ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
How's Florida doing with Hurricane Ian?
by Bill Addiss - 09/28/22 12:41 PM
Tough being a lineman's kid
by Bill Addiss - 09/28/22 12:39 PM
GFCI's pops in large numbers
by dsk - 09/26/22 04:35 AM
AFCI’s Revisited
by sparky - 09/24/22 09:58 AM
NFPA Price Increase Coming
by Bill Addiss - 09/23/22 02:22 PM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 16 guests, and 8 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
#161980 04/11/07 08:53 AM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,507
G
Member
Since most manufacturers of single station smoke alarms are limiting you to between 10 and 12 units on a circuit, what does one do when you need more than 12 units for a home?


George Little
Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:


2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
Pass Your Exam the FIRST TIME with these Exam Prep Combos:
 

>> Master Electrician Exam Prep     >> JourneyMan Electrician Exam Prep
 

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,745
Likes: 13
G
Member
I suppose you will need to find a manufacturer that doesn't have the restriction or find one with a "repeater" type adapter to link 2 loops.
In real life I would expect a home that big to have a real alarm system. Even my wife's micro mansions (2000-4000 sq/ft) had a system that picked up the smokes, CO, pool alarm and intrusion alarm.


Greg Fretwell
gfretwell #162026 04/12/07 04:54 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
I
Moderator
Greg some areas will not allow a fire alarm system to take the place of the required smoke alarms.

I don't know the solution to the question.


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts
iwire #162046 04/12/07 12:53 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,745
Likes: 13
G
Member
Bob that seems strange to me but I never underestimate the absurdity of government.


Greg Fretwell
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,349
Likes: 1
Cat Servant
Member
Off the cuff, I don't see a problem.

The limit seems to be based upon the current they need when in alarm. This has nothing to do with interconnection.

I would think that you could continue to link them all together with that third wire, even if the detectors are powered by different circuits.

Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,507
G
Member
I just inspected a home that had a need for 31 yes THIRTY ONE, smoke alarms and while it appears that it would be possible to interlock them electrically with some sort of relay system- the manufacturers tell me that that's not allowed due to the listing. As for a Fire alarm system- The State of Michigan will recognize it as satifying the requirements as called out in the Michigan Residential Code (same as the IRC only with the Michigan spin).


George Little
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,745
Likes: 13
G
Member
I am wrong about the alarm system. My wife says no, they use stand alone smokes.
Everything else is on the central system.

Give me a break, I have already been punished wink


Greg Fretwell
gfretwell #162079 04/12/07 08:51 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,745
Likes: 13
G
Member
Reno, what exactly does go down that 3d wire and would the smokes being on opposite phases change anything?
Do all brands work the same way?
I have never really looked into this.


Greg Fretwell
gfretwell #162086 04/12/07 10:09 PM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,349
Likes: 1
Cat Servant
Member
As I understand it, that third wire only links some contacts together ... it there's continuity in one detector, they all sound off.

Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 939
F
Member
Originally Posted by renosteinke
As I understand it, that third wire only links some contacts together ... it there's continuity in one detector, they all sound off.


Yes that true John but if you have third wire interconneted and also the netural line as well as common return [ i have little trouble to grasp this idea how it work ]

but for hot's line it can be on common or diffrent phase or leg but i am sure but not excat answer for this one but i am thinking out loud that both red [ interconnection ] and white wires to actavie it

Merci , Marc


Pas de problme,il marche n'est-ce pas?"(No problem, it works doesn't it?)

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Grover
Grover
Sebago, ME, USA
Posts: 109
Joined: January 2005
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
297,630 Are you busy
228,437 Re: Forum
213,291 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5