by Vlado
Today at 09:33 AM
breaker meltdown
by crselectric
Today at 12:42 AM
Electrical mast flashing product
by ThomasWinfrey
09/22/16 12:14 AM
What estimating software do you recommend?
by sparky
09/21/16 07:20 PM
"Dry Run" Inspection goes awry
by HotLine1
09/20/16 07:39 PM
New in the Gallery:
12.5A through 0.75mm˛ flex (just out of curiosity)
Shout Box

Top Posters (30 Days)
HotLine1 17
gfretwell 9
sparky 9
sparky66wv 8
Vlado 6
Who's Online
0 registered (), 267 Guests and 4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#183613 - 01/16/09 08:27 AM Need New Set of Testers
leespark Offline

Loc: Massachusetts
I am mourning the death of my Greenlee DCV 10 testers which recently passed away.

http://www.yf-instruments.com/greenlee/DVC-10.shtm

I have been using this type of testers for almost 20 years and have been nursing this pair along for a couple of years because I knew they had discontinued the model. I have used the new version Greenlee came out with but I don't like them, they just don't feel right in my hands.

I liked having one of the probes on the body of the tester itself and having only 1 test lead. This is probably why they don't make them anymore due to the fact they don't have replacable test leads. I liked the digital readout, audible continuity, the ability to test low voltage and the carrying case.

The only other testers that are close in my opinion is the Fluke T5-600:

http://www.transcat.com/Catalog/productdetail.aspx?itemnum=T5-600E

I just wanted to get others opinions before I pull the trigger.

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades

Arc Flash Clothing, Gloves, KneePads, Tool Belts, Pouches, Tool Carriers, etc. etc....

#183625 - 01/16/09 03:22 PM Re: Need New Set of Testers [Re: leespark]
KJay Offline

Loc: MA, USA
Personally, I think you’ll be grazing on greener pastures and much better off with the Fluke T-5 anyway.