ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Do we need grounding?
by gfretwell - 04/06/24 08:32 PM
UL 508A SPACING
by tortuga - 03/30/24 07:39 PM
Increasing demand factors in residential
by tortuga - 03/28/24 05:57 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 466 guests, and 11 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
J
james Offline OP
I've just moved to Georgia from Michigan and am looking to get my state license and am not quite sure of the process or my approach. I'd like to do just residential work. I have a degree in Electricial Engineering and have remodeled several homes and done my own electricial work for years. I'm quite comfortable with the theroy and how to's but would need to focus on learning more of the code in order to pass the test.
I see a lot of courses and books around but not sure if the just focus on residential or not.
Any advice would help.
Thanks.

Broom Pusher and
James,

Along with the NEC testing, try finding full time work with a "Good" Electrical Contractor.
"Good" one would be a Company / Person which will hire you as a Helper, give you hands-on training, and answer ALL your questions per the trade in a "Positive" way.

Per your EE skills;
What field of Elect. Engineering are you familiar with?
Have you any experience in Power Systems Electrical Design / Engineering?
Do you have BSEE or MSEE?

You have found a great site here at ECN to help "Evolve" in the trade.
Members here can assist with the 1,024,000 questions which will arise over time - from the basic stuff, through NEC, to Power Systems details and designs.
Also, check out the Technical Reference area for Schematic drawings and formulas.

Scott s.e.t.

Scott " 35 " Thompson
Just Say NO To Green Eggs And Ham!
E