ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
How's Florida doing with Hurricane Ian?
by Bill Addiss - 09/28/22 12:41 PM
Tough being a lineman's kid
by Bill Addiss - 09/28/22 12:39 PM
GFCI's pops in large numbers
by dsk - 09/26/22 04:35 AM
AFCI’s Revisited
by sparky - 09/24/22 09:58 AM
NFPA Price Increase Coming
by Bill Addiss - 09/23/22 02:22 PM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 46 guests, and 20 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#130972 01/11/02 08:06 PM
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 26
J
Member
What program is needed to post a wiring diagram on the web page? I have used E-mail to submit diagrams to individuals but not on a web page.

#130973 01/11/02 11:03 PM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,236
Likes: 1
Member
Is your diagram in a .jpg or .gif file format?

Do you have a webpage or web space?

Have you used an FTP client like WS_FTP

Do you know any HTML? for example:
<img src="http://www.mypage.com/diagram.jpg"> ?

This is the basic things you need, I can help you with how to execute them as well...

If you want to post diagrams here in the forum, it's all the same except you use UBB coding instead of HTML which is a little simpler. Another option is to email it to Bill and he'd get it on here for ya.

I apologize in advance if I have only confused you further...

[Linked Image]

[This message has been edited by sparky66wv (edited 01-11-2002).]


-Virgil
Residential/Commercial Inspector
5 Star Inspections
Member IAEI
#130974 01/12/02 08:58 AM
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 26
J
Member
Thanks for your reply.

I have a diagram that may be of interest to others - drawn fron AutoCad. I have converted others for E=mail use using Word Perfect and also using Paint Shop Pro for a web page presentation but have not looked into how to post a diagram on the "foram".
I know conversion to another format is necessary, unless your receiver has AutoCad, but don't know how to convert. thanks

#130975 01/13/02 12:37 AM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,236
Likes: 1
Member
If worse comes to worse, get your diagram on your display and hit the "print screen" key (to the right of F12), go into Paint Shop and paste the clipboard contents into a new picture. The default will be a bitmap (.bmp), but you can "save as" (file, save as) a .jpg or a .gif (I think, I don't have a copy of paint shop...) then you're ready to upload via FTP to your webspace or to Bill (photos@electrical-contractor.net) for posting.

Let me know if that works...

BTW, wait for Scott35 to give his $0.02, I think he knows of a better way to convert.

[This message has been edited by sparky66wv (edited 01-12-2002).]


-Virgil
Residential/Commercial Inspector
5 Star Inspections
Member IAEI
#130976 01/13/02 03:08 AM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 2,722
Broom Pusher and
Member
Johngeorge,

If you would like to post a Schematic or other type of CAD drawing to this forum, the simplest method would be to E-Mail the .DWG file to me, and I'll convert it to a Raster image. You could also follow Virgil's posted message [Virgil is Sparky66Wv] and upload your drawing in a raster format to some host site on the web. Best format will be .GIF, since it's not too much of a file size hog [like .JPG] and it works well cross platform [with operating systems other than Microsoft based].

FYI: Here's a common method I use for Vector to Raster conversion - using AutoCAD Release 14;

1: Export the drawing to a directory [folder] on your local drive [hard drive] in the .BMP format. This can be done either by "File - Export" and selecting "Windows Bitmap (.BMP) from the dropdown box, or from the Command line [I think the command is BMPOUT].
When executing this action, you will be optioned to select items to be exported. Best if you do a "Zoom To Window" regen before the Export command, and have the drawing you wish to export in as large of a window as possible.
Select all by either dragging curser from upper right to lower left, or by the Fence select method.
Scale your text before the export!!!

2: After saving the export in a .BMP format, open that file within Paint Shop Pro. Crop out any unneeded border areas, then save the image in .GIF format. Paint shop pro should also give you options such as Interlaced / Non-Interlaced, and such. Either type of lace is OK.
With .JPGs, there's also an option for optimizing files for use on the web.

Would like to see some of your work, so get a few images posted ASAP!

P.S. I'll be out of town in Modesto, CA. all of next week [from Monday the 14th until Friday the 18th], so wait until next Saturday to send me things.
I need to get a notebook PC so bad!

Scott SET


Scott " 35 " Thompson
Just Say NO To Green Eggs And Ham!
#130977 01/13/02 01:14 PM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,236
Likes: 1
Member
JPG's are file hogs? I thought JPG's were compressed and GIF's weren't (as compressed)?

I've always used JPG's unless I want transparency or animation, then GIF it is...


-Virgil
Residential/Commercial Inspector
5 Star Inspections
Member IAEI

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
HappyElectrician
HappyElectrician
Penn USA
Posts: 31
Joined: December 2011
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
297,481 Are you busy
228,307 Re: Forum
213,194 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5