ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Back From Retirement
by Bill Addiss - 08/16/22 09:19 AM
Upside Down ThreeWay
by gfretwell - 08/12/22 12:30 AM
Load Calcs for EVs and RVs
by gfretwell - 08/12/22 12:24 AM
Wiring method choice
by HotLine1 - 08/10/22 03:39 PM
NEC- 314.23 (H) (1)
by renosteinke - 08/10/22 11:13 AM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 37 guests, and 14 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#141872 11/06/04 11:57 AM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 107
J
james S Offline OP
Member
does anyone have problems determining the size of cables between 4mm2 and 6mm2?
this can be a seriouse mistake if misjudged.

Also does anyone use a micrometre to calculate the size of cable using 3.14 * radius squared?

i have tried this method and cant seem to determine the true sizes both on stranded and solid.

#141873 11/06/04 05:07 PM
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,419
Likes: 3
Member
James,
Quote
does anyone have problems determining the size of cables between 4mm2 and 6mm2?
Not as a rule, any Electrician worthy of the name would know that a 4mm2 wire comprises 7 wires each being 0.85mm in diameter.
A 6mm2 wire comprises 7 wires having a diameter of 1.04mm.
Quote
Also does anyone use a micrometre to calculate the size of cable using 3.14 * radius squared?
Personally I've used a micrometer, to gauge Commutators and to gauge the gap on a set of HV reclosers, but if a guy bought a set of them out to measure wire sizes on a job site?.
It's good, quality Control!. [Linked Image]

#141874 11/06/04 05:48 PM
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 7,520
P
Member
I must admit that at a quick glance it's much harder to distinguish between 4 and 6mm than between, say, 1.5 and 2.5mm.

Actually, it wouldn't be a bad idea if the cables were marked somewhat more clearly as to conductor size.

#141875 11/06/04 08:11 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 200
U
Member
"...any Electrician worthy of the name would know..." Aw...steady on! [Linked Image]

Unless you are opening an accessory or looking at the conductors you can't see how many strands there are...

Personally I haven't been caught out yet, but I can quite see how someone trying to ID whether an isolated sample in a bundle is 4 mil or 6 mil might struggle; particularly as different manufacturers use differing thicknesses of outer sheath. I go with Paul here - a better indication on the sheath would not go amiss.

As for a quick ID - not always that easy.


If hindsight were foresight, we'd all be millionaires!
#141876 11/07/04 11:36 AM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 107
J
james S Offline OP
Member
If you find it hard to tell the difference between two different sized cables, your not worthy of the title 'electrician'?
now things are getting a bit silly.

i have known many people to misjudge cable sizes, this was only a question trumphy i did not ask to be insulted.

thanks for your reply/honesty pauluk,uksparky

#141877 11/08/04 06:28 AM
Joined: Sep 2002
Posts: 1,498
Likes: 1
C
C-H Offline
Member
Suggestion: The manufacturers could print/stamp the size as a 6 with a trailing square on the individual cores with regular intervals. (American cables would have a #10 [Linked Image] )

The distance between the markings should be relatively short and on both sides of the core. (I know a circle only has one side, but you know what I mean [Linked Image] )

Otherwise, the American concept of coulour coding the cable sheat is not bad. On European NYM, you could colour code the filler instead of the sheat. (White - 1.5 mm2, Yellow - 2.5 mm2, Orange - 4 mm2)

#141878 11/08/04 08:22 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 200
U
Member
'S ok James [Linked Image]

Without questions we gain nothing...


If hindsight were foresight, we'd all be millionaires!
#141879 11/08/04 10:12 PM
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,419
Likes: 3
Member
Whoa!,
Sorry guys. [Linked Image]
Quote
this was only a question trumphy i did not ask to be insulted.
James, I never intended to come across in such a condescending fashion, this was not my intention at all.
I apologise for my comments.
Oddly enough, our TPS cables are marked as to thier size and the number of cores and the types of cores (ie:2C+E or 3C).
Also they have a metre-marking on them, to identify, the amount remaining on your reel.
This comes in handy for stock control and charging out cable lengths used on jobs.

#141880 11/09/04 11:41 AM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 107
J
james S Offline OP
Member
during my apprentiship using a micrometre to size up cable was one of the things to be carried out as part of your portfolio.A while back now though.
ive noticed some brands of ammoured cables also don't have the size/amount of cores.

colour code would not be a bad idea.

ps no apology needed,all's forgotten [Linked Image]

[This message has been edited by james S (edited 11-09-2004).]

#141881 11/09/04 04:10 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 200
U
Member
Quote
Also they have a metre-marking on them, to identify, the amount remaining on your reel.

Now that I could really get used to!!

What a sensible plan.


If hindsight were foresight, we'd all be millionaires!
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Potseal
Potseal
Saskatchewan
Posts: 264
Joined: February 2013
Top Posters(30 Days)
BigB 6
Popular Topics(Views)
295,111 Are you busy
226,711 Re: Forum
211,866 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5