ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
Recent Posts
Question on power to 4 Nema 6-50 & 5 Nema 5-15.
by TrickedoutTech. 10/22/17 11:36 PM
VFD MotorFeeders
by Yoopersup. 10/22/17 07:52 PM
Generator Cable Sizing
by brsele. 10/18/17 07:39 PM
What do you do?
by gfretwell. 10/17/17 01:08 AM
Good ol' copper pipe in the fuse holder trick
by HotLine1. 10/16/17 07:16 PM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
241,458 Are you busy
177,448 Re: Forum
169,026 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 23 guests, and 13 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#102822 - 01/01/07 08:32 PM Rewire Knob and tube  
RobbieD  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 231
Canada
Hi, this is a question for guys in Ontario. I just moved to Ontario this year from out east so I am a bit unsure on the answer.

My brother just bought an older house that has 4 circuits that are still knob and tube. He wants to get a homeowners permit to change these circuits to loomex. I would of course help him with this since I am an electrician and he is my brother.

Since there will be no messing with the service, could he just change the circuits that are knob to loomex and thats it?

or

Would he have to rewire to make the whole house up to todays standards? ie.arc faults, smoke detectors, splits.

Also, is it a requirement to use the coloured loomex for identifying the circuits here in Ontario?

I ask because in NS if you change the service you have to bring the whole house up to standard. But here there is no messing with the service so I thought I would check.
Thanks!

[This message has been edited by RobbieD (edited 01-01-2007).]


Tools for Electricians:

#102823 - 01/02/07 01:12 AM Re: Rewire Knob and tube  
BuildingHomes  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 18
Burlington, Ontario, CANADA
How did he get a reasonable insurance rate for a house that had K&T wiring?


You can ask the ESA directly for your questions:
www.esasafe.com


#102824 - 01/02/07 11:41 AM Re: Rewire Knob and tube  
barf  Offline
Junior Member
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 8
nys
The NFPA has information for aging wiring.


#102825 - 01/02/07 04:44 PM Re: Rewire Knob and tube  
jdevlin  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 402
welland ontario canada
You do not have use the color coded cable.
If start rewiring a room then you must bring the room up to code with the proper number and placement of receptacles, AFCI, GFCI etc.


#102826 - 01/02/07 06:00 PM Re: Rewire Knob and tube  
RobbieD  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 231
Canada
Thanks. I know I could ask ESA but I figured I would use the forum. Doesn't seem to be much action on the Canadian section here so I posted a question to get things going.



Member Spotlight
BEAMEUP
BEAMEUP
WA
Posts: 27
Joined: December 2004
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.015s Queries: 14 (0.003s) Memory: 0.7681 MB (Peak: 0.9038 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-10-23 13:31:11 UTC