ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Grounding electrodes
by gfretwell - 09/07/21 03:41 PM
Looking For Electricians in the Midlands
by Alex247 - 09/06/21 05:26 AM
Backup Generator Done Right
by timmp - 08/31/21 04:44 PM
New in the Gallery:
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
February, North East Indiana
February, North East Indiana
by timmp, July 25
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 31 guests, and 15 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#132573 02/02/07 05:17 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 272
L
Member
I would like to have a computer at home. I live out where there is no internet service other than dial-up. What about a laptop with a pc wireless card?? Not sure what that all means but any insight would be appreciated. Thanks!


Luke Clarke
Electrical Planner for TVA.

#132574 02/02/07 06:52 PM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,213
S
Member
You need to have broadband cellular service in your area. If so, then you buy a wireless card from your cell company and get a data contract- about $55/month or so if I recall- and you can get pretty good speeds with that. If your cell company only has older technology, they'll still happily charge you up the butt for a wireless card, but the speeds won't be any faster than dialup.

I have a cable modem, but I have a Treo 700p that I tether to my laptop via bluetooth and I can get 3mbps speeds through that which is pretty awesome [Linked Image]

Another option you have is a satellite modem.

[This message has been edited by SteveFehr (edited 02-02-2007).]

#132575 02/02/07 07:12 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 272
L
Member
Thanks for the information Mr.Fehr. I have verizon and my signal is excellent @ home. I will call them tommorrow and see what they want to charge for it. The 55 dollars a mo' is about what I pay for my regular land line through ma' bell. I'm going to have that disconnected next week. I am sick and tired of paying 50 60 dollars a mo' for telemarketers to call the house during the day and leave my answering machine loaded with b/s.... OOPS SORRY! didn't mean to start ranting there!


Luke Clarke
Electrical Planner for TVA.

#132576 02/02/07 08:47 PM
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 233
K
Member
having trouble with tele sales

Check out this tread then

Telesales brush of [Linked Image]

Kenny


der Gro├čvater
#132577 02/05/07 10:03 AM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 364
G
Member
Hi,

Wifi means net without wire. Anyhow you must have an ADSL adaptor somewhere (out in the netcafe, or at home in your house attached to a telephone line), or a cablenet along with your cable tv. I dunno how cablenet works, but I know, you need no telephone line for that net connection.
After you have the adapter, you can start wondering if you`ll use a PC, and use wires, or a wifi card, or you plan to pay a huge amount for a cool laptop and use it without cable (Wifi).


The world is full of beauty if the heart is full of love
#132578 02/05/07 02:04 PM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,213
S
Member
Cable modems hook up to your CableTV jacks just like it were any other TV or VCR, and you plug your PC or router into it like you would a DSL modem.

#132579 02/06/07 07:24 PM
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 456
C
Member
You don't NEED broasdband, you can use wireless over dial-up, but it takes a bit of work and management, and likely a gateway PC.


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
HCE727
HCE727
Delaware County, PA, USA
Posts: 187
Joined: November 2005
Top Posters(30 Days)
timmp 3
FGBY 2
Popular Topics(Views)
282,938 Are you busy
216,703 Re: Forum
203,123 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5