ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Do we need grounding?
by CoolWill - 03/29/24 09:18 PM
UL 508A SPACING
by ale348 - 03/29/24 01:09 AM
Increasing demand factors in residential
by tortuga - 03/28/24 05:57 PM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 45 guests, and 16 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
R
RETJW Offline OP
I am an Electrical Inspector at Los National Laboratory. I have copied below a posting that I have on Mike Holt's forum page for your consideration. I think we have a very serious oversight and problem with 70E LOTO procedure. I am trying to get as many folks as possible involved that I think may send in proposals before the closing date. There is no way that we should have let this go through without comment and objection. The sad part is it was in the 2000 edition also. I think if we get enough people on board they will have to accept someone's proposal. Take care, and thanks for any help.

Here is my opinion and concern:
I have very serious concerns related to the present language in the NFPA 2004 70E Complex LOTO Procedure. I intend to address my concern with a proposal prior to the closing date of 11/25/05.

1. NFPA 70E 2004 Article 120.3(D)(3)(c) which states in part; ..."the person in charge shall be permitted to install locks/tags, or direct their installation, on behalf of other employees," is in direct and irreconcilable conflict with 1910.147(f)(3)(ii)(D) which states,