ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Changing a Bulb
by gfretwell. 07/14/18 03:12 PM
Tray cable?
by gfretwell. 07/11/18 10:18 PM
Eaton Heavy Duty 30A and 60A Safety Switches
by Admin. 07/11/18 09:49 PM
ORTOVOX Recalls Avalanche Transceivers
by Admin. 07/11/18 09:44 PM
Tingle off the water spigot
by gfretwell. 07/08/18 12:58 PM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 13 guests, and 13 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
DC overhead transmission #144717
01/08/06 02:19 PM
01/08/06 02:19 PM
L
lukemcuk  Offline OP
Junior Member
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 6
UK
Hello
Question. Are there and overhead sections of DC transmission line in the UK? which would of course only have two conductors instead of the usual 3 phases? I know that there are DC interconnectors between UK-France and Scotland-N Ireland but do these have any overhead sections but are they completly underground? If there are overhead sections it would be intresting to see a pic.
Luke

Test Equipment:
Large Selection of Test Equipment For Electrical, HVAC, Test & Measurement
Large Selection of Test Equipment For Electrical, HVAC, Test & Measurement
Re: DC overhead transmission #144718
01/08/06 02:24 PM
01/08/06 02:24 PM
R
RODALCO  Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 856
Titirangi, Akld, New Zealand
We have a OH UG DC link between the north and south island of New Zealand which has 2 wires.


The product of rotation, excitation and flux produces electricty.
Re: DC overhead transmission #144719
01/10/06 11:14 AM
01/10/06 11:14 AM
P
pauluk  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 7,520
Norfolk, England
The Scotland-N.I. link is the quite recent Moyle Interconnector.

I seem to recall us having a discussion about it a while ago, although I don't recall whether any of it runs overhead (excepting transitions, as you would expect).

Re: DC overhead transmission #144720
01/23/06 07:13 PM
01/23/06 07:13 PM
R
RODALCO  Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 856
Titirangi, Akld, New Zealand
Hello.

If you use this link it will get you to the Transpower site in New Zealand.

Scroll over the little pictures below and a photo of a DC pylon with 2 wires is visible.
http://www.transpower.co.nz/?id=4798#

Kind regards Ray.

DC voltages used are 270 and 350 kV.

Next month while down South I will get some photo's of the latter.


The product of rotation, excitation and flux produces electricty.

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Attic Rat
Attic Rat
Bergen Co.,N.J. USA
Posts: 524
Joined: December 2003
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 5
Popular Topics(Views)
248,100 Are you busy
185,547 Re: Forum
174,846 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.020s Queries: 14 (0.003s) Memory: 0.9592 MB (Peak: 1.0921 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-07-17 11:21:15 UTC