ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
It's been an interesting career
by Fridayrack - 12/07/21 01:30 AM
From an outsider- How does tipping work?
by gfretwell - 12/06/21 06:37 PM
Photo Editing Software?
by Fridayrack - 12/03/21 05:05 AM
Square D "All-In-One" Panelboard
by NORCAL - 11/30/21 12:48 PM
Where is Everyone?
by luckyshadow - 11/21/21 10:14 AM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 15 guests, and 14 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,316
Cat Servant
Member
Chad Fabry, a home inspector, came across this darling:

[Linked Image]


Now, I wonder ... with electricity flowing "out" one half of the breaker, and "in" the other, is the electromagnetic part of the breaker made inoperable?

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 152
A
Member
What a gem! Depending on the slot you used for each SP breaker you could get 0 or 120V and for each DP breaker you could get 120 or 240V (to neutral), really great piece of work - love how the L1 and L2 lines are beautifully numbered, then hacked into a 3-ph panel.

Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 272
L
Member
So this wasn't existing was it? Seems that there would be a definite balancing issue for the neutral conductors on most, if not all mwbc's. Another good example of someone knowing just enough to be dangerous.

Luke


Luke Clarke
Electrical Planner for TVA.

Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 65
J
Member
Is that rust on the neutral lug? (top right corner)

Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 791
W
Member
Seems that if someone was to backfeed the 100 amp breakers as a main, they could have just tied the 3rd bus lug to 2nd bus lug. (Far as I can see, there's nothing on the bus lugs). Or just take the sltrsfy live output of the 70 amp breaker and loop that up to the 3rd bus lug. Would that make it a sub-panel imbedded in the main panel? [Linked Image] Not that that matters, this all violates code....

Joined: Sep 2002
Posts: 914
Likes: 1
N
Member
Only one close to that is one I worked on where they had fed a 3 phase panel from a single phase tranformer and jumpering from center lug to right hand lug whole thing was a blooming mess.Another comment, seeing that is a I-T-E panel was jumper still in place on the split neutral? I am assuming its a sub not a main panel, otherwise grounding and grounded are bonded.

Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,273
T
Member
The installer missed the obvious jumper location: at the bus lugs at the top, still unused.

Our man has jumpered A and C phases ( Black and Blue )

Putting '#2' at position #3 is too cute.

Said jumpering will not produce any single pole breaker with a voltage of 0. All will show full voltage.

Double pole breakers will only show 0 volts when tapping Black and Blue. Red/Blue and Black/Red combinations will deliver full voltage.

Such a set-up makes one think that the panel was boosted from a commercial job way back when. The price difference would always stop a legitimate player from wasting a three phase panel so.

Alternately, it's a second hand panel rigged up by a tradesman. Still, a waste of value.


Tesla
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 745
M
Member
Though this is certainly among the least of the problems here, isn't that 100a "main" breaker supposed to be fitted with some type of retaining screw if it is to be backfed like that (in any kind of panel)?

In one case, I saw a three phase panel being fed by a single phase service. The "C" buss was not being used at all - the breakers were located only on "A" and "B". Still not right, but at least someone was thinking about the neutral balancing issue. regrettably, the cover had long since disappeared, so it was all too easy to view the interior [Linked Image].

Mike (mamills)

[This message has been edited by mamills (edited 01-05-2007).]

Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 54
T
Member
A couple of years ago I was house hunting and saw one just like this, 3ph panel on a single phase service. They just didn't have any breakers in place on C phase.......
If one panel wasn't bad enough, there was a 3ph subpanel in the utility room........

Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 288
Y
Member
I found (and corrected) one of these in an old warehouse, where an existing 240V delta had been rewired for 120/240.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
SafetyWired
SafetyWired
Pa, USA
Posts: 44
Joined: July 2013
Top Posters(30 Days)
NORCAL 1
Popular Topics(Views)
286,628 Are you busy
219,101 Re: Forum
205,193 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5