ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Anybody Remember this?
by Bill Addiss - 08/17/19 09:07 PM
Fuse blower plug?
by Bill Addiss - 08/17/19 09:01 PM
100 year old Light Bulb
by Bill Addiss - 08/17/19 11:44 AM
1897 paper on 110-220 incandescent lamps
by ghost307 - 08/15/19 10:31 AM
Forum Updates Coming Soon.
by Admin - 08/08/19 11:50 PM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 7 guests, and 9 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
1500HP D.C. motor amps #130710 10/21/06 11:57 AM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1
J
Jaz Offline OP
Junior Member
Hi all,

Can some one point me in the direction for motoer and cable amps?

I have a Q.
A 1500HP D.C. motor compound wound, reversible,
Shunt rated at 100Amps.

How do I work out total amp requirements, I believe this motor runs at 750 Volts.

Tools for Electricians:
Re: 1500HP D.C. motor amps #130711 10/25/06 12:54 PM
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,262
Trumpy Offline
Member
Exactly, what do you want to run on the end of this 1500HP motor?.
Next question would be, do you have a DC supply large enough to supply it?.


[This message has been edited by Trumpy (edited 10-25-2006).]

Re: 1500HP D.C. motor amps #130712 10/25/06 04:22 PM
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 599
J
JBD Offline
Member
An average DC motor draws an armature current of approx 1.5A per HP at 550V.

The armature current varies inversely to the applied voltage so in your case:

1500HP * 1.5A/HP * 550V/750V = 1,650A.

Re: 1500HP D.C. motor amps #130713 10/26/06 08:30 AM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,148
R
resqcapt19 Offline
Member
Note that you can't use standard building wire for this application because the armature voltage is above 600 volts. I have used DLO/RHH for this application a number of times. The last 1500 hp DC motor that I worked on needed cables rated for 2156 amps (motor FLA at 1725 times 1.25 for wire size). We used the ampacity for 500 kmil derated to 344 amps because of 4 current carrying conductors in each raceway. The calculation only required 7 sets or conductors, but because of the rules in 310.4 we had to use 8 sets. We had four 4" conduits, each with four 535.3 kcmil DLO cables.
Don


Don(resqcapt19)
Re: 1500HP D.C. motor amps #130714 01/06/07 12:34 AM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 345
T
tdhorne Offline
Member
Out of pure idle curiosity what was a monster like that turning.
--
Tom Horne


Tom Horne

"This alternating current stuff is just a fad. It is much too dangerous for general use" Thomas Alva Edison
Re: 1500HP D.C. motor amps #130715 01/07/07 07:18 PM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,148
R
resqcapt19 Offline
Member
Tom,
The one I was working on is an extruder drive motor. That extruder is used for the final step for making ABS plastic pellets. The ABS resin and the addatives for color and other properties are fed into the extruder and and mixed and heated by the screws and forced out of the die head in about 130 3/16" strands that are then cooled in a water bath and sent to a pelletizer to cut them in to pellets about 3/16" long and then bagged, boxed or bulk shipped to the customer who will mold the plastic into a final product.
By the way those 8 535.3 kcmil DLOs were connected to 4 4/0s in the motor junction box. We had to add a box extension and a bus detail to make the transition from the size of wire required by the code to the internal motor armature leads.
Don


Don(resqcapt19)

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
RH1
RH1
California
Posts: 22
Joined: August 2009
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 16
GeneSF 8
Popular Topics(Views)
257,826 Are you busy
193,561 Re: Forum
183,204 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3