ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Mini Split voltage
by Garemaret - 06/21/24 04:53 AM
Strobing LEDs
by Anovalight - 06/20/24 03:16 AM
Stuff that happens after we leave
by HotLine1 - 06/17/24 03:53 PM
photocell requirement for metal halide ballasts
by gfretwell - 06/17/24 01:44 PM
Commercial lift stations
by triple - 06/09/24 05:23 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 174 guests, and 13 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#11385 07/11/02 04:26 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 257
M
Member
Other than calling the HVAC contractor for a cut sheet, is there a way to calculate breaker sizes and wire sizes for HVAC units such as roof top units?

Example: 20 ton RTU 480V 3 Phase
(Gas heat)

What should the breaker size be and what should the wire size be? Also, what will the running amps be? (I do realize that it may vary slightly from brand to brand.)

#11386 07/11/02 07:40 PM
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 717
G
Member
M-66,
Don't do it. There are a dozen calcs you can use, none of which will match the nameplate. The only time I'd feel comfortable with this is if their package stores, or something similar, and they use the same thing over and over.

OR.......you could run parallel 500s over to it......that oughta do it. [Linked Image]

Now ya gotta decide to use fuses, or take a chance it'll accept an hacr breaker, ah go ahead and use fuses, their always accepted.

#11387 07/11/02 10:03 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 257
M
Member
I know that this is going to sound wierd but, I don't like to see fuses on 3-Phase units for fear of "single-phasing"

As for the 500's, aluminum or copper? [Linked Image]


Link Copied to Clipboard
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5