ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
May I backfeed 3 phase transformer?
by dsk - 10/22/21 04:37 AM
Wire sizing
by gfretwell - 10/21/21 10:12 PM
GFCI's pops in large numbers
by dsk - 10/21/21 02:03 AM
Need some info on Japanese outlets, 200V 15A
by andey - 10/20/21 08:05 AM
nec 110.3 (B)
by watersparkfalls - 10/19/21 07:09 AM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 15 guests, and 16 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#102822 01/01/07 08:32 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 231
R
RobbieD Offline OP
Member
Hi, this is a question for guys in Ontario. I just moved to Ontario this year from out east so I am a bit unsure on the answer.

My brother just bought an older house that has 4 circuits that are still knob and tube. He wants to get a homeowners permit to change these circuits to loomex. I would of course help him with this since I am an electrician and he is my brother.

Since there will be no messing with the service, could he just change the circuits that are knob to loomex and thats it?

or

Would he have to rewire to make the whole house up to todays standards? ie.arc faults, smoke detectors, splits.

Also, is it a requirement to use the coloured loomex for identifying the circuits here in Ontario?

I ask because in NS if you change the service you have to bring the whole house up to standard. But here there is no messing with the service so I thought I would check.
Thanks!

[This message has been edited by RobbieD (edited 01-01-2007).]

#102823 01/02/07 01:12 AM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 18
B
Member
How did he get a reasonable insurance rate for a house that had K&T wiring?


You can ask the ESA directly for your questions:
www.esasafe.com

#102824 01/02/07 11:41 AM
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 8
B
Junior Member
The NFPA has information for aging wiring.

#102825 01/02/07 04:44 PM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 402
J
Member
You do not have use the color coded cable.
If start rewiring a room then you must bring the room up to code with the proper number and placement of receptacles, AFCI, GFCI etc.

#102826 01/02/07 06:00 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 231
R
RobbieD Offline OP
Member
Thanks. I know I could ask ESA but I figured I would use the forum. Doesn't seem to be much action on the Canadian section here so I posted a question to get things going.


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
togol
togol
NW In. USA
Posts: 421
Joined: September 2005
Top Posters(30 Days)
dsk 7
Popular Topics(Views)
284,761 Are you busy
217,372 Re: Forum
203,712 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5