ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Happy Thanksgiving all!
by gfretwell - 11/30/22 05:55 PM
EMC Glands on Motors
by gfretwell - 11/30/22 05:53 PM
Ground Rods: Installation and Hook-Up
by gfretwell - 11/30/22 05:45 PM
Colt Firearms Switchbox
by NORCAL - 11/29/22 01:04 AM
Perfect work light?
by gfretwell - 11/22/22 12:48 AM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 65 guests, and 12 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#102822 01/01/07 07:32 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 231
R
RobbieD Offline OP
Member
Hi, this is a question for guys in Ontario. I just moved to Ontario this year from out east so I am a bit unsure on the answer.

My brother just bought an older house that has 4 circuits that are still knob and tube. He wants to get a homeowners permit to change these circuits to loomex. I would of course help him with this since I am an electrician and he is my brother.

Since there will be no messing with the service, could he just change the circuits that are knob to loomex and thats it?

or

Would he have to rewire to make the whole house up to todays standards? ie.arc faults, smoke detectors, splits.

Also, is it a requirement to use the coloured loomex for identifying the circuits here in Ontario?

I ask because in NS if you change the service you have to bring the whole house up to standard. But here there is no messing with the service so I thought I would check.
Thanks!

[This message has been edited by RobbieD (edited 01-01-2007).]

#102823 01/02/07 12:12 AM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 18
B
Member
How did he get a reasonable insurance rate for a house that had K&T wiring?


You can ask the ESA directly for your questions:
www.esasafe.com

#102824 01/02/07 10:41 AM
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 8
B
Junior Member
The NFPA has information for aging wiring.

#102825 01/02/07 03:44 PM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 402
J
Member
You do not have use the color coded cable.
If start rewiring a room then you must bring the room up to code with the proper number and placement of receptacles, AFCI, GFCI etc.

#102826 01/02/07 05:00 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 231
R
RobbieD Offline OP
Member
Thanks. I know I could ask ESA but I figured I would use the forum. Doesn't seem to be much action on the Canadian section here so I posted a question to get things going.


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *
2023 National Electrical Code (NEC)
2023 NEC Now Available!
 
* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Niko
Niko
Campbell, CA
Posts: 356
Joined: August 2006
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 7
NORCAL 5
Popular Topics(Views)
300,341 Are you busy
230,001 Re: Forum
214,810 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5