ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Changing a Bulb
by gfretwell. 07/14/18 03:12 PM
Tray cable?
by gfretwell. 07/11/18 10:18 PM
Eaton Heavy Duty 30A and 60A Safety Switches
by Admin. 07/11/18 09:49 PM
ORTOVOX Recalls Avalanche Transceivers
by Admin. 07/11/18 09:44 PM
Tingle off the water spigot
by gfretwell. 07/08/18 12:58 PM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 30 guests, and 11 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
DSL went down #160422
02/26/06 08:03 PM
02/26/06 08:03 PM
L
leespark  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 54
Massachusetts
I'm finishing up a pretty large addition to a residence. The other day I connected the phone lines I had run to the existing phone service. We have abou 14 new cat 5 home runs for the phone. When I made the connections everything seemed fine, dial tone on the new and exisitng phone lines.

The next day the general contractor called me to tell me the DSL line was not working since I made the connections even though the phones were working fine. I had the general contractor disconnect the new cat 5 wires and the DSL came back to life.

What would cause this. Could there be too many linear feet of phone lines in the house causing the signal to drop? We added approx. 1500' of phone line.

Any help would be appreciated.

Study Guides for VDV / Structured Cabling Installers

Voice, Data, Video, (VDV) Fiber Optics, Communications, Low Voltage,
Fire Alarm, Electronic Security Systems Installations & Related

NTC Low Voltage Training & NICET Exam Study Guides
Low Voltage Training & NICET Exam Study Guides

Re: DSL went down #160423
02/27/06 12:39 AM
02/27/06 12:39 AM
J
JoeTestingEngr  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 794
Chicago, Il.
Was he able to disconnect the 1500' at one point? Is telephone all that has to be connected to the added cable? If so, try putting one of the DSL filters there, hooking the telephone split to the 1500'. That might buffer the DSL from all the capacitance that you're loading the lines with.
Joe

[This message has been edited by JoeTestingEngr (edited 02-26-2006).]

Re: DSL went down #160424
02/28/06 07:06 AM
02/28/06 07:06 AM
P
pauluk  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 7,520
Norfolk, England
Is it likely that DSL was already borderline? How far is the place from the central office?

Re: DSL went down #160425
02/28/06 01:55 PM
02/28/06 01:55 PM
H
hbiss  Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 886
Hawthorne, NY USA
Those would be called bridged taps and are the worst thing for DSL. Basically, they cause reflections that interfere with the transmission. The higher capacitance of CAT5 doesn't help either, should have used CAT3.

Yes, by all means put a single DSL filter at the entrance or demarc. The DSL moden should have a home run back to this location and should be connected directly, everything else gets connected after the filter.

-Hal

Re: DSL went down #160426
03/01/06 07:42 AM
03/01/06 07:42 AM
P
pauluk  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 7,520
Norfolk, England
Quote
Those would be called bridged taps and are the worst thing for DSL.


I gather that has been quite a problem in some of the larger cities as DSL has been added to lines.

In times past, it wasn't at all unusual for a phone line to be multipled to several places. Your line might come from the C.O. to a neighborhood distribution point, then it might be paralleled onto a cable which runs to the pole outside your house and also to other poles around the neighborhood.

There are stories in some of the telecom groups about people in apartment blocks in places like Chicago finding spare pairs (disocnnected from the C.O. but still multipled all around the neighborhood) and using them as private intercom circuits.

Re: DSL went down #160427
03/02/06 04:18 AM
03/02/06 04:18 AM
E
e57  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,876
S.F.,CA USA
"everything else gets connected after the filter."

[Linked Image] Sounds like the problem right there... Filtered and un-filtered connected somewhere. Good sign of that would be the DSL working OK, then if someone picks up a phone it drops out. They may even have called tech support on that same line.... [Linked Image]

Anyway, Hal is right, a single DSL filter and to the modem, network from there if need be. And the filtered voice also distributed from there.

And some may disagree about the need of additional cabling. But my prefered method (except for people who can handle having a remote modem) is 2-cat5 and 4-pair phone (One of which would be unfiltered DSL) to most locations. This way you can still have the modem next to a computer anywhere, and LAN back to a hub in a remote location, then back to the computer it may be next to.


Mark Heller
"Well - I oughta....." -Jackie Gleason

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
sbi
sbi
indiana
Posts: 47
Joined: March 2008
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 5
Popular Topics(Views)
248,134 Are you busy
185,588 Re: Forum
174,923 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.033s Queries: 14 (0.006s) Memory: 0.9813 MB (Peak: 1.1254 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-07-19 21:19:10 UTC