ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
GFCI's pops in large numbers
by dsk - 09/26/22 04:35 AM
AFCI’s Revisited
by sparky - 09/24/22 09:58 AM
NFPA Price Increase Coming
by Bill Addiss - 09/23/22 02:22 PM
Siemens breakers
by gfretwell - 09/23/22 01:45 PM
What do you look like?II
by HotLine1 - 09/22/22 12:33 PM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 29 guests, and 17 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,671
Likes: 2
Admin Offline OP
Administrator
Member
Quote
Got a call from a landlord about a smoking outlet in a rental house.. I went to the house & the tenant said she'd had a handyman 'take care of it" I told her the landlord wants me to check the repairs & below is what I found... The tenant said he "sprayed" this on!

The other is the weather-beaten fuse box, full of 30A fuses, there's a marking on the fuse block stating 15A Per Circuit, would this be part of the listing? [Linked Image] Tenant was'nt happy about the type S adapters I stuck in here w/15A fuses.. But it's only temporary until the landlords loan comes through & we do a full rewire & panel.. Gotta love the triflex drop attached to the plumbing vent! [Linked Image]

-Randy
[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 123
M
Member
Maybe the handyman ran the OH like that to keep the pipe from frezing.

LOL--geuss maybe that doesn't happen too often in LA

Dave

Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 391
B
Member
I think I'd use a couple pieces of heat-shrink before I'd use Liquid Tape as the only insulation on a conductor.

In the fourth picture: Is that a 240 volt receptacle sitting there exposed to the weather like that?

-John

Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 681
P
Member
Did you notice that the NM cable equipment ground conductor is not bonded to the handy box?
How does one go about legitimately repairing this? The handy box has too many conductors. Do you replace the box?

At least they have cut the grass well [Linked Image]

Pierre


Pierre Belarge
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,438
Member
John,
Thats a NEMA 6-20 Recept.. open for the elements! [Linked Image] There was a NEMA 1-15 around the corner with just a plastic faceplate..
Pierre,
Not only is the NM ground not bonded to the box, it wasn't bonded to ground either! [Linked Image] I read 119V hot to neutral, 8V hot to ground!
Legitimate repair is gonna happen when we rewire.. I tend to use the extra deep NM boxes just being on the safe side [Linked Image] .. BTW, this was a kitchen counter outlet.. How should I shove a GFI in here!?!! (At least then I can put the "no equiptment ground
stickers in place! [Linked Image]

-Randy

Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,143
D
Member
My super @ my last job showed me the "miracle" of "deep" 1900's (2" instead of 1 1/4")

Add a 5/8" plaster ring and there's enough room for dimmers or GFCI's, without requiring the old "gentle cramming motion" to seat the fixture in the box [Linked Image] .


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Trumpy
Trumpy
SI,New Zealand
Posts: 8,423
Joined: July 2002
Top Posters(30 Days)
dsk 3
Popular Topics(Views)
297,454 Are you busy
228,288 Re: Forum
213,183 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5