ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Calling all Non-US members!! (Non-US only)
by HotLine1. 06/13/18 01:50 PM
GE Lighting Recalls LED Tube Lamps
by Admin. 06/12/18 09:32 PM
Ketra Recalls Recessed Downlights
by Admin. 06/12/18 09:17 PM
diazed fuses
by Texas_Ranger. 06/11/18 07:31 AM
soda can fuse from UK, facebook
by wa2ise. 06/06/18 11:02 PM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 8 guests, and 8 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Do Alarm Wires Need Connectors? #160272
09/13/05 11:15 PM
09/13/05 11:15 PM
Admin  Offline
OP
Administrator
Member
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,498
NY, USA
Quote
Do alarm wires need connectors, or bushings, where thy enter boxes?

This box, btw, is exactly as I found it; I was on-site to move a light, and had nothing to do with the alarm service. The cover was just as you see it.

- renosteinke
[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

Study Guides for VDV / Structured Cabling Installers

Voice, Data, Video, (VDV) Fiber Optics, Communications, Low Voltage,
Fire Alarm, Electronic Security Systems Installations & Related

NTC Low Voltage Training & NICET Exam Study Guides
Low Voltage Training & NICET Exam Study Guides

Re: Do Alarm Wires Need Connectors? #160273
09/14/05 06:34 PM
09/14/05 06:34 PM
J
JCooper  Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 228
Kendall Park, NJ USA
Are you sure that is alarm wiring? I don't think I have ever seen thhn used for alarm systems, normally some multi conductor cable. I am pretty sure you need to have mechanical protection whenever any cable enters a splice box, at a minimum it is good workmanship.

Re: Do Alarm Wires Need Connectors? #160274
09/14/05 08:55 PM
09/14/05 08:55 PM
renosteinke  Offline
Cat Servant
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,316
Blue Collar Country
On the strut to the side, you can see the box cover, which is labled "fire alarm."

While you can't see it in the pic, every panel for this building is less than eight feet away- and this mess doesn't go there.

Re: Do Alarm Wires Need Connectors? #160275
09/17/05 11:43 AM
09/17/05 11:43 AM
P
pauluk  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 7,520
Norfolk, England
The way that's wired certainly doesn't look like "good practice" to me.

Re: Do Alarm Wires Need Connectors? #160276
02/05/06 04:12 PM
02/05/06 04:12 PM
R
Rewired  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 558
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Makes you wonder sometimes IF a fire has ever started, or could start from a malfunction in a fire alarm..
A.D

Re: Do Alarm Wires Need Connectors? #160277
03/09/06 12:10 PM
03/09/06 12:10 PM
Trumpy  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,236
SI,New Zealand
Nope, not enough energy.
And one way or the otherv it would end up in an Alarm condition.

Re: Do Alarm Wires Need Connectors? #160278
07/18/06 07:31 PM
07/18/06 07:31 PM
F
FrankC  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 16
San Luis Obispo,CA
I'd put a bushing on just to keep the wires from getting too close to a grounded metal box. THHN wire is often used in FA applications in the Golden state,CA, and sometimes a a nick in the jacket will lead to ground faults,very frustrating to chase down.
preevnt the problem before it becomes one.


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
electure
electure
Fullerton, CA USA
Posts: 4,268
Joined: December 2000
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
twh 5
Popular Topics(Views)
247,625 Are you busy
184,968 Re: Forum
174,205 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.030s Queries: 14 (0.005s) Memory: 0.9896 MB (Peak: 1.1427 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-06-21 06:05:08 UTC