ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Grounding electrodes
by gfretwell - 09/07/21 03:41 PM
Looking For Electricians in the Midlands
by Alex247 - 09/06/21 05:26 AM
Backup Generator Done Right
by timmp - 08/31/21 04:44 PM
New in the Gallery:
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
February, North East Indiana
February, North East Indiana
by timmp, July 25
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 31 guests, and 15 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 830
S
Member
I have a customer who has had a Hot tub wired, and told the electrician to pull big enough wire to be able to wire pool pump motors etc. in the future. I come out to the job and he has # 6 or # 4 wire pulled to a 4 circuit panel, with a 60 amp. GFI breaker feeding the hot tub. In order to find out if this feeder is big enough, I will have to know what size motor is in the hot tub, the motors for the pool, then add 25% for the largest motor, then add the load for the heaters on the hot tub, and the load that will be pulled by the pool light. They want 2 outlets also. Are these outlets to be figured at 180 volt/amperes per outlet? Thanks... Steve
Also when figuring the feeder for a dual voltage motor, don't you have to calculate according to the highest amp rating to determine the wire size for the feeder? Thought I read this somewhere in the code, but can't seem to find it. Thanks again .. Steve

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,662
Likes: 4
G
Member
You have to use the "high speed" rating of a 2 speed pump unless there is some kind of interlocking. I think some package spas interlock the heater and high speed of the pump but they are usually the 120v setup of the spa.


Greg Fretwell
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 830
S
Member
gfretwell, I don't think you understand exactly what I was asking. I'm not dealing with the hot tub only, but with the swimming pool pumps also. But that is a help anyway. Does anyone know the code reference for calculating the highest amp rating for the feeder size? Thanks Steve..

Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 12
G
Member
Most of the pools I do are for 120/240 and 14/7 amps. The pool light if low voltage is 2 1/2 on the primary side of xformer. You need one circuit for the pool pump and one circuit for the pool light. The pool heaters we use are gas. Hope this helps.

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,662
Likes: 4
G
Member
Use 125% of the spa pump on high, the heater, the pool pump at FLA and the light. I am not sure what the receptacle is worth but I would ignore it and round up from the rest.


Greg Fretwell
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 830
S
Member
gfretwell, When taking the pool pumps, do I take the FLA at the higher amperage at 115 volts, or do I take them at 230 volts where they will be operating at, and do you know the code reference? Thanks Steve..

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,662
Likes: 4
G
Member
Use the FLA as they are jumpered when you install them. If this is 240, use the 240 FLA


Greg Fretwell
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 830
S
Member
Greg, thanks for the info. I don't know where I got that you have to figure the feeder on the highest rating. One of them things that somehow got stuck in my mind I guess. One thing for sure, the feeders certainly will be big enough on some of the past jobs I've done:)

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
I
Moderator
I agree with Greg on how to size the moor loads.

I will add that the GFCI main breaker would concern me if it was my job.

With all the equipment you will have connected to the GFCI it is my opinion the cumulative leakage current will cause nuisance tripping of the GFCI main.

In my opinion it would be a more reliable installation to provide GFCI protection for each branch circuit that requires it and replace the 60 amp GFCI main with a standard 60 amp breaker.

Bob


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,662
Likes: 4
G
Member
If your equipment is tight I doubt you will leak enough to trip the GFCI. Finding the bad part might be hard if you do get nuisance tripping once in a while tho.
The GFCI that feeds my outside lights around the pool and patio is one of those things. It feeds 6 motion detectors, a couple receptacles, a dimmer and over a dozen luminaires. When this one trips I have a challenge.


Greg Fretwell
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
HCE727
HCE727
Delaware County, PA, USA
Posts: 187
Joined: November 2005
Top Posters(30 Days)
timmp 3
FGBY 2
Popular Topics(Views)
282,938 Are you busy
216,703 Re: Forum
203,123 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5