ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Happy Thanksgiving
by HotLine1 - 11/24/20 11:40 AM
What does your work place look like?
by HotLine1 - 11/23/20 03:35 PM
Where is Everyone?
by Lostazhell - 11/21/20 04:17 AM
Ground fault remover :-)
by dsk - 11/21/20 02:47 AM
Work Gloves?
by gfretwell - 11/20/20 10:17 PM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 22 guests, and 17 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Should i fit another socket #140747 04/29/04 04:34 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 45
S
sanUK Offline OP
Member
I had to get behind my Monitor to paint the new Window in my room and laughed at this

[Linked Image from zen23694.zen.co.uk]

Thought id share it with you all, can anyone beat it [Linked Image]

BTW total load drawn < 5A , so it can wait
a while [Linked Image]

Maybe one for the Violation forum (Oh the Shame) [Linked Image]

Test Equipment:
Large Selection of Test Equipment For Electrical, HVAC, Test & Measurement
Large Selection of Test Equipment For Electrical, HVAC, Test & Measurement
Re: Should i fit another socket #140748 04/30/04 02:18 AM
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,346
Trumpy Offline
Member
Sandy,
Have you actually done a Current Test on this little lot?.
I would beg to differ the <5A rating you give it.
Just judging by the sizes of the flexes entering the plugs.
What sort of protection do you have on this circuit?.
Also having computer equipment on this sort of thing gives rise to Non-Linear Loads and overloaded Neutrals.

Re: Should i fit another socket #140749 04/30/04 05:59 AM
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 7,520
P
pauluk Offline
Member
Ah, the garden variety "Adapter tree." Grows only indoors, needs no water, and favors areas with a high concentration of electrical equipment. [Linked Image]

Is that an exposed choc-block connector down toward the lower left? What's that connected to?

Re: Should i fit another socket #140750 04/30/04 06:24 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 45
S
sanUK Offline OP
Member
Trumpy - Total load is 4.34A, 650W, 1080 VA, PF = 0.60


Paul - Block connector is for a 12v Fan, used in summer to cool me [Linked Image]

Re: Should i fit another socket #140751 05/26/04 01:16 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 112
P
PaulCornwall Offline
Member
Nowt wrong with that.. too much effot in putting another socket in...

so then how do you know the power factor smart arse..

Re: Should i fit another socket #140752 05/28/04 06:24 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 45
S
sanUK Offline OP
Member
Quote
so then how do you know the power factor smart arse.....?

Plug in Power monitor [Linked Image] 12 quid from Maplins.

Effort required adding socket = lots as the walls in my house are compressed straw, which is a pain in the arse to raggle out.

Re: Should i fit another socket #140753 05/28/04 08:38 PM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,691
S
SvenNYC Offline
Member
Not tall enough.

Here, have another cube-tap. Picked it up today for a dollar [Linked Image]


Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Lostazhell
Lostazhell
Bakersfield, CA (Originally Orange Co.)
Posts: 1,434
Joined: February 2004
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 9
Popular Topics(Views)
271,901 Are you busy
205,763 Re: Forum
193,875 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3