ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
sparky 8
Recent Posts
2017 NEC Changes
by gfretwell. 12/18/17 11:03 AM
Nec circuit protection
by Jkhayward. 12/18/17 09:56 AM
Dimmable LED 2x4 lay in fixtures
by HotLine1. 12/17/17 10:04 PM
Holiday Wishes to all!!
by sparky. 12/17/17 03:45 PM
Casino Wiring methods
by HotLine1. 12/09/17 10:44 AM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
243,100 Are you busy
179,551 Re: Forum
170,451 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 22 guests, and 9 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#122736 - 01/08/06 04:28 PM Rotten Cord  
Roger  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 1,716
N.C.
From Theelectrikid

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

Here are some pictures of the cord I mentioned a while back, the
cord that fed the two receptacles in the optional installed part of a
1973 trailer. The cord cap is marked GE, and I believe the cord is
SJ-something, but I couldn't read it, and the insulation is rubber.
This cord was just lying on the ground in the crawlspace. I snapped
the cord off where it goes through the floor, took these photos, and
threw it on the scrap pile. This was plugged into a matching Hubbell
30A 240V recept, which WAS wired to a two-pole 30 AMP breaker, just
turned off. It, and it's cable leading up to the panel, were removed
when we replaced the panel. The outlet is still there, we're just
trying to find an outdoor blank plate. I need to get pictures of the
outlet, tin snipped hole the cord went through, and how it was back
stabbed into a equally-old receptacle. In case you're wondering, those
outlets are disabled, and are waiting for blank plates.


Ian A.
Theelectrikid


Tools for Electricians:

#122737 - 01/08/06 06:33 PM Re: Rotten Cord  
renosteinke  Offline
Cat Servant
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,316
Blue Collar Country
Thanks, Ian! I've often meant to take a pic of what happens to extension cord material, when left in contact with the earth for any period of time- but I've never gotten around to it.

"Outdoor" and "direct burial" are two different things!


#122738 - 01/09/06 05:33 PM Re: Rotten Cord  
Wizzie Electric  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 69
Maple Creek, Saskatchewan, Can...
I had an old trouble light with a rubber cord and live front plug on it. One day i was going to replace the plug. When i tried to strip the wire the insulation just kept breaking off so i had to replace the cord too.

Its amazing how brittle old cords can get. was that cord brittle too it looks brittle.


Thanks.

#122739 - 01/09/06 05:40 PM Re: Rotten Cord  
Theelectrikid  Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 810
Levittown, PA
I tried to strip the cord for scapping, and I just wore gloves, no stripper. I have to edit the pictures of the receptacle, plug, and tinsnipped hole the cord passed through.

Ian A.


Is there anyone on board who knows how to fly a plane?


Member Spotlight
Posts: 165
Joined: March 2007
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.012s Queries: 14 (0.002s) Memory: 0.7613 MB (Peak: 0.8924 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-12-18 16:49:04 UTC