ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Where is Everyone?
by luckyshadow - 11/21/21 10:14 AM
It's been an interesting career
by The Watt Doctor - 11/19/21 09:56 AM
Well I am back to stay (nearly 6 years)
by The Watt Doctor - 11/19/21 09:17 AM
Motor Load Relationships Between Fans and Pumps
by The Watt Doctor - 11/18/21 09:24 AM
GFCI's pops in large numbers
by dsk - 11/05/21 06:45 AM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 24 guests, and 22 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#12531 08/12/02 06:01 AM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,389
S
sparky Offline OP
Member
I have a slightly 'phone challenged' customer who's desires have had me run 17 phones ( last count....still could change) in his home.

I have made cat5 par4 home runs, ending in quite the trunk line ( also 8-UG6 cables).

I've used Leviton's smaller interfaces, but i guess i'm going to need something bigger,possibly something 'updateable'?

any suggestions welcome....

Steve (tangeled in cat5)~sparky

#12532 08/12/02 07:59 AM
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 7,520
P
Member
Better install 50-pair cable throughout the house now and get the phone co. to provide a 20-line hunt group! [Linked Image]

#12533 08/12/02 08:36 AM
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 597
E
Member
Sparky,

I like using plain old patch panels on a hinged wall mount bracket. [Linked Image from straightlinesupply.com] For 17 jacks out in the dwelling, use two 24-port panels. Terminate the jack homeruns in their own ports on one panel and then make the other patch panel up with the Telco incoming line(s). This works nicely for 1-4 plain old telephone lines, ISDN, DSL. If you add a Key Service Unit, you can cut down on the number of ports in the patch panel used for the incoming Telco. . .maybe add a third patch panel to go between the KSU and the individual jacks.

The image that I referenced above, if it doesn't link, is at StraightLine Supply Select Datacom on the Homepage and Patch Panels on the second page.

Al


Al Hildenbrand
#12534 08/12/02 10:19 AM
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 324
A
Member
Got ya beat. Rough a house last week with 22 outlets and six lines. I use the good old 66 blocks. Allows for any configuration of lines at any jack. If you need some info let me know.

#12535 08/12/02 04:44 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,389
S
sparky Offline OP
Member
hey thanks ......

ok , i've done the '66's


but not these guys here;
[Linked Image from straightlinesupply.com]

mainly because i don't have the tool ( or have had time to learn how to use it) here..
[Linked Image from straightlinesupply.com]

are there advantages either way?

(guess this thread is image challenged?)

[This message has been edited by sparky (edited 08-12-2002).]

#12536 08/12/02 06:33 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 4,042
Likes: 3
Member
Sparky,

It is probably not working because of the 'https' - That is a 'secure' server (part of a shopping cart) - look at the little padlock in the bottom right.

Bill


Bill
#12537 08/12/02 07:52 PM
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 597
E
Member
Sparky,

I think the real difference between the 66 blocks and patch panels is the user's access. 66 blocks are hard wired at the cross connect. One uses short CAT5 patch cords for the same purpose between two patch panels. With patch panel jack labelling, one can "plug and play" a network hub and other equipment.

The wall jack homeruns are punched down with the basic punch tool using a 110 bit. The setup is capable of the same flexibility as the Leviton Structured Media Center.

A big part of this is whether the client is (or thinks he is) hands on. The more likely the system is to evolve with new whiz bang hardware being brought home from CompUSA or the like, the more useful the patch panel will be.

Al


Al Hildenbrand
#12538 08/12/02 09:18 PM
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 218
S
Member
OK. I have to ask and show my ignorance at the same time. How did you guys learn to connect telco and are there any references other than seminars I can access(can't get away to attend seminars and can't afford some I have seen!!). I don't do telco but seems as though I should look into it.

#12539 08/12/02 09:21 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 914
E
Member
I personally like using structured wiring panels. They make neat looking installations and allow for plug and play. They'll cost more than 66 blocks, but allow for easier exansion and changes. Are you running 2 cat 5's to each room(one for phone, one for data)? You can make some great cash "wiring for the future".

#12540 08/13/02 12:21 AM
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 597
E
Member


Al Hildenbrand
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
timmp
timmp
Leo, IN, USA
Posts: 28
Joined: June 2004
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 5
dsk 3
Popular Topics(Views)
286,157 Are you busy
218,583 Re: Forum
204,800 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5