ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
New tool
by gfretwell - 10/22/20 12:08 PM
Where is Everyone?
by Bill Addiss - 10/17/20 07:04 PM
Beyond Belief
by gfretwell - 09/27/20 12:03 AM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 18 guests, and 18 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Do You Pre-Test? #140716 04/23/04 06:45 AM
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,337
Trumpy Offline OP
Member
This question only came about after a really bad day, today Fault-finding a 400V 3 Core + Neutral Screened Cable, laid the other day.
A guy that I do quite a bit of work for asked me if he could lay his own cable, if I stipulated the cable and the installation methods.
No worries I said, he rang me later to look at the cable before it was finally buried and I had no problems with it.
In hind-sight, I should have Meggered the darn thing!. [Linked Image]
Went to hook up the cable (feeding a 3-phase pump) and tested the cable, I had a Dead-short over all 3 wires and to the Screening.
I eventually located the short to a section of cable that was buried .
I put a Tone Beacon down the cable and found the Fault, and dug up the damaged section, only to find a nasty piece of cable,that seemed a wee bit thinner than the rest of the cable.
I never had my D-cam, so I have no evidence of this.
It was just like it had been stretched during manufacture, in one place.
OK, so do you guys, pre-test cables, on the drum, before you install it?. [Linked Image]

Test Equipment:
Large Selection of Test Equipment For Electrical, HVAC, Test & Measurement
Large Selection of Test Equipment For Electrical, HVAC, Test & Measurement
Re: Do You Pre-Test? #140717 04/23/04 07:14 PM
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 7,520
P
pauluk Offline
Member
I don't think I've ever pre-tested on the reel, although I have meggered out a cable after laying but before terminating the ends.

Maybe the guy crushed it during the install and either didn't realize, or didn't think it was important.

Re: Do You Pre-Test? #140718 04/25/04 12:27 AM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 947
T
twh Offline
Member
I only test if something looks wrong. The cable is tested on the reel before it leaves the factory. At least, it was at the place I visited. It sounds like a good idea, especially with a large cable or long run that would be difficult to roll up. I should start doing it.

I'm impressed that you got a fault locater to work. It must be a skill that I'm lacking.

Re: Do You Pre-Test? #140719 04/25/04 06:55 AM
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,337
Trumpy Offline OP
Member
twh,
Welcome to the Forum mate!. [Linked Image]
Pleased to have your input here!
Off the Drum, I would not normally test, but this was a wake up call and a half.
Won't be doing that a second time. [Linked Image]


Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
watersparkfalls
watersparkfalls
Washington...Not DC
Posts: 236
Joined: March 2005
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
BigB 3
Popular Topics(Views)
270,742 Are you busy
204,967 Re: Forum
193,087 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3