ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
Recent Posts
VFD MotorFeeders
by gfretwell. 10/17/17 10:01 PM
What do you do?
by gfretwell. 10/17/17 01:08 AM
Good ol' copper pipe in the fuse holder trick
by HotLine1. 10/16/17 07:16 PM
Generator Cable Sizing
by HotLine1. 10/16/17 07:13 PM
Another generator question
by HotLine1. 10/16/17 07:02 PM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
241,356 Are you busy
177,305 Re: Forum
168,931 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 39 guests, and 8 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#122013 - 09/13/05 11:05 PM Wire in Air Return Duct  
Admin  Offline

Administrator
Member
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,458
NY, USA
Quote
Wire in Air Return Duct -
Or- is it the other way around? In this older building, currently being restored, the HVAC guy "made a duct" by sealing a joist bay with a sheet of metal.

In this pic, you are looking into the opening where the return air grille sets. Please note the K & T wire mounted inside this duct.

- renosteinke
[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]


Tools for Electricians:

#122014 - 09/14/05 07:05 AM Re: Wire in Air Return Duct  
IanR  Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 328
Palm Bay FL USA
Efficient utilization of space?


#122015 - 09/14/05 12:18 PM Re: Wire in Air Return Duct  
Alan Belson  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,803
Mayenne N. France
Nice figured timber. Oak?

Alan


Wood work but can't!

#122016 - 09/14/05 12:44 PM Re: Wire in Air Return Duct  
Texas_Ranger  Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,402
Vienna, Austria
Would guesss so, especially the first pic really looks like oak. Badly butchered around the hole though!


#122017 - 09/14/05 06:21 PM Re: Wire in Air Return Duct  
alan bergold  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 42
east meadow ny
I THING THIS WAS A STANDARD PRACTICE FOR HVAC BACK IN THE DAY. BUT CHOOSING A BAY WHERE KNOB+TOBE WIRING IS LOCATED IS JUST PLAIN STUPID....


JBIELECTRIC EAST MEADOW NY

#122018 - 09/14/05 08:04 PM Re: Wire in Air Return Duct  
ShockMe77  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 821
Rahway, New Jersey
Now why on earth would someone NOT USE an electrician here is beyond me. I hate when those outlets are on the molding like that cus' I know some BS wiring like this can't be too far away. I would guess the wiring was there before the duct was. Really no excuse for this kind of work.

Brutal, just brutal.

[This message has been edited by ShockMe77 (edited 09-14-2005).]


#122019 - 09/14/05 08:43 PM Re: Wire in Air Return Duct  
renosteinke  Offline
Cat Servant
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,316
Blue Collar Country
Let's get out our codebooks and see what the NEC has to say....anyone?


#122020 - 09/14/05 08:45 PM Re: Wire in Air Return Duct  
e57  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,876
S.F.,CA USA
Wiring K&T inside a plenum isn't in the Not permited section? (394.12) Its not hip in my mind, but may be allowed?

I figure the wiring came first, but who knows, it was 40-80 years ago.

As for base board mounted recepticals, I do it all the time (matching existing and new.), many prefer it.


Mark Heller
"Well - I oughta....." -Jackie Gleason

#122021 - 09/15/05 06:24 PM Re: Wire in Air Return Duct  
Lostazhell  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,431
Bakersfield, CA (Originally Or...
Speaking of the baseboard recept, My father in law has a house that was built sometime in the late 1800's (I found an "afterthought" fusible switch that was tied into somekind of K&T "loop" in the attic that was dated 1905) and the walls aren't thick (deep) enough to fit a standard depth cut in box inside, unless you place it in the baseboard were it adds some extra depth....

-Randy


#122022 - 09/15/05 08:15 PM Re: Wire in Air Return Duct  
renosteinke  Offline
Cat Servant
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,316
Blue Collar Country
300.22 discusses wiring methods permitted in ducts. K & T isn't one of the permitted methods.
That aside, this duct was certainly made after the wire was in place, and well after the building was first put up. The resulting violation is probably due to ignorance on the part of the installer.

The short version: wiring inside ducts has to be in a metal conduit of some sort, or be miner-insulated cable.

I have often seen wires pass through ducts- form side to side- but this is the first time I've seen the wires running lengthwise within the duct.

I am told, by my friends in the HVAC community, that such "made" ducts have prooven to be rather poor ducts, and that the practice of making a duct by closing off a joist bay is abvoided by better contractors. It may (I don't really know) also violate some of the newer energy codes.


Page 1 of 2 1 2

Member Spotlight
NickD
NickD
Amish Country, PA
Posts: 46
Joined: March 2013
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.016s Queries: 15 (0.002s) Memory: 0.8193 MB (Peak: 0.9936 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-10-18 09:20:40 UTC