ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
What does your work place look like?
by Trumpy - 12/02/20 03:42 AM
Where is Everyone?
by gfretwell - 11/30/20 04:12 PM
Happy Thanksgiving
by gfretwell - 11/30/20 04:04 PM
From an outsider- How does tipping work?
by gfretwell - 11/30/20 04:00 PM
Ground fault remover :-)
by dsk - 11/30/20 03:51 AM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (Trumpy), 17 guests, and 15 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
200A Breaker Conversion #117898 07/15/04 10:54 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,632
Admin Offline OP
Administrator
Member
Quote
Got a service call for an outside outlet not working... Customer shows me where it is (in a retaining wall, about 5 feet from a lake!, no gfi) Hotstick shows juice, but the wiggy doesnt...

I go to the panel & find this lovely piece of work.. Customer said his 100A main kept tripping so he called his "handyman" buddy. Turned off the lakefront outlet & opened it up....

-Randy
[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

Tools for Electricians:
Re: 200A Breaker Conversion #117899 07/16/04 12:59 AM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 939
F
frenchelectrican Offline
Member
aww jezz randy where did that handyman end up got ahold of 200 amp breaker ?? yanked off from other 200 amp ite box ?? and i look at the busbar it sure don't look hevey engouh to handle 200 amp load at all.. i am sure it will catch on fire one of the day and btw how did that stupid handyman make " double connection " for 4 pole breaker set up with out blowing it apart ?? [Linked Image]


merci , marc


Pas de problme,il marche n'est-ce pas?"(No problem, it works doesn't it?)

Re: 200A Breaker Conversion #117900 07/16/04 08:18 AM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 73
R
Ralpha494 Offline
Member
In the third picture, is the third wire from the left (on the 200a. breaker) flipping off the handyman as a last act of defiance?

Re: 200A Breaker Conversion #117901 07/16/04 01:55 PM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 22
M
MattE Offline
Member
Whoever installed that 200A breaker also did a poor job striping those wires... he cut through some of the strands. [Linked Image]

Re: 200A Breaker Conversion #117902 07/16/04 02:18 PM
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,286
electure Offline
Member
Is this double lugged on the meter?
What kind of a gizmo is this C/B?
I don't recall seeing them with 4 line lugs before.
It looks like the original installer did a neat job on the service (#s and all), but that main breaker setup looks really stupid. Gotta love the 2/0 X #4 reducing strip job. I can't help but LMAO [Linked Image] [Linked Image]

Re: 200A Breaker Conversion #117903 07/16/04 03:06 PM
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 597
E
ElectricAL Offline
Member
Scott,

That "4 pole" breaker comes from a commodity 120/240 Volt 200 Amp single phase residential load center. There are a lot of these installed. The 4 pole breaker lug side, in the factory assembly, is connected to the load center breaker buss bars. The other side of the breaker pressed onto a small bus that connected to a 250 Kcmil lug, two lugs, one on the left half and one on the right half of the breaker.

The creativity of this handyman for applying this breaker in this manner impresses me, but what takes my breath away is the profound lack of appreciation for resistive heating, and the obvious disregard for whether the breaker will be able to work at all when hooked up like a standard double pole. The handyman set up each half of the breaker to have 240V across it, while, as originally manufactured, it would be connected to the same buss.

Al


Al Hildenbrand
Re: 200A Breaker Conversion #117904 07/17/04 10:04 AM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 681
P
PCBelarge Offline
Member
If the picture shows the panel as it is actually oriented, than the top row of breakers is a violation of 240.81 [Linked Image]

Pierre


Pierre Belarge
Re: 200A Breaker Conversion #117905 07/17/04 10:41 AM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,436
Lostazhell Offline
Member
Alright Pierre, now ya got me thinking... Was the bus assembly frankensteined just like the breaker?!?!!
Scott, I'm assuming the meter is double lugged... Meter was locked, so I couldnt get in to look... The quad 200A breaker is from a Murray 200A panel... I wasn't sure if to laugh or cry at this! [Linked Image]

I'm really not sure about this breaker working properly... As Al pointed out, this is usually connected with the same phase using each end, not alternating.. I'm curious if this affects the internal common trip at all?

-Randy

Re: 200A Breaker Conversion #117906 07/17/04 11:28 AM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,632
Admin Offline OP
Administrator
Member
Quote
This is what the 200 Amp breaker looks like when installed by the factory. It is suitable for use as a service disconnect in the factory assembly.

Respectfully,
Al
[Linked Image]

Re: 200A Breaker Conversion #117907 07/19/04 01:50 AM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,436
Lostazhell Offline
Member
Just curious... Would the 200A breaker installation be qualification for the coveted "Darwin Award"? [Linked Image]

-Randy


Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
The_Lightman
The_Lightman
Orlando, Fl, USA
Posts: 49
Joined: August 2001
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 17
Popular Topics(Views)
272,182 Are you busy
206,067 Re: Forum
194,076 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3