ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
220/230/240V 60Hz Systems
by gfretwell. 09/23/18 02:50 PM
Inspection camera help
by petey_c. 09/22/18 07:52 AM
Motion detectors and dimmers
by gfretwell. 09/20/18 04:02 PM
Extension cords
by annemarie1. 09/20/18 08:54 AM
Acronis Backup 2017
by gfretwell. 09/16/18 12:46 AM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 24 guests, and 23 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Cord-line GFCI(RCD) #149809
04/25/04 08:21 AM
04/25/04 08:21 AM
Trumpy  Offline
OP
Member
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,247
SI,New Zealand
Do you guys use this sort of thing in the US on your Power-tools when working outside?.
Does OSHA require this?, regardless of Double Insulation?.

Arc Flash PPE Clothing, LOTO & Insulated Tools
Re: Cord-line GFCI(RCD) #149810
04/26/04 10:48 PM
04/26/04 10:48 PM
Lostazhell  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,431
Bakersfield, CA (Originally Or...
Mike...
I had a wet/dry shop-vac that had one of those on it, double insulated & all.. But thats the only piece of equiptment I've owned that had a GFCI cord cap on it.... beauty products (hair dryers, curling irons, etc..) seem to be the only thing I've come across that use those consistently..

-Randy

Re: Cord-line GFCI(RCD) #149811
04/27/04 10:43 AM
04/27/04 10:43 AM
D
DougW  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,143
North Chicago, IL
I've seen them advertised, and I've heard OSHA requires it, but I've never seen them widely used, except by carpenters and such who are working outside in the weather - and the temp services we install have them as a requirement. Usually once we're in a house, we're working off of the house panel, with a few 20A temp circuits run to the 1st & 2nd floors.

Re: Cord-line GFCI(RCD) #149812
04/30/04 04:10 AM
04/30/04 04:10 AM
Trumpy  Offline
OP
Member
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,247
SI,New Zealand
Randy, Doug,
Over here, where our OSH regulations are pretty similar to yours, require that all portable tools be fed from an RCD (GFCI) supply, on a Construction Site or a place where building work is "happening".
(Yeah Brother!. [Linked Image])
We even have plugs that have an integral RCD in them.

Re: Cord-line GFCI(RCD) #149813
04/30/04 01:43 PM
04/30/04 01:43 PM
Lostazhell  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,431
Bakersfield, CA (Originally Or...
Mike...
On construction sites, typically RCD/GFI protection is via GFI Circuit breakers either at the temp power poles on the site, or in the "spider boxes".. This is common [Linked Image]

I thought you were referring to the cord cap designed GFI devices like this..
[Linked Image]


(from http://www/levitonhelpdesk.com)

-Randy

Re: Cord-line GFCI(RCD) #149814
05/08/04 07:18 AM
05/08/04 07:18 AM
Trumpy  Offline
OP
Member
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,247
SI,New Zealand
Yeah Randy,
That's the one!. [Linked Image]

Re: Cord-line GFCI(RCD) #149815
05/09/04 08:25 PM
05/09/04 08:25 PM
D
DougW  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,143
North Chicago, IL
If there were carpenters using Skil saws and such in areas where you could "expect moisture to be present" (vague recall of OSHA language), i.e. framing up a house - no sheathing, no roof, inclement weather / puddles, etc., I could understand personal tools having GFCI, especially when working off a generator or non-protected power source.

But shouldn't the GFCI @ the temp service satisfy the requirement for protection? [Linked Image]

Once the house is roofed / sheathed (unless you're a plumber cutting charged water/drainage lines w/power tools, or outside with no GFCI protection at the receptacle), doesn't it constitute a dry space?

Re: Cord-line GFCI(RCD) #149816
10/13/04 07:38 AM
10/13/04 07:38 AM
W
winnie  Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 649
boston, ma
Does anyone know of a device like the Leviton 6894 pictured above, specifically designed to be added as a cord cap 'in the field', but with a 2 wire (NEMA 1-15) plug?

Thanks

-Jon

Re: Cord-line GFCI(RCD) #149817
10/13/04 09:08 AM
10/13/04 09:08 AM
R
resqcapt19  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,148
IL
Note that when using portable GFCI devices they must be plugged directly into the power supply as the OSHA rules require that extension cords as well as power tools used in construction work must be GFCI protected.
Don


Don(resqcapt19)
Re: Cord-line GFCI(RCD) #149818
10/13/04 02:14 PM
10/13/04 02:14 PM
Trumpy  Offline
OP
Member
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,247
SI,New Zealand
Don,
Now don't get me wrong, I'm not trying to be smart here.
But I thought that it would be common-sense to plug it directly into the power supply, after all a GFCI can't protect upstream of itself.
Besides, if you are going to have a fault on a construction site, chances are it will be an extension cord that caused it.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
MarkC10
MarkC10
CA, Inland Empire
Posts: 43
Joined: September 2013
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 13
Trumpy 4
Popular Topics(Views)
249,447 Are you busy
187,362 Re: Forum
176,700 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.024s Queries: 15 (0.004s) Memory: 1.0257 MB (Peak: 1.2032 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-09-25 03:31:58 UTC