ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
New tool
by gfretwell - 10/24/20 11:09 AM
Where is Everyone?
by Bill Addiss - 10/17/20 07:04 PM
Beyond Belief
by gfretwell - 09/27/20 12:03 AM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 14 guests, and 10 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Was this encasement really necessary? #105207 07/12/04 06:03 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 2,749
Joe Tedesco Offline OP
Member
Was this encasement really necessary?

[Linked Image]


Joe Tedesco, NEC Consultant
2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: Was this encasement really necessary? #105208 07/12/04 06:16 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
I
iwire Offline
Moderator
IMO overkill for this short distance, but given the wording of the NEC I believe the inspector can require this.

I have done this to get about 40' to 60' inside of buildings.

Bob

FWIW I hope there are some dowels into the foundation to carry the weight of this. [Linked Image]


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts
Re: Was this encasement really necessary? #105209 07/12/04 08:24 PM
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,283
electure Offline
Member
Does this make it "outside the building"?

Re: Was this encasement really necessary? #105210 07/12/04 08:56 PM
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 269
E
electricman2 Offline
Member
Looks like it meets 230.6(2)from here. Cant tell if it is 2" all the way around though.


John
Re: Was this encasement really necessary? #105211 07/12/04 10:34 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 681
P
PCBelarge Offline
Member
Picture a 15 inch soffit overhang for the roof of a house. Now picture the RMC raceway for a mast run up the side of the house and throught the soffit and in the void up through the roof. There was about 15 inches of RMC in the space. The inspector made the contractor incase that portion in 2 inches of concrete, as he said it was inside the house....HMMMM

Pierre


Pierre Belarge
Re: Was this encasement really necessary? #105212 07/12/04 11:40 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,876
E
e57 Offline
Member
Now picture this... A guy shows up to do demo for a remodel. Sees a 6"X6" concrete column (somewhere outside of this panel room) and thinks to himself... Well it's non-structural, what's it for... Jackhammer, or Diamond saw? Boom!

If it were just the conduit, they would call an Electrician, right?

Just so happens, I had to call the Inspector for 230.70A today, we get a different answer everytime! Today, they said they'll get back to me... I have a job where we'll need to go 38' into the building.


Mark Heller
"Well - I oughta....." -Jackie Gleason
Re: Was this encasement really necessary? #105213 07/13/04 06:16 PM
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,457
E
Electricmanscott Offline
Member
The picture also seems to me to be overkill. Is this the only portion in the building? Is the other side of that wall outdoors or another part of the building that the pipe goes through?
E57 I don't see how there could even be a question for 38' inside the building.

Re: Was this encasement really necessary? #105214 07/14/04 02:35 AM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,876
E
e57 Offline
Member
No other place to enter building, no other place for service, 38' to get there... (22' back 16' down, all service drops)

Cusomer is building the Taj Mahal, no kidding turrets and onion domes. Boss wants exposed, customer is taking a hissy fit about a 2" pipe running all over his palace. We'll let the inspector make the call...

230.70A is left pretty much up to the inspector.

Personal thought its that it needs to be clarified!

In the past they've OK'ed it! Sometimes they don't... I'm still pushing for under-ground from the pole. But PG&E takes about 18 months to connect! The Inspector hasn't called me back yet. Let you know what he says...

[This message has been edited by e57 (edited 07-14-2004).]


Mark Heller
"Well - I oughta....." -Jackie Gleason
Re: Was this encasement really necessary? #105215 07/14/04 04:51 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
I
iwire Offline
Moderator
E, I can not imagine going 38' into the building without encasement. There is no chance that would be allowed here.

As far as demo guys cutting into it that can always be a problem.

I had to help repair a 4" conduit that was cut by a concrete saw, it was one of eight sets of 600 kcmils that feed a 3000 amp 480 switch gear.

The operator of the saw was OK but it knocked out a neighborhood.


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts
Re: Was this encasement really necessary? #105216 07/14/04 11:41 AM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 625
S
SolarPowered Offline
Member
Dumb question from someone not privy to the sausage-making, err, code-making process: What's the point of the encasement? I can't see how RMC by itself would be measurably less safe than RMC encased in concrete. In theory, sure, anything in 2" of concrete is more protected than the same thing without the concrete. But, in practice, RMC is practically indestructible, absent a structural collapse or vehicle impact.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
sparky66wv
sparky66wv
West Virginia
Posts: 2,236
Joined: November 2000
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
BigB 2
Popular Topics(Views)
270,999 Are you busy
205,003 Re: Forum
193,121 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3