ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
AFDD's coming to the UK
by Texas_Ranger. 02/18/19 02:04 PM
Israel
by Texas_Ranger. 02/18/19 02:01 PM
250.104
by gfretwell. 02/16/19 01:08 PM
PurpleAir Recalls Power Supply Units
by Admin. 02/14/19 08:43 PM
Utility Company Programs
by katty81. 02/14/19 11:11 AM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (gfretwell), 10 guests, and 28 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Rotten Cord #122736
01/08/06 04:28 PM
01/08/06 04:28 PM
R
Roger  Offline OP
Member
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 1,716
N.C.
From Theelectrikid

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

Here are some pictures of the cord I mentioned a while back, the
cord that fed the two receptacles in the optional installed part of a
1973 trailer. The cord cap is marked GE, and I believe the cord is
SJ-something, but I couldn't read it, and the insulation is rubber.
This cord was just lying on the ground in the crawlspace. I snapped
the cord off where it goes through the floor, took these photos, and
threw it on the scrap pile. This was plugged into a matching Hubbell
30A 240V recept, which WAS wired to a two-pole 30 AMP breaker, just
turned off. It, and it's cable leading up to the panel, were removed
when we replaced the panel. The outlet is still there, we're just
trying to find an outdoor blank plate. I need to get pictures of the
outlet, tin snipped hole the cord went through, and how it was back
stabbed into a equally-old receptacle. In case you're wondering, those
outlets are disabled, and are waiting for blank plates.


Ian A.
Theelectrikid

Tools for Electricians:
Re: Rotten Cord #122737
01/08/06 06:33 PM
01/08/06 06:33 PM
renosteinke  Offline
Cat Servant
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,316
Blue Collar Country
Thanks, Ian! I've often meant to take a pic of what happens to extension cord material, when left in contact with the earth for any period of time- but I've never gotten around to it.

"Outdoor" and "direct burial" are two different things!

Re: Rotten Cord #122738
01/09/06 05:33 PM
01/09/06 05:33 PM
W
Wizzie Electric  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 69
Maple Creek, Saskatchewan, Can...
I had an old trouble light with a rubber cord and live front plug on it. One day i was going to replace the plug. When i tried to strip the wire the insulation just kept breaking off so i had to replace the cord too.

Its amazing how brittle old cords can get. was that cord brittle too it looks brittle.


Thanks.
Re: Rotten Cord #122739
01/09/06 05:40 PM
01/09/06 05:40 PM
Theelectrikid  Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 810
Levittown, PA
I tried to strip the cord for scapping, and I just wore gloves, no stripper. I have to edit the pictures of the receptacle, plug, and tinsnipped hole the cord passed through.

Ian A.


Is there anyone on board who knows how to fly a plane?

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Posts: 165
Joined: March 2007
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 7
Popular Topics(Views)
253,245 Are you busy
189,886 Re: Forum
179,597 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.024s Queries: 14 (0.005s) Memory: 0.9602 MB (Peak: 1.0908 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2019-02-19 07:15:18 UTC