ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 254 guests, and 17 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#102854 02/04/07 10:31 AM
N
NSTRUCT Offline OP
Hi,

I am an electrician from London, GB with 20 years experience and hope to get my trade recognised in Canada over the next 12 months, I plan to try and obtain work and move my family to BC.

Can anyone out there give me some feed back regarding the actual written test-

Is it a closed book test, or can you take the electrical rule book in for reference?

How many questions are there to answer?

Are they written or multi-choice ?

What is the pass mark?

Where are the test centres located?

Any other facts about the test would also be useful

Thanks

#102855 02/04/07 02:59 PM

#102856 02/04/07 03:52 PM
R
When I wrote my interprovicial it was in Nova Scotia so this is info I have from there. I think the pass was 80%.

-You were allowed to use the Canadian Electrical Code (CEC)which they supplied you at the exam.

-Bring your own calculator, (regular scientific one), no types that you can write a book in.

-Exam was 3 hours in length and had 110 questions.

-All questions were multiple choice.

-With the exam they gave you a drawings booklet, they asked certain questions about the supplied drawings on the exam.

This is what the breakdown was when I wrote

- 33% Basic Trade Practices