ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Single phase and what you call it.
by dsk. 11/12/18 11:10 AM
220/230/240V 60Hz Systems
by Albert. 11/07/18 12:48 AM
Black & Decker Recalls Hammer Drills
by Admin. 11/01/18 07:22 PM
Having around 30 projectors to dump
by gfretwell. 10/31/18 10:54 PM
Installing a small swimming pool
by TimothyHallam. 10/30/18 10:42 PM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 6 guests, and 18 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
RG59 vs RG6 vs CAT 5 #160496
07/25/06 07:12 PM
07/25/06 07:12 PM
S
Sandro  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 444
Stoney Creek, ON, Canada
We are currently pricing a 12-14 camera installation with standalone DVR for a small/medium factory.

I've recently used baluns/cat 5 in the last 2 small installs with good success.

Just wondering which methods other installers use and why they prefer it.

I have used RG6 because we have tonnes of it, but haven't noticed any huge difference from the times I've run 59.

Thanks for any thoughts.

Study Guides for VDV / Structured Cabling Installers

Voice, Data, Video, (VDV) Fiber Optics, Communications, Low Voltage,
Fire Alarm, Electronic Security Systems Installations & Related

NTC Low Voltage Training & NICET Exam Study Guides
Low Voltage Training & NICET Exam Study Guides

Re: RG59 vs RG6 vs CAT 5 #160497
07/25/06 07:42 PM
07/25/06 07:42 PM
Trumpy  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,250
SI,New Zealand
I can't see any problems with RG-59, if the runs are not too long.
It is also easier to terminate in a BNC connector.

{Message edited to change a typo, how can you spell BNC wrong??} [Linked Image]



[This message has been edited by Trumpy (edited 07-25-2006).]

Re: RG59 vs RG6 vs CAT 5 #160498
07/25/06 09:24 PM
07/25/06 09:24 PM
L
LarryC  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 783
Winchester, NH, US
I assume you are running composite video with no Pan, Tilt, or Zoom functions? If the customer wants to upgrade to a multifunction camera housing that moves and does other tricks, using a coax works well. Otherwise you will have to pull another cable to run the control signals. I do not believe that the over the coax control systems work well with baluns.

One other thing to look out for when using coax, when grounding the shield at the camera, if the local ground is at a slightly different voltage than the ground at the monitor / DVR, hum bars may show up.

LarryC

Re: RG59 vs RG6 vs CAT 5 #160499
07/26/06 07:58 AM
07/26/06 07:58 AM
J
JCooper  Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 228
Kendall Park, NJ USA
Actually if you are using passive baluns up the coax PTZ controls work great. I would run the CAT5 because you then have three extra pairs at the camera. Which works out great if you add another camera near by at a later date, just have to run back to the existing camera and jump on another pair. It also gives you the extra pair if you decide to add a camera that does not have up the coax control but a hardwired 422 or 485 data line. There may also be a cost savings with the CAT5 too, I have seen some good prices from suppliers trying to unload it to make room for CAT6 and CAT6a.


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
sbi
sbi
indiana
Posts: 47
Joined: March 2008
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 8
dsk 3
Popular Topics(Views)
251,413 Are you busy
188,637 Re: Forum
178,341 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.020s Queries: 14 (0.004s) Memory: 0.9641 MB (Peak: 1.0963 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-11-13 20:17:24 UTC