by Tjia1981
10/23/16 12:08 PM
Son of Sparky
by HotLine1
10/20/16 07:43 PM
Speaking of Plugmold ...
by gfretwell
10/17/16 02:37 PM
Broken battery charger? Check for cobwebs!
by gfretwell
10/17/16 02:30 PM
New in the Gallery:
12.5A through 0.75mm˛ flex (just out of curiosity)
Shout Box

Top Posters (30 Days)
gfretwell 14
HotLine1 7
ghost307 7
renosteinke 6
Potseal 4
Who's Online
0 registered (), 321 Guests and 4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#8223 - 03/12/02 09:05 PM Figuring log homes...
teeland Offline

Loc: Hot Springs, AR
Ok guys, I know that prices vary from region to region, but is there some kind of pricing configuration for log homes? Since I have taken over the family business, I have not had the pleasure of billing out a log home. I have had plenty of experience in wiring them, but my father always did the pricing.

On normal residential homes, I charge by the opening and very rarely by the sq. foot. But on a log house, it would seem that the labor cost just can't be accounted for until you are finished, and a square foot estimate would be the best way.

Am I close or just standing out in left feild without a clue? And what are the going rates in your areas. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades

Arc Flash Clothing, Gloves, KneePads, Tool Belts, Pouches, Tool Carriers, etc. etc....

#8224 - 03/12/02 09:21 PM Re: Figuring log homes...
JMichael Offline

Loc: Norwich, NY, USA
If you are in the Long Island area I would like to assist with the installation. I have seen a log home wired on TV one time. (HomeTime) It seems there are many many factors to consider when wiring them. I Would like to see one wired up, start to finish.

#8225 - 03/12/02 10:25 PM Re: Figuring log homes...
The Watt Doctor Offline

Loc: Mont Belvieu, TX