ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
sec cable code conflict
by jake2018. 11/17/18 11:19 PM
This anti-theist is priceless!!!
by Texas_Ranger. 11/17/18 02:15 PM
High current GFI vs regular GFCI
by Texas_Ranger. 11/17/18 02:07 PM
Single phase and what you call it.
by dsk. 11/12/18 11:10 AM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 24 guests, and 25 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
1 phase trans. schematic [first in a series] #127177
05/11/01 02:06 AM
05/11/01 02:06 AM
Scott35  Offline
OP
Broom Pusher and
Member
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 2,708
Anaheim, CA. USA
[Linked Image]

Hi all,

Here's the first in a series of transformer schematics I have compiled and posted for your comments [through the assistance of Bill - he is hosting the images for me].
Let me know what you like / dislike or just flat out hate!

This series is kind of a "Beta Test" to see how everything turns out after the drawings get changed around a bunch of times.
They were originally drawn in AutoCAD R14, so text might be next to impossible to read on some [looks just fine in AutoCAD [Linked Image]]

Anyhow, this schematic shows details of 1 phase split primary and secondary coil transformer with center tapped neutral

I think my Epri [primary voltage] is like 12KV, so don't touch it!! [Linked Image]

Scott

[This message has been edited by Scott35 (edited 06-23-2001).]


Scott " 35 " Thompson
Just Say NO To Green Eggs And Ham!
Tools for Electricians:
Re: 1 phase trans. schematic [first in a series] #127178
05/11/01 08:09 PM
05/11/01 08:09 PM
G
golf junkie  Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 507
York, NE
Scott,
Nice job on the schematic.

The smallest text is not readable on my monitor. (17", 1024x768)

Bill.....is there anyway to make the message board appear full screen? With the two frames on the left and the banner on top less than 1/2 of the screen is available for what we want to see.

GJ

Re: 1 phase trans. schematic [first in a series] #127179
05/12/01 09:25 AM
05/12/01 09:25 AM
sparky66wv  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,236
West Virginia
I think all ya gotta do is make the picture bigger , and the space in it to fit:

<IMG SRC="https://www.electrical-contractor.net/theory/1ph_detail4.gif" height=480 width=640>

or something similar in the HTML tag.

I have a 15" monitor, in 800 x 600 mode.
Scrolling doesn't bother me as long as it's large enough to see.

[This message has been edited by sparky66wv (edited 05-12-2001).]


-Virgil
Residential/Commercial Inspector
5 Star Inspections
Member IAEI
Re: 1 phase trans. schematic [first in a series] #127180
05/19/01 05:35 PM
05/19/01 05:35 PM
Scott35  Offline
OP
Broom Pusher and
Member
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 2,708
Anaheim, CA. USA
This here Animal has been edited in AutoCAD, then reposted. Text is so much easier to read now, as compared to before edits - primarily because using a microscope to view text on a monitor is kinda' hard [Linked Image]

Scott SET


Scott " 35 " Thompson
Just Say NO To Green Eggs And Ham!
Re: 1 phase trans. schematic [first in a series] #127181
05/19/01 06:14 PM
05/19/01 06:14 PM
Bill Addiss  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,903
NY, USA
Scott,

That's a good width dimension to use as a maximum I think. It is about 550 across and fills up the area without scrolling on my 800 x 600 resolution. I think that 800 x 600 is a good resolution to gear things towards.

[Linked Image]
Bill

Re: 1 phase trans. schematic [first in a series] #127182
05/19/01 06:14 PM
05/19/01 06:14 PM
G
golf junkie  Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 507
York, NE
OK Scott......I'll go back to ebay and cancel my bid on that microscope.

GJ

1000% improvement btw

Re: 1 phase trans. schematic [first in a series] #127183
05/19/01 06:20 PM
05/19/01 06:20 PM
Bill Addiss  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,903
NY, USA
GJ,

I just wanted to mention that unfortunately there's no way to make things best for everyone. There are still people using 640 x 480 because of poor eyesight or older monitors, and anything larger than this would involve quite a bit of scrolling. That's why 800 x 600 is a good compromise between the 640 and 1024 crowds.

Does it seem like a good proportion on your monitor now?

Bill

Re: 1 phase trans. schematic [first in a series] #127184
05/19/01 09:46 PM
05/19/01 09:46 PM
Scott35  Offline
OP
Broom Pusher and
Member
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 2,708
Anaheim, CA. USA
Thanks Bill and GJ.

I'm trying to keep the images in these parameters, but there's a few in here that are excessively wide - requiring scrolling [sorry! [Linked Image]..].

There's a real difficult deal going on between AutoCAD, Adobe and finally upload - which I haven't yet got complete control of
[Kaos has beaten Control [Linked Image]]
Here's the scoop on zeee poop:
Draw schematics in AutoCAD [1 to 1, of course]. Zoom to extents, do a save on the .DWG file - just in case the bugs want to play around [AKA GPF!! General Protection Fault], then Export as .BMP, which is the only Rastor format available.
Next, open that Exported .BMP in Adobe Photoshop. Crop the image to remove unneeded blank areas, save the cropped .BMP [once again, the buggy-wuggies apply], then "Save As" a .GIF in a Non-Interlaced, or Normal format.

I tried scaling the .BMP and/or the .GIF images in Adobe, but they turn out all raggy and look just horrible!
That was when trying to scale up - haven't tried down scaling yet!!

Anyhow, when it comes to seeing the final output in the forum, it's kinda like shootin' craps! Roll the Dice [post the image] and see where they stop [view the thread].

Not very scientific of an approach, is it?? [Linked Image]

Any suggestions that someone may have about the scaling, please toss them in!!
Feel free to light the file / burn file!! [as in >15 posts in thread, not the tossing of flames in said thread....Jed...hit his head....fell out of bed.... toe turned red when his foot hit some lead..]

Scott SET

BTW, had to edit a real good typo!! Would have made your head spin seeing that one!

SET.

[This message has been edited by Scott35 (edited 05-19-2001).]


Scott " 35 " Thompson
Just Say NO To Green Eggs And Ham!
Re: 1 phase trans. schematic [first in a series] #127185
05/19/01 10:37 PM
05/19/01 10:37 PM
G
golf junkie  Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 507
York, NE
Everything looks great!

No worry on my account.

GJ

Re: 1 phase trans. schematic [first in a series] #127186
05/21/01 07:33 PM
05/21/01 07:33 PM
R
R.Legg  Offline
Junior Member
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 5
Phase info? ~Starts. This is useful if phase info of primary is needed on secondary.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Alan Belson
Alan Belson
Mayenne N. France
Posts: 1,803
Joined: March 2005
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 7
Popular Topics(Views)
251,556 Are you busy
188,716 Re: Forum
178,427 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.025s Queries: 15 (0.004s) Memory: 1.0293 MB (Peak: 1.2072 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-11-18 06:47:44 UTC