ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
dsk 13
Admin 4
Recent Posts
electircal ageing test on IPC
by SIAME. 08/15/17 02:43 AM
electrical aging test on IPC
by gfretwell. 08/15/17 12:27 AM
Bathroom electrical
by gfretwell. 08/14/17 02:05 AM
"Line level" audio on Cat 5?
by gfretwell. 08/08/17 10:39 PM
Fire alarm phone lines and color coding
by gfretwell. 08/08/17 10:26 PM
New in the Gallery:
Housebilding DIY wiring
Popular Topics(Views)
239,868 Are you busy
175,422 Re: Forum
167,716 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 32 guests, and 9 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#162497 - 04/20/07 10:35 AM 4 sq. box  
badgers  Offline
Junior Member
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 8
madison
in a 2&1/8" steel box can I get an 1&1/4" conduit KO?
is there any code section dealing with this.

I see that a 4&11/16 box that is 2&1/8" deep can do it but that is a bigger hole in the wall then I want.
thanks


2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides

#162498 - 04/20/07 10:40 AM Re: 4 sq. box [Re: badgers]  
badgers  Offline
Junior Member
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 8
madison
This is a request from the IT data specialist.
because I know someone will ask why.
I did..


#162501 - 04/20/07 11:31 AM Re: 4 sq. box [Re: badgers]  
ghost307  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 907
Chicago Illinois USA
No. But it may not be because of a Code issue. If there's no market for a product, nobody will make it. If it's impractical or physically impossible to make, nobody will make it either.

But then IT folks regularly ask for things that don't exist.
I think it comes from spending more time in cyberspace than in the real world.
Send them a copy of the Appleton catalog and tell them to pick out what they want.
If it's not there, 2 possible courses of action remain:

have it made (with enough money you can get just about anything fabricated and UL Listed)

Change the laws of Physics to allow a hole that's larger than the metal that it's drilled in...like a 1.5" hole in the side of a 1.25" deep box. (The Star Trek fans will remember that even Scotty "cannot change the laws of Physics".)


Ghost307

#162508 - 04/20/07 11:59 AM Re: 4 sq. box [Re: ghost307]  
gfretwell  Offline


Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,103
Estero,Fl,usa
There is nothing to keep you from punching a bigger hole. I assume this is so they can pull a DB9 through it with the shroud in place. We used to take the shrouds off but you need a cable that doesn't have the molded connector for that.
Plastic boxes make this operation easier since you can use a $3 hole saw instead of a much more expensive KO punch. I have seen IT managers, with too much time on their hands, cutting holes in boxes with a Dremel tool. I figure those holes cost the company about $50 each.


Greg Fretwell

#162527 - 04/20/07 06:08 PM Re: 4 sq. box [Re: badgers]  
George  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 375
You can make up a custom box. No UL listing is required.


#162529 - 04/20/07 06:22 PM Re: 4 sq. box [Re: George]  
iwire  Offline
Moderator
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
North Attleboro, MA USA
In the past I have had prints that called for a 2" EMT run to a 2 gang box so the IT folks could bring their cables out to office cubes.

As that is all but imposable all I did was provide a 2 gang extension ring and run the 2" EMT down to it with a bushing.

The IT folks found this more than adequate.



Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts

#162624 - 04/22/07 03:56 PM Re: 4 sq. box [Re: iwire]  
Tesla  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,273
Sacramento, CA
I've installed cases of this mythical product.

It is made in the 4-11 trade size box... side bracketed or without.

You'll get one or two KO's on each box side.

We use it exclusively for data cable chases into furniture feeds.


Tesla

#162627 - 04/22/07 05:30 PM Re: 4 sq. box [Re: Tesla]  
hbiss  Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 886
Hawthorne, NY USA
I see that a 4&11/16 box that is 2&1/8" deep can do it but that is a bigger hole in the wall then I want.

Both the 1900 and the 4-11/16 require a plaster ring. Last I looked the wall opening is going to be the same.

Come clean. YOU are the IT guy aren't you.

-Hal


#163002 - 04/28/07 10:18 PM Re: 4 sq. box [Re: gfretwell]  
techie  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 246
palo alto, ca usa
Originally Posted by gfretwell
I assume this is so they can pull a DB9 through it with the shroud in place.


There is no such thing as a DB9..

The correct designation for the 9 pin D-subminiature connector is DE-9. The second letter designates the connector shell size.
Using the standard #22 contacts, the sizes are DA-15, DB-25, DC-37, DD-50, and DE-9.

Other inserts are available, such as DB-13W3 (3 coax or high-voltage contacts + 13 #22 pins, used for older Sun monitors.)

source: ITT/Cannon D-subminiature connector catalogs, 1947-present. (my copy is a 1971 printing of a 1969 edition, which agrees with the current pdf version.)

Other common errors are RJ-45, which actually designates a specific connector, wired in a specific wiring pattern, for a specific telephone application having nothing in common with Ethernet. (if you use the specified connector, it not only won't fit into an Ethernet jack, but the wiring will have no wires in common with Ethernet.)

source: 47 CFR 68.502


#163027 - 04/29/07 12:20 PM Re: 4 sq. box [Re: techie]  
gfretwell  Offline


Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,103
Estero,Fl,usa
Quote
Other common errors are RJ-45, which actually designates a specific connector, wired in a specific wiring pattern, for a specific telephone application having nothing in common with Ethernet. (if you use the specified connector, it not only won't fit into an Ethernet jack, but the wiring will have no wires in common with Ethernet.)


I agree you can't plug an ethernet cable into a telephone jack and expect it to work but the wiring of the cables are the same. Aren't T568A/B AT&T specs? When I look in my Western Electric Registration Service Manual I see the RJ 45s defined as
1 n/c
2 n/c
3 MI
4 ring
5 tip
6 MIC
7 PR
8 PC

4&5 is a pair
3&6 is a pair
1&2 is a pair
7&8 is a pair
What wire would be different for ethernet?

I agree the term "RJ45" refers to a particular connection setup in the jack with a programming resistor on the 7/8 pair (RJ41S adds a pad on pair 1/2)
but the wiring itself is the same. At a certain point, if we all know what we are talking about who cares? That is like getting pedantic about the use of the term "Romex" or "Bell Box".


Greg Fretwell

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Member Spotlight
sparky66wv
sparky66wv
West Virginia
Posts: 2,236
Joined: November 2000
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.017s Queries: 16 (0.003s) Memory: 0.8209 MB (Peak: 1.0008 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-08-17 06:07:45 UTC