ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Extension cords
by Texas_Ranger. 09/25/18 04:37 AM
220/230/240V 60Hz Systems
by gfretwell. 09/23/18 02:50 PM
Inspection camera help
by petey_c. 09/22/18 07:52 AM
Motion detectors and dimmers
by gfretwell. 09/20/18 04:02 PM
Acronis Backup 2017
by gfretwell. 09/16/18 12:46 AM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 30 guests, and 19 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Neutral question #130547
07/20/06 08:20 PM
07/20/06 08:20 PM
C
canuck  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 27
Canada
Hello I am new to ECN. It seems like a nice community of experienced electricians. Also a great reference as I am gaining more experience in this trade.

There are 18 sub panels that go to the meter stack in the closet (125 amp, 2 hot).

One of my co-workers installed a range outlet (50 amp) and the ground wire ended up touching one of the hot terminals on the back of the receptacle. I was installing devices in another suite when I used a meter I got a reading of 120 volts on the neutral. Even the hot with both breakers off was reading 106 volts to ground (at the sub panel). I managed to find the problem and fixed it.

How could there be voltage in another suite(s)?

Thanks


[This message has been edited by canuck (edited 07-20-2006).]

Tools for Electricians:
Re: Neutral question #130548
07/21/06 10:25 AM
07/21/06 10:25 AM
L
LarryC  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 783
Winchester, NH, US
My guess is that someone installed the bonding jumper between the earth and the neutral at the sub panel your coworker was working in, and did not connect the ground wire coming from the main service.

The voltage you are reading is the 120 Volts from that neutral, going thru some small load to the hot leg, and then thru your meter to the properly connected ground in your subpanel.

Re: Neutral question #130549
07/21/06 10:52 AM
07/21/06 10:52 AM
Radar  Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 349
Los Angeles, CA
Canuck - You're located where (approximately)? I'm with Larry on this - and I think you are in dire need of an experienced electrician to check all the wiring, starting at the meter stack. You have a potentially serious condition here.

Radar


There are 10 types of people. Those who know binary, and those who don't.
Re: Neutral question #130550
07/27/06 01:49 AM
07/27/06 01:49 AM
C
canuck  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 27
Canada
There are people with 30+ years experience (also the engineer) dealing with this now. I was just the person who discovered this issue and was curious about a possible explanation.

Everything in the sub panel and stack are fine (installed by qualified electricians). I'll let you know when the problem has be resolved.

I start school in a few days and I am looking forward to learning more about power distribution systems. [Linked Image]

[This message has been edited by canuck (edited 07-27-2006).]

[This message has been edited by canuck (edited 07-27-2006).]


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
cookcc
cookcc
California ,Long Beach
Posts: 28
Joined: May 2007
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 13
BigB 4
Popular Topics(Views)
249,460 Are you busy
187,376 Re: Forum
176,721 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.015s Queries: 14 (0.003s) Memory: 0.9601 MB (Peak: 1.0896 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-09-25 21:09:11 UTC