ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Violation?
by renosteinke - 01/27/23 09:52 PM
Does NEC 551.71 (F) apply to dwellings?
by BigB - 01/20/23 10:46 AM
Power submeter connections
by HotLine1 - 01/19/23 09:09 AM
AFDD's coming to the UK
by Texas_Ranger - 01/17/23 07:22 PM
New in the Gallery:
Burger King crown sillyness
Burger King crown sillyness
by wa2ise, December 11
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 34 guests, and 18 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,672
Likes: 2
Admin Offline OP
Administrator
Member
(submitted via Joe Tedesco)
Quote
Joe, are you familiar with "test" meter sockets? This is the second one that I have come across. The basics are that the meter clips have spring loaded contacts that come forward when the meter is pulled to provide uninterrupted service to the customer. Problem as I see it is that if the utility company serviceman is not aware of the circumstances, the service continues after a meter is pulled and the socket glassed over. Could be a real surprise for an emergency response team that thought the house was deenergized. This was a three phase that looked like it only fed the air conditioning unit, but the double lugged extra wiring extended into the garage to a sub panel with breakers. No disconnecting means at the service panel for the extra wiring.

Tom Erfert (codeenforcementguy)
[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,143
D
Member
Quote
Originally posted by Tom Erfert (codeenforcementguy:

This was a three phase...

If it was a three phase, it was probably intended that the meter never serve as a D/C - we've gotten instruction about that from our PoCo at the Fire Department. You usually see this on bigger commercial/industrial services, where the service D/C is inside, in a marked dead-front panel. On these installs, the meter reads the current, but isn't the primary flow path (Inductance read?).

Recently the PoCo (or a thoughful EC) here has started labeling the meter boxes as "NO SERVICE DISCONNECT - REMOVING METER WILL NOT SHUT OFF POWER", but the labeling has been pretty sporadic.

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
I
Moderator
That would be a nasty surprise. [Linked Image]

Is it possible this type of socket is already discontinued?

Any bypass meter that I have installed works manually, you have to deliberately move a lever into bypass.


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 697
D
Member
One more reason to test for power even though it appears to be disconnected.

Dave

Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 29
C
Member
I like that Idea of marking the panels that have the test sockets, but agree that it is a big case for always testing for voltage. The first one that I ran across was on an older commerical structure that came into question when no one knew who was paying the utility bill. The business owner rented from the city and said they were, the city PoCo said that the business was, turned out that the utility company was by default.

Make that all user's by default because I am sure the cost was passed on in some form or another.

ERFERTT > codeenforcmentguy

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,527
B
Moderator
Out West, EUSERC-style 125-320A manual test-bypass meter sockets are fairly large, but have embossed (paint-proof) notice: “Do not break seal—No fuses inside.”


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *
2023 National Electrical Code (NEC)
2023 NEC Now Available!
 
* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Tom
Tom
Shinnston, WV USA
Posts: 1,044
Joined: January 2001
Top Posters(30 Days)
BigB 4
triple 3
Popular Topics(Views)
302,839 Are you busy
232,019 Re: Forum
216,749 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5