ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
FPE in Germany
by NORCAL - 10/16/19 08:24 AM
Help with aging employee advice.
by Bill Addiss - 10/15/19 10:58 PM
Fuse blower plug?
by gfretwell - 10/13/19 03:23 PM
Power factor and transformer efficiency
by TeslaEdison - 10/13/19 04:05 AM
Permit Snafus...AHJs and Contractors Jump in
by HotLine1 - 10/10/19 07:35 AM
New in the Gallery:
FPE Breaker panel in germany
What is this for?
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 1 guest and 10 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Open cabinet with exposed wires #105717 07/01/05 09:38 AM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 2,749
Joe Tedesco Offline OP
Member
Would you have a problem if the electrician made a blank cover that was the same thickness as this cabinet, and used it as a junction box?

This once enclosed a panelboard.

[Linked Image]


Joe Tedesco, NEC Consultant
2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: Open cabinet with exposed wires #105718 07/01/05 12:15 PM
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 134
R
RSmike Offline
Member
I'd be fine with a field constructed cover provided it was done in a neat manner. The cover and 'reuse' of the box might not meet the code in that it wouldn't be the OEM cover or it's intended use but IMO it would meet the intent. The wires would be protected. Really what's the diffenence between using this box and buying something new. What would be the improvement?

I'm assuming this person would clean up the mess, add some support for the bird's nest entering the box, and perhaps label some stuff.

If it was mine I'd clean it up and put a nice new cover on it with labels, etc. It's not nice and new but it's still functional.

Bring it on....

RSlater,
RSmike



[This message has been edited by RSmike (edited 07-01-2005).]

Re: Open cabinet with exposed wires #105719 07/01/05 03:01 PM
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 177
J
John Crighton Offline
Member
I wouldn't have a problem with a fabricated steel cover having adequate corrosion protection.

I might have a problem with the way the box is supported. There are some cables running behind it, so maybe it's not flat against or mounted to the wall (or whatever that is).

I'd want that top-center KO closed out.

And I'd take a real close look at one of the cables at the bottom, second out from the big EMT. There's something weird about it, almost like a short piece of new armor was spliced on for a little more length.

Then I'd wonder how a romex and BX are getting in through the same twin connector at the top right.

After all of which, the EC and I would have a chat about cable support.

But the cover? Ok with me.

Re: Open cabinet with exposed wires #105720 07/01/05 03:38 PM
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 788
W
wa2ise Offline
Member
Would it be better to use a "super" neutral wire of sufficient gauge than all the separate neutrals? You'd need a terminal bar insulated from the box to land all the neutrals to connect to the superneutral. But if there are circuits from both sides of the 110/220 line in there (likely if it was a panel) currents from one side would get shared at the bar in this box instead of having to travel to the new circuit breaker panel serving this box on one neutral and back again on another neutral wire. Less heat and wire in the big conduit that I presume is feeding to the main panel.

Re: Open cabinet with exposed wires #105721 07/01/05 11:14 PM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,316
renosteinke Offline
Cat Servant
Member
I avoid "super neutral" wires- for the simple reason that you are creating a place where a loose wire would result in the connected circuits receiving 220 volts. Sure, the code allows it, but I prefer to "join" neutrals only at the panel.

Re: Open cabinet with exposed wires #105722 07/03/05 11:22 AM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 2,749
Joe Tedesco Offline OP
Member
The cover?


Joe Tedesco, NEC Consultant
Re: Open cabinet with exposed wires #105723 07/03/05 06:23 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
I
iwire Offline
Moderator
What about the cover?

Make one out of metal and move on.

Quote
II. Construction Specifications
312.10 Material.
Cabinets, cutout boxes, and meter socket enclosures shall comply with 312.10(A) through (C).

(A) Metal Cabinets and Cutout Boxes. Metal enclosures within the scope of this article shall be protected both inside and outside against corrosion.
FPN:For information on protection against corrosion, see 300.6.

(B) Strength. The design and construction of enclosures within the scope of this article shall be such as to secure ample strength and rigidity. If constructed of sheet steel, the metal thickness shall not be less than 1.35 mm (0.053 in.) uncoated.


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts
Re: Open cabinet with exposed wires #105724 07/03/05 09:14 PM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 123
M
mvpmaintman Offline
Member
Shouldn't the entire box be replaced with a listed enclosure and matching cover?

Re: Open cabinet with exposed wires #105725 07/04/05 07:57 AM
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,457
E
Electricmanscott Offline
Member
What would a "Listed Enclosure" provide that this does not. More money for someone sure but what else. If I never hear listing violation again it will be too soon. Seems to be the hot catchphrase these days.

Re: Open cabinet with exposed wires #105726 07/04/05 09:55 AM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 123
M
mvpmaintman Offline
Member
where do you stop/start cutting corners?

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
NickD
NickD
Amish Country, PA
Posts: 46
Joined: March 2013
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
sparky 10
Popular Topics(Views)
259,560 Are you busy
194,963 Re: Forum
184,384 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3