ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Grounding electrodes
by gfretwell - 09/07/21 03:41 PM
Looking For Electricians in the Midlands
by Alex247 - 09/06/21 05:26 AM
Backup Generator Done Right
by timmp - 08/31/21 04:44 PM
New in the Gallery:
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
February, North East Indiana
February, North East Indiana
by timmp, July 25
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 39 guests, and 19 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#163135 05/01/07 09:19 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 156
K
kinetic Offline OP
Member
For one reason or another Section 230 has always given me trouble. I have never fully understood it and am looking for some clarification. I am wiring a detached garage and upgrading an existing 200A service to a 400A all-in-one. One main 200A breaker will supply the main house with the other 200A main supplying a 200A 40/42 space 3R subpanel at the detached garage. The problem I am having is that 42 spaces is not enough. With all the circuits in the garage I am still under on the load calcs but over on the breaker spaces. Can I feed an additional subpanel from my 200A subpanel?

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
kinetic #163140 05/01/07 11:15 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,662
Likes: 4
G
Member
Sure


Greg Fretwell
kinetic #163154 05/02/07 06:33 PM
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 165
Member
shocked That sounds like one busy garage! Is there going to be a workshop in there?

I speak, of course, from Maine, where many folks live in trailers, situated next to palatial garages. grin

Retired_Helper #163158 05/02/07 08:44 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,279
Likes: 3
Member
Must be one really nice garage!!
Yes, you can add a sub-panel....or two if needed.

John


John
kinetic #163238 05/04/07 05:37 PM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 356
Member
as others have said, yes you can.
can you tell use why or how a garage is using all 42 breakers spaces?
?? confusedJust curious??


Be kind to your neighbor, he knows where you live

Niko #163243 05/04/07 06:54 PM
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 811
Member
I want that garage...

...Might have to implode half the section for it though.

Ian A.


Is there anyone on board who knows how to fly a plane?
Theelectrikid #163250 05/04/07 07:55 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,662
Likes: 4
G
Member
I am using a pretty big panel in my garage (SqD 20/40) and it is full with a couple tandems and a sub on for the spa.
If you start out with one of those 4 high/2 wide breakers to feed the house the slots start going away fast. I still agree 42 is a lot.


Greg Fretwell
kinetic #163297 05/05/07 08:09 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 821
S
Member
Can he use 310.15 (B)(6) for his garage feeder ampacity? grin

ShockMe77 #163305 05/05/07 10:48 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,662
Likes: 4
G
Member
310.15 (B)(6) can be used if you are going from the garage to the house but not the other way.


Greg Fretwell
gfretwell #163741 05/16/07 12:21 AM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 156
K
kinetic Offline OP
Member
It is one killer garage. He is a "Need for Speed" guy and moving part of his shop to his house. Everything seems to be small 220V and it really ate up my panel spaces. We put anything and everything you could think of this place. I am envious to say the least.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
electure
electure
Fullerton, CA USA
Posts: 4,287
Joined: December 2000
Top Posters(30 Days)
timmp 3
Popular Topics(Views)
282,928 Are you busy
216,696 Re: Forum
203,120 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5