ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Smoke & mirrors?
by HotLine1 - 09/21/20 03:42 PM
Pool Lights?
by Papa - 09/18/20 05:26 PM
Ever been afflicted by Gout?
by mbhydro - 09/15/20 05:50 PM
Questioning the electrical norms
by gfretwell - 09/13/20 01:17 PM
120/208 gives 240? please clarify
by NORCAL - 09/13/20 01:08 AM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 13 guests, and 6 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
outlet load? #12916 08/21/02 01:08 PM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 2
E
electricdope Offline OP
Junior Member
Hello, I'm new to this forum, and as you can tell by my name, I'm a dope about electrical topics.

My question is about my computer work area. I currently have a PC, monitor, scanner, printer, cordless phone, speakers, shredder, and radio all plugged into a single power bar. No problems. I'm pretty sure the outlet is only 15 amps, so I'm wondering if I'm pushing my luck. Is there a simple calculation I can do to determine if I'm approaching the maximum load? For example, can I just add all the amp ratings of the components to see if it's over 15? It so, I still the problem where some components give a wattage and some give amps only, and some don't give either.

Help please?

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: outlet load? #12917 08/21/02 01:39 PM
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 717
G
George Corron Offline
Member
add all the watts together and divide by the voltage. (ya wanna be correct then multiply by 1.25) that will give your amperage at full load. If the nameplate states the amperage, just add it up.

None of that stuff usually adds up to much, but all of it should have a UL tag. We could get into a lot of possibilities here, but that's the basic. The 1.25 is because all the 'stuff' you mentioned is solid state, so off the top of your head you have to figure for an 80% power factor.

Re: outlet load? #12918 08/21/02 04:17 PM
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 7,520
P
pauluk Offline
Member
Hi,

AS George said, add up the power and/or current ratings to be sure.

In very general terms, PCs and their associated peripherals, radios, cordless phones, fax machines and stuff like that draw a relatively low current, so running them together on a power strip shouldn't cause an overload.

The things to start being more careful about are any appliances which incorporate some sort of heating element (e.g. room heater, coffee maker) or a heavy motor (e.g. A/C unit).

Re: outlet load? #12919 08/21/02 05:04 PM
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 806
N
NJwirenut Offline
Member
The only PC peripheral that might draw substantial current is a laser printer. These things have a large quartz lamp inside (like a photocopier lamp) to heat up one of the rollers. Because of the possible voltage sags when the lamp cycles on, laser printers should really be on their own circuit.

Re: outlet load? #12920 08/23/02 03:30 PM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 2
E
electricdope Offline OP
Junior Member
Thanks to those who replied. I will try the calculation you provided George.


Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
RH1
RH1
California
Posts: 22
Joined: August 2009
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 8
NORCAL 3
Popular Topics(Views)
269,957 Are you busy
204,381 Re: Forum
192,599 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3