ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Explored: Basics of PLC
by niamishra. 10/19/18 04:44 AM
Linear Power Supply Quits Under Load
by JoeTestingEngr. 10/18/18 08:47 PM
220/230/240V 60Hz Systems
by dsk. 10/17/18 01:25 PM
PLC/HMI Enclosure C2, D1
by ghost307. 10/16/18 03:31 PM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 12 guests, and 22 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
No Conduit! #111596
01/08/07 12:27 PM
01/08/07 12:27 PM
Admin  Offline
OP
Administrator
Member
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,517
NY, USA
Quote
I think ya’ll have corrupted me! I saw this while picking up Mom’s new dishwasher. I didn’t have my camera, so I made a second trip to get some shots!

- JohnJ0906
[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: No Conduit! #111597
01/08/07 01:15 PM
01/08/07 01:15 PM
C
cschow  Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 41
Boise, ID, USA
Is this near the coast or a high humidity region? Quite a lot of rust there. Almost looks like black gas pipe.

What does it feed?

Re: No Conduit! #111598
01/08/07 01:59 PM
01/08/07 01:59 PM
H
Hemingray  Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 199
Lehigh Acres, FL
From the looks of it, that security camera off to the right.


Cliff
Re: No Conduit! #111599
01/08/07 02:22 PM
01/08/07 02:22 PM
C
cschow  Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 41
Boise, ID, USA
Now that you mentioned it, those other wires acting as a strain-relief look like they would be a video feed. I can't tell if they come out of the top of the box or run behind it.

Re: No Conduit! #111600
01/08/07 05:24 PM
01/08/07 05:24 PM
J
JohnJ0906  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 65
Baltimore MD USA
I didn't see those wires anywhere besides the top of the box, so I don't think they were tucked behind the conduit. This building is over 30 years old, so this could very well be that old, and Maryland is a high humidity region duing the summer.

Re: No Conduit! #111601
01/08/07 08:40 PM
01/08/07 08:40 PM
H
Hemingray  Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 199
Lehigh Acres, FL
I believe that those wires are indeed for the camera. Seeing as how it's a dome camera, one of the cables delivers the video signal back to the security office, and the other handles camera movement (rotation, etc).


Cliff
Re: No Conduit! #111602
01/08/07 10:34 PM
01/08/07 10:34 PM
E
EV607797  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 745
Fredericksburg, VA, USA
Not that it's correctly-done, but I agree that the gray and black wires look like camera wiring. Of course, the fact that an orange extension cord is connected like that, with no in-use cover, in an area with heavy sunlight is the bigger issue.

I'll bet that is a cheapo import extension cord (most colored ones are). There's probably 50 feet of it coiled up on the roof, sitting in puddles, exposed to maximum UV and probably sun bleached/cracked all over it's length by now. I am also confident that the receptacle isn't GFI protected, I mean this installation would have to be plagued with nuisance tripping if it was.

I am sure that their excuse for this will be one of the following:

"Yes, we know. It hasn't been approved to be done correctly until our next budget comes around";

"The guy who did it said he would come back to do it right but never did";

"The maintenance department is working on it";

"Maintenance says that they are waiting for special-order parts";

"It's so high up, nobody can get shocked from it way up there";

"What's wrong with it? It is a grounded extension cord".

[This message has been edited by EV607797 (edited 01-08-2007).]


---Ed---

"But the guy at Home Depot said it would work."
Re: No Conduit! #111603
01/09/07 06:46 AM
01/09/07 06:46 AM
J
JohnJ0906  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 65
Baltimore MD USA
It is possible that it is camera wires. What grabbed my attention at first was the cord that looked as if it had been there for years. Its a little hard to see clearly from the ground, its about 25' up, behind a fence. As a matter of fact, I would have SWORN I saw a green wrapped up in that jumble, until I took the photo and blew it up some

Re: No Conduit! #111604
01/09/07 02:05 PM
01/09/07 02:05 PM
C
cschow  Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 41
Boise, ID, USA
Not that it's correctly-done, but I agree that the gray and black wires look like camera wiring. Of course, the fact that an orange extension cord is connected like that, with no in-use cover, in an area with heavy sunlight is the bigger issue.
I'll bet that is a cheapo import extension cord (most colored ones are). There's probably 50 feet of it coiled up on the roof, sitting in puddles, exposed to maximum UV and probably sun bleached/cracked all over it's length by now. I am also confident that the receptacle isn't GFI protected, I mean this installation would have to be plagued with nuisance tripping if it was.

I am sure that their excuse for this will be one of the following:

"Yes, we know. It hasn't been approved to be done correctly until our next budget comes around";

"The guy who did it said he would come back to do it right but never did";

"The maintenance department is working on it";

"Maintenance says that they are waiting for special-order parts";

"It's so high up, nobody can get shocked from it way up there";

"What's wrong with it? It is a grounded extension cord".

[This message has been edited by EV607797 (edited 01-08-2007).]


The one I hear all time that wasn't mentioned

"But sir, it's only temporary"


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
mersadrad
mersadrad
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 28
Joined: March 2011
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
sparky 11
Popular Topics(Views)
250,438 Are you busy
188,037 Re: Forum
177,624 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.027s Queries: 15 (0.003s) Memory: 1.0032 MB (Peak: 1.1724 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-10-19 17:45:55 UTC