ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Unusual Well Pump Switch Failure
by sabrown - 10/28/20 04:31 PM
Look at this mess...
by InspectorE - 10/27/20 09:09 PM
New tool
by gfretwell - 10/24/20 11:09 AM
Where is Everyone?
by Bill Addiss - 10/17/20 07:04 PM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 18 guests, and 15 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
1 phase trans. schematic [first in a series] #127177 05/11/01 03:06 AM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 2,721
Scott35 Offline OP
Broom Pusher and
Member
[Linked Image]

Hi all,

Here's the first in a series of transformer schematics I have compiled and posted for your comments [through the assistance of Bill - he is hosting the images for me].
Let me know what you like / dislike or just flat out hate!

This series is kind of a "Beta Test" to see how everything turns out after the drawings get changed around a bunch of times.
They were originally drawn in AutoCAD R14, so text might be next to impossible to read on some [looks just fine in AutoCAD [Linked Image]]

Anyhow, this schematic shows details of 1 phase split primary and secondary coil transformer with center tapped neutral

I think my Epri [primary voltage] is like 12KV, so don't touch it!! [Linked Image]

Scott

[This message has been edited by Scott35 (edited 06-23-2001).]


Scott " 35 " Thompson
Just Say NO To Green Eggs And Ham!
Tools for Electricians:
Re: 1 phase trans. schematic [first in a series] #127178 05/11/01 09:09 PM
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 507
G
golf junkie Offline
Member
Scott,
Nice job on the schematic.

The smallest text is not readable on my monitor. (17", 1024x768)

Bill.....is there anyway to make the message board appear full screen? With the two frames on the left and the banner on top less than 1/2 of the screen is available for what we want to see.

GJ

Re: 1 phase trans. schematic [first in a series] #127179 05/12/01 10:25 AM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,236
sparky66wv Offline
Member
I think all ya gotta do is make the picture bigger , and the space in it to fit:

<IMG SRC="https://www.electrical-contractor.net/theory/1ph_detail4.gif" height=480 width=640>

or something similar in the HTML tag.

I have a 15" monitor, in 800 x 600 mode.
Scrolling doesn't bother me as long as it's large enough to see.

[This message has been edited by sparky66wv (edited 05-12-2001).]


-Virgil
Residential/Commercial Inspector
5 Star Inspections
Member IAEI
Re: 1 phase trans. schematic [first in a series] #127180 05/19/01 06:35 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 2,721
Scott35 Offline OP
Broom Pusher and
Member
This here Animal has been edited in AutoCAD, then reposted. Text is so much easier to read now, as compared to before edits - primarily because using a microscope to view text on a monitor is kinda' hard [Linked Image]

Scott SET


Scott " 35 " Thompson
Just Say NO To Green Eggs And Ham!
Re: 1 phase trans. schematic [first in a series] #127181 05/19/01 07:14 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,961
Bill Addiss Offline
Member
Scott,

That's a good width dimension to use as a maximum I think. It is about 550 across and fills up the area without scrolling on my 800 x 600 resolution. I think that 800 x 600 is a good resolution to gear things towards.

[Linked Image]
Bill


Bill
Re: 1 phase trans. schematic [first in a series] #127182 05/19/01 07:14 PM
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 507
G
golf junkie Offline
Member
OK Scott......I'll go back to ebay and cancel my bid on that microscope.

GJ

1000% improvement btw

Re: 1 phase trans. schematic [first in a series] #127183 05/19/01 07:20 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,961
Bill Addiss Offline
Member
GJ,

I just wanted to mention that unfortunately there's no way to make things best for everyone. There are still people using 640 x 480 because of poor eyesight or older monitors, and anything larger than this would involve quite a bit of scrolling. That's why 800 x 600 is a good compromise between the 640 and 1024 crowds.

Does it seem like a good proportion on your monitor now?

Bill


Bill
Re: 1 phase trans. schematic [first in a series] #127184 05/19/01 10:46 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 2,721
Scott35 Offline OP
Broom Pusher and
Member
Thanks Bill and GJ.

I'm trying to keep the images in these parameters, but there's a few in here that are excessively wide - requiring scrolling [sorry! [Linked Image]..].

There's a real difficult deal going on between AutoCAD, Adobe and finally upload - which I haven't yet got complete control of
[Kaos has beaten Control [Linked Image]]
Here's the scoop on zeee poop:
Draw schematics in AutoCAD [1 to 1, of course]. Zoom to extents, do a save on the .DWG file - just in case the bugs want to play around [AKA GPF!! General Protection Fault], then Export as .BMP, which is the only Rastor format available.
Next, open that Exported .BMP in Adobe Photoshop. Crop the image to remove unneeded blank areas, save the cropped .BMP [once again, the buggy-wuggies apply], then "Save As" a .GIF in a Non-Interlaced, or Normal format.

I tried scaling the .BMP and/or the .GIF images in Adobe, but they turn out all raggy and look just horrible!
That was when trying to scale up - haven't tried down scaling yet!!

Anyhow, when it comes to seeing the final output in the forum, it's kinda like shootin' craps! Roll the Dice [post the image] and see where they stop [view the thread].

Not very scientific of an approach, is it?? [Linked Image]

Any suggestions that someone may have about the scaling, please toss them in!!
Feel free to light the file / burn file!! [as in >15 posts in thread, not the tossing of flames in said thread....Jed...hit his head....fell out of bed.... toe turned red when his foot hit some lead..]

Scott SET

BTW, had to edit a real good typo!! Would have made your head spin seeing that one!

SET.

[This message has been edited by Scott35 (edited 05-19-2001).]


Scott " 35 " Thompson
Just Say NO To Green Eggs And Ham!
Re: 1 phase trans. schematic [first in a series] #127185 05/19/01 11:37 PM
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 507
G
golf junkie Offline
Member
Everything looks great!

No worry on my account.

GJ

Re: 1 phase trans. schematic [first in a series] #127186 05/21/01 08:33 PM
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 5
R
R.Legg Offline
Junior Member
Phase info? ~Starts. This is useful if phase info of primary is needed on secondary.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
AllClear
AllClear
Belmond Iowa US
Posts: 44
Joined: August 2005
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
271,069 Are you busy
205,048 Re: Forum
193,177 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3