ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
Recent Posts
2017 NEC Changes
by HotLine1. 12/11/17 12:10 PM
Casino Wiring methods
by HotLine1. 12/09/17 10:44 AM
Ground wire Size to water Line.
by HotLine1. 12/05/17 12:11 PM
Flexible conduit to an outside Spa
by gfretwell. 12/05/17 12:28 AM
Dimmable LED 2x4 lay in fixtures
by Vulsion. 11/30/17 06:37 PM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
243,011 Are you busy
179,404 Re: Forum
170,363 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 24 guests, and 10 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#130721 - 10/28/06 07:21 AM Protective Relays with no ADC  
Alexander Boyko  Offline
Junior Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 2
Krasnoyarsk, Russia
Hi

I wonder is there any technology that allow to transmit measured data from CT and VT in a digital form to a protective terminal with no copper, via Ethernet or something.

Is there any protective terminals with a digital measuring inputs?

Is there any CT and VT with a digital output (not optical CT and VT)

Thanks.


Tools for Electricians:

#130722 - 11/01/06 10:30 PM Re: Protective Relays with no ADC  
Dave T  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 155
Waukesha, WI, USA
I believe it may be able to done to monitor but not to provide protection. It is imperative that a protective system be fail safe if ti configuration as you have described implies that you are looking for wireless protection as was stated: "digital form to a 'protective terminal' with no copper, via Ethernet or something."


#130723 - 11/02/06 05:49 AM Re: Protective Relays with no ADC  
Dnkldorf  Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,064
nowhere usa
I'm not sure I understand your need very clearly, but if your looking to monitor your inputs, and transmit that data wirelessly, or via the ethernet, this would work.
http://www.electroind.com/shark100s.html


#130724 - 11/02/06 07:58 AM Re: Protective Relays with no ADC  
Alexander Boyko  Offline
Junior Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 2
Krasnoyarsk, Russia
Thanks [Linked Image]

I am talking bout delivering measurements in a digital way from CT to relay in oreder to protect a line, transformer etc.

I believe I had seen some info bout such experemental substation before, but now cannot find it.

My article bout these kind of things is going to be published in a magazine, so I am looking for practical appliances. And I am sure to remember that I have seen ones.


#130725 - 11/02/06 08:26 AM Re: Protective Relays with no ADC  
BugMan  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 10
Alex,

There are many ways to transfer protective digital info. Presently, most utilities are going to fibre, since the high EMF during fault conditions has no affect on the signal being transmitted. The fiber signal is also reliable enough for protection of xfmrs, transmission lines, buses, etc because the devices used to transmit the signal through the fiber have a self-monitoring scheme built in. The protection digital signal can travel over a 100 miles through single-mode fiber. If you feel froggy, you can check all you want at Schweitzer Engineering Labs (SEL) at www.selinc.com. Have fun reading.

[This message has been edited by BugMan (edited 11-02-2006).]


#130726 - 11/11/06 10:14 PM Re: Protective Relays with no ADC  
WFO  Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 202
Cat Spring, TX


#130727 - 11/13/06 10:58 PM Re: Protective Relays with no ADC  
BugMan  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 10
Careful. Many of the optical xdcrs are experimental. And, much is unknown on how they behave under fault conditions with high X/R ratios, lightning, etc.



Member Spotlight
renosteinke
renosteinke
Blue Collar Country
Posts: 5,316
Joined: January 2005
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.018s Queries: 14 (0.004s) Memory: 0.7847 MB (Peak: 0.9395 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-12-12 04:41:25 UTC