ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
MRI LED lights dimmer control replacement - wow!
by Potseal. 01/19/18 08:52 PM
VDE 0100 to introduce AFCIs
by sparky. 01/19/18 08:03 PM
Video: Inventor of the GFCI self-testing shocks
by Bill Addiss. 01/17/18 11:11 PM
FPE in Germany
by HotLine1. 01/17/18 07:07 PM
Fujifilm Recalls Power Adapter Wall Plugs
by Admin. 01/16/18 07:04 PM
New in the Gallery:
Housebilding DIY wiring
SE cable question
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 16 guests, and 13 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Rewire Knob and tube #102822
01/01/07 07:32 PM
01/01/07 07:32 PM
R
RobbieD  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 231
Canada
Hi, this is a question for guys in Ontario. I just moved to Ontario this year from out east so I am a bit unsure on the answer.

My brother just bought an older house that has 4 circuits that are still knob and tube. He wants to get a homeowners permit to change these circuits to loomex. I would of course help him with this since I am an electrician and he is my brother.

Since there will be no messing with the service, could he just change the circuits that are knob to loomex and thats it?

or

Would he have to rewire to make the whole house up to todays standards? ie.arc faults, smoke detectors, splits.

Also, is it a requirement to use the coloured loomex for identifying the circuits here in Ontario?

I ask because in NS if you change the service you have to bring the whole house up to standard. But here there is no messing with the service so I thought I would check.
Thanks!

[This message has been edited by RobbieD (edited 01-01-2007).]

Tools for Electricians:
Re: Rewire Knob and tube #102823
01/02/07 12:12 AM
01/02/07 12:12 AM
B
BuildingHomes  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 18
Burlington, Ontario, CANADA
How did he get a reasonable insurance rate for a house that had K&T wiring?


You can ask the ESA directly for your questions:
www.esasafe.com

Re: Rewire Knob and tube #102824
01/02/07 10:41 AM
01/02/07 10:41 AM
B
barf  Offline
Junior Member
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 8
nys
The NFPA has information for aging wiring.

Re: Rewire Knob and tube #102825
01/02/07 03:44 PM
01/02/07 03:44 PM
J
jdevlin  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 402
welland ontario canada
You do not have use the color coded cable.
If start rewiring a room then you must bring the room up to code with the proper number and placement of receptacles, AFCI, GFCI etc.

Re: Rewire Knob and tube #102826
01/02/07 05:00 PM
01/02/07 05:00 PM
R
RobbieD  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 231
Canada
Thanks. I know I could ask ESA but I figured I would use the forum. Doesn't seem to be much action on the Canadian section here so I posted a question to get things going.


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
HCE727
HCE727
Delaware County, PA, USA
Posts: 186
Joined: November 2005
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 20
sparky 15
Potseal 15
Popular Topics(Views)
243,566 Are you busy
180,366 Re: Forum
170,844 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.015s Queries: 14 (0.004s) Memory: 0.9668 MB (Peak: 1.1009 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-01-20 18:43:49 UTC