ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
dsk 13
Admin 8
Recent Posts
OD of Alum and Copper
by Yoopersup. 08/23/17 09:05 AM
Grid problem??
by annemarie1. 08/21/17 01:10 PM
Bathroom electrical
by doc. 08/19/17 06:53 AM
electircal ageing test on IPC
by SIAME. 08/15/17 02:43 AM
electrical aging test on IPC
by gfretwell. 08/15/17 12:27 AM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
240,134 Are you busy
175,759 Re: Forum
167,949 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 72 guests, and 7 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
#132368 - 04/05/06 10:14 PM Audio Tape >> CD?  
Trumpy  Offline


Member
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,217
SI,New Zealand
Guys,
I have a lot of old cassette tapes here that are starting to wear out from overplaying.
My question is, is there an easy way that I can transfer the music off of these tapes into the Hard Drive of my computer and then burn them to a CD-R disc?.
I've looked over the Net and there are more than enough companies willing to do it for you, but is it possible for this sort of thing to be done at home?.
I'm not looking to circumvent any copyright laws or the like, considering I already bought the tapes, shouldn't I be allowed to make 1 copy legally?.
Anyway, that is sliding off-topic, anyone have any advice?.
I'm using Win XP and have Windows Media Player at the moment.
Your advice would be gratefully recieved.
Cheers,
Mike. [Linked Image]


Let's face it, these days if you're not young, you're old - Red Green grin

Tools for Electricians:

#132369 - 04/05/06 10:34 PM Re: Audio Tape >> CD?  
trollog  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 276
San Diego California USA
Does your soundcard have an audio in? A cable from the cassette deck to the soundcard "in" should take care of the first 50%.. next is some software that will "record" the input into a computer readable format. Win 9x had an audio recorder feature that would record input sounds as a .wav file

If I recall correctly, your'e a linux guy too, maybe this will take you the other 50% of the way:
http://audacity.sourceforge.net/about/


#132370 - 04/05/06 10:59 PM Re: Audio Tape >> CD?  
JoeTestingEngr  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 785
Chicago, Il.
Mike,
I purchased 2, ADS Tech Instant Music RDX-150, 1 for me & one for best bud. They were about $40 each. They also have an "Instant Video" Interface.
Joe http://www.adstech.com/


#132371 - 04/05/06 11:18 PM Re: Audio Tape >> CD?  
gfretwell  Offline


Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,105
Estero,Fl,usa
It is easier to go to alt.binaries.sounds.mp3.<decade> and download the songs you have already paid for.
There may be some moral problem with stealing a song you didn't buy but if you have the tape, you own the song. Even Bill Gates agrees with this concept and he is the king of intellectual property.


Greg Fretwell

#132372 - 04/06/06 04:56 AM Re: Audio Tape >> CD?  
Trumpy  Offline


Member
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,217
SI,New Zealand
I'm personally with Trollogs idea, however I don't have Linux since a fire wrecked my office here and I'm back to WiMP10.
It seems to me to offer nothing to the home user, but everything to those that have no clue how to use a computer.
Windas XP, the system of the masses.
Quote
There may be some moral problem with stealing a song you didn't buy but if you have the tape, you own the song. Even Bill Gates agrees with this concept and he is the king of intellectual property.




[This message has been edited by Trumpy (edited 04-09-2006).]


Let's face it, these days if you're not young, you're old - Red Green grin

#132373 - 04/06/06 07:57 AM Re: Audio Tape >> CD?  
Trumpy  Offline


Member
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,217
SI,New Zealand
Sorry,
That is getting way off topic.
I was reading somewhere on the Net, where you could even cache Vinyl to your hard drive and then burn it to a CD-R disc.
But bugger me, I can't remember where I read it.
How sad is that?!. [Linked Image]


Let's face it, these days if you're not young, you're old - Red Green grin

#132374 - 04/06/06 10:22 AM Re: Audio Tape >> CD?  
pauluk  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 7,520
Norfolk, England
Mike,

Do you have something like the Nero Burning ROM software? (It's often the bundled Windows software with a CD-Rewriter drive.)

The Nero package comes with an editor, which you can use to sample your tapes into a PCM WAV file via the line input of your audio card. You can also use it to edit out tape hiss between tracks, apply any other filtering, etc.


#132375 - 04/06/06 11:56 PM Re: Audio Tape >> CD?  
JoeTestingEngr  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 785
Chicago, Il.
Mike,
The Instant Music interface has phono inputs and outputs, USB to the puter, and comes with the "Nero" software. My desire is to hook it up to the tape recorder output of my graphic EQ and get my records over to MP3. Then, I want to put a few hundred favorites onto a CD. I already have a cheap Cyberhome DVD player that plays just about everything, unlike my expensive DVD player. The DVD already gets back to my receiver through an A/V switcher. But let's face it, the source doesn't matter if it's a line level analog output.
I bought the interface and installed it last summer and haven't really played with it since. It looked like I might have had to purchase some sort of plug-in to use the Nero software to convert to MP3. But again, I paid less than 40 bucks for it. You might want to check out the vast selection of audio interfaces at http://www.musiciansfriend.com/
I think I checked out ones from $150 to a couple of grand for a friend's home studio project.
Joe


#132376 - 04/14/06 10:19 PM Re: Audio Tape >> CD?  
Trumpy  Offline


Member
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,217
SI,New Zealand
Thanks for all your help guys. [Linked Image]
I have stumbled upon a problem with my CD Writer.
While I've only ever uesd the thing to save important files and the pics I've uploaded to ECN, I've hit a stumbling block when it comes to burning music CD's.
I use Ahead Nero 6 to run the CD-writer, I go to add WMA files to the list and I am told "No file exists" even though I can see it and it can be played in Windas Media Player.
All I want is to remove a lot of the 450 songs in my computer to free up a bit of memory space, can anyone please help?.


Let's face it, these days if you're not young, you're old - Red Green grin

#132377 - 04/14/06 11:43 PM Re: Audio Tape >> CD?  
JoeTestingEngr  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 785
Chicago, Il.
Mike,
I always just have the Direct CD program set the CD-R up as a drive letter and use Windows Explorer to move the files around. Those various play list and music CD creators just drove me crazy.
Joe


Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4

Member Spotlight
HappyElectrician
HappyElectrician
Penn USA
Posts: 31
Joined: December 2011
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.015s Queries: 15 (0.002s) Memory: 0.8236 MB (Peak: 1.0005 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-08-23 15:55:31 UTC