feed. On the complete opposite side of the kitchen he tore out the old box for the patio light and cut in a new DG. He wired up some tails and told the homeowner he was going to order a wireless switch that would control the feed at the house so they could turn on the waterfall when they wanted. Since that time he's gone. They can't get a hold of him but that's another sotry.

My question (sorry for the long set-up) is, are there switches that can perform as he's saying. We haven't seen them if they do.

I appreciate any feedback!

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Something new to me - Wireless Switch [Re: jft1215] #163849 05/18/07 08:49 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,571
G
gfretwell Offline
Member
It sounds like he wants an X10 deal. As long as you are on the same phase, all you need is the appropriatly sized "appliance" module on the far end and a switch/transmitter on the near end. They also sell a coupler that connects the PLC signal across the two phases.


Greg Fretwell
Re: Something new to me - Wireless Switch [Re: gfretwell] #163850 05/18/07 09:46 PM
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 9
J
jft1215 Offline OP
Junior Member
Thanks for the help Greg! I'm looking on x10 now. Are the switches/transmitters battery operated or wired to an existing circuit?

Re: Something new to me - Wireless Switch [Re: jft1215] #163857 05/19/07 05:42 AM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 74
T
Tom H Offline
Member
Also look into the following;

1. Lutron RadioRa www.lutron.com/radiora [expensive but reliable]
2. Miro Controls http://www.wattstopper.com/products/details.html?id=117

IMO better than x-10

Re: Something new to me - Wireless Switch [Re: Tom H] #163883 05/20/07 10:31 AM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 75
S
scameron81 Offline
Member
You might also want to look into this :
AdHoc wireless switches

The switch doesn't require any power it uses energy harvesting technology. I haven't tried it for myself yet but it seems pretty promising. IMO I would stay away from the RadioRa for only one switch. It will be very expensive and you have to buy the repeater in order to set it up.

Re: Something new to me - Wireless Switch [Re: scameron81] #163884 05/20/07 10:57 AM
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 58
Y
yanici Offline
Member
Originally Posted by scameron81
You might also want to look into this :
AdHoc wireless switches

The switch doesn't require any power it uses energy harvesting technology. I haven't tried it for myself yet but it seems pretty promising. IMO I would stay away from the RadioRa for only one switch. It will be very expensive and you have to buy the repeater in order to set it up.


I skimmed through some of the material printed about these devices. Pretty interesting. One problem might be that the receiver(relay) can't be installed in a closed metal box. I guess they'll work in plasic boxes thogh.


Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
JoeKP
JoeKP
Berkley, MA
Posts: 144
Joined: March 2008
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
275,680 Are you busy
209,602 Re: Forum
196,952 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3