ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
240V only in a home and NEC?
by emolatur - 05/18/24 06:12 PM
Electricians revenge
by gfretwell - 05/09/24 08:24 PM
Safety at heights?
by gfretwell - 04/23/24 03:03 PM
Old low volt E10 sockets - supplier or alternative
by gfretwell - 04/21/24 11:20 AM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
2 members (Scott35, HotLine1), 42 guests, and 17 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#126983 03/24/01 09:10 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,392
S
sparky Offline OP
Member
A family from another country builds a home in America. They bring all their forgien appliances with them, it's all 240v.(or just pick a voltage you'd like here) TV's , radios, blenders, vacuum cleaners, etc. They would like the entire residence to be wired as it would be in their homeland.

All common sense aside, is this doable???

[Linked Image]

Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:


>> 2023 NEC & Related Reference & Exam Prep
2023 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides

Pass Your Exam the FIRST TIME with the Latest NEC & Exam Prep

>> 2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
 

#126984 03/25/01 04:10 AM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 118
O
Member
I think the sockets and voltage difference you could over come but the Hz could be another matter

#126985 03/25/01 08:43 AM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,392
S
sparky Offline OP
Member
hmmmm, that might be a problem, however the dif from 50 to 60 may be negligable given residential appliances.

the Q is purely hypothetical, given some interesting threads in this forum.

your input especially, Appy

I do have customers that spend ridiculous $$$$ on silly things here, so this is not that far out..
[Linked Image]

I'm wondering how the AHJ would view a home with a different voltage system than normally seen...

#126986 03/25/01 10:37 AM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,682
Likes: 3
Administrator
Member
Sparky,

As coincidence would have it, here comes a question from todays' Mailbag:

Quote
Dear Sirs,
We are emigrating from the UK to South Carolina and have many electrical items we want to take with us - some for sentimental reasons. We use 220/240v here. Will it be possible to use our items? Will we need to install a generator? Advice please.

Sincerely
Leonie

leonie.jarrett@virgin.net

#126987 03/25/01 11:38 AM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 4,116
Likes: 4
Member
Sparky,

I hope that you don't mind if I borrow your thread a little here? (I'll fill up the tank for you) [Linked Image]

Now, in our 'Real Life' situation here Leonie doesn't say if they'll be going to a new Home being built or an existing Home. So it may not be exactly the same question as yours. I've invited Leonie to participate, so maybe We can fine-tune things here if necessary to meet the situation.

I think there are 2 things to consider here and they should be separated right away for a mimimum of confusion. Since you started discussion on the wiring of the houes, let this be the 'Practical' How-do-you? and Can-you-do-it? I started a separate Thread on the specific effects that different voltages and frequencies might have on Electrical items. That is at:
https://www.electrical-contractor.net/ubb/Forum7/HTML/000020.html

Bill


Bill
#126988 03/25/01 02:44 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,392
S
sparky Offline OP
Member
Hi Leonie!
this is an oppourtune coincidence, please jump on in here.

We have a 240/120v system here. we do supply 240 to dryers, ranges,hot h2o, and other such appliances, so to do so for your items may be possible.

One Q that comes to mind would be if dedicated circuits were to be introduced, would it be better to correct cord cap and matching recptacles to an American version, or purchase a UK receptacle.

( I have an "unstumpable" supplier that would love this!)

[Linked Image]

[This message has been edited by sparky (edited 03-25-2001).]

#126989 03/25/01 03:54 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 4,116
Likes: 4
Member
Sparky,

According to that Resource We were looking at recently this is the type of Plug they use

[Linked Image from kropla.com]


Bill
#126990 03/25/01 03:59 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,392
S
sparky Offline OP
Member
I think some of these UK male cord caps are fused ?? Is this true?

I will put word out as to availability of mating receptacles

[Linked Image]

[This message has been edited by sparky (edited 03-25-2001).]

#126991 03/25/01 08:12 PM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 118
O
Member
Yep thats right Sparky they have little fast blows in the male ends also the sockets on the wall as they RingMain in the UK

#126992 03/25/01 08:33 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 4,116
Likes: 4
Member
As a side note, there was also information that said that receptacles were typically controlled by an adjacent switch.

Bill


Bill
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5