ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
High current GFI vs regular GFCI
by HotLine1. 11/15/18 02:32 PM
This anti-theist is priceless!!!
by djk. 11/14/18 07:19 AM
Single phase and what you call it.
by dsk. 11/12/18 11:10 AM
220/230/240V 60Hz Systems
by Albert. 11/07/18 12:48 AM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 12 guests, and 30 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
correct size of buss fuses? #11523
07/15/02 11:02 AM
07/15/02 11:02 AM
D
danb1  Offline OP
Junior Member
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 5
cincinnati, ohio, usa
I was going to do some electric work for a relative, it is a 2 family home. I was checking the system, it is a main disconnect that has two 150 amp buss fuses in it. The main disc is rated at 200 amps. the 2 breaker boxes are 75 amps each. The service entrance cable is 2/0. Shouldn't there be only 2 75amp fuses in that box?. Also this is an old Wadsworth system, with a lot of subpanels that have been added over the years. What I am eventually going to do is replace the whole system with 200amps coming in, & 2 100 amp breaker panels.

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: correct size of buss fuses? #11524
07/16/02 08:08 AM
07/16/02 08:08 AM
B
blackhat  Offline
Junior Member
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4
danbury, texas, u.s.
you could cal. load of each aptment. put breaker panal for each one, gutter feed both panal(Less than 6 disconnet)if both have main breaker's

Re: correct size of buss fuses? #11525
07/17/02 10:00 AM
07/17/02 10:00 AM
D
danb1  Offline OP
Junior Member
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 5
cincinnati, ohio, usa
no answers on this? The reason I'm asking is one lineman told me that there should only be 2 75 amp fuses in that main. I was told by another one that is incorrect, there is up to 150 amps available on each leg. So who is correct? I havn't worked with this old stuff in awile, but I thought that the 2 150 amp buss fuses was correct.

Re: correct size of buss fuses? #11526
07/17/02 11:59 AM
07/17/02 11:59 AM
E
ElectricAL  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 597
Minneapolis, MN USA
Danb1,

A little caution when approaching this task will pay off well in the future.

1. Verify what permits are required and pull them. The jurisdiction that the "2 family home" is in may require an electrical contractor, that is locally licensed, bonded and insured, be the only entity to do the work. This is a local legal concern.

2. If you can pull your own permit to do the work, hire a local master electrician to come to the 2 family home and evaluate the system. An old system, such as you describe, is not a simple thing to upgrade. Be prepared to take a lot of notes because the amount of information that is involved with the common "old ******** system with a lot of subpanels" is large.

3. Set up the relationship with the local master electrician that visits the 2 family home so that you can follow up with additional questions.

4. You will almost certainly have to pay for this electrical consulting, but the pay off is that a future disaster is far less likely to occur. It is very cheap insurance.

Respectfully,

Al


Al Hildenbrand
Re: correct size of buss fuses? #11527
07/17/02 01:56 PM
07/17/02 01:56 PM
D
danb1  Offline OP
Junior Member
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 5
cincinnati, ohio, usa
thanks for the advice, I will check into the codes if I am allowed to do this myself, I do know some licenced electricians that will be willing to give advice. Learned a lot from them. My relative wants to hold off for awile anyway, after I gave her the price for the new breaker boxes, meter bases & everything else. I have some problems with just moving the meters outside. On the wall that they would go on, there is a cable line & telephone line that might be in the way or too close to where the meter base has to go. I have to check with the utilty to see where it can be set at. The biggest problem, & a safety hazard is that there is a downspout between the insulator & weatherhead. The service entrance cable runs up along the side of the downspout, & the wires are wrapped around the outside of downspout to the wires attached to the insulator, & those wires are up against the downspout. Someone put in a new service entrance cable a few years ago, & it passed inspection!

Re: correct size of buss fuses? #11528
07/17/02 09:10 PM
07/17/02 09:10 PM
E
Electric Eagle  Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 914
Alpharetta, GA
Hello, to answer your original question, if your main service ent. cable is 2/0, then the main breakers/fuses can be up to 150 amp each. It is common for the panel itself to have a rating higher than the main disconnect, contractors often use the highr rated panel to have additional space(circuits and working clearance) in the panel. a service change is a large project and I would warn you against trying a complete service change yourself if you aren't an experienced electrician, but that's JMHO.

[This message has been edited by Electric Eagle (edited 07-17-2002).]


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
JoeKP
JoeKP
Berkley, MA
Posts: 144
Joined: March 2008
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 8
Popular Topics(Views)
251,498 Are you busy
188,680 Re: Forum
178,382 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.018s Queries: 14 (0.004s) Memory: 0.9777 MB (Peak: 1.1179 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-11-16 05:41:22 UTC