ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by tortuga - 03/28/24 05:57 PM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 260 guests, and 19 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#15395 10/16/02 11:34 PM
A
ant540 Offline OP
I am a non-union third year apprentice who will be applying at the JATC tomorrow(Local 150 Lake County,IL)and I will be going before the board in March. I heard that it is very hard to get acepted into their trainning progaram. Any ideas or help to better my chances would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

#15396 10/17/02 02:16 PM
P
Being a Chicago Sparky, I only have one question.

How's your connections?

#15397 10/17/02 05:01 PM
Tom Offline
I don't know what the requirements are for someone who has already had some training. I know that those applying as first year have to have passed an Algebra class.

Since there is a projected shortage of about 50,000 electricians nationwide, I know of several locals that are really expanding their apprenticeship programs.

When you go for your interview first impressions count, so wear clean clothes, wear a real shirt (no T-shirts). If you're a guy, get a haircut. Look people in the eyes when talking to them. I realize this is basic stuff, but you'd be amazed at what many job applicants look like.

Be prepared to pass a drug test. The apprenticeship committee won't ask you to take one, but you can almost bet that your first employer will.