ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Safety at heights?
by gfretwell - 04/22/24 10:36 AM
Old low volt E10 sockets - supplier or alternative
by gfretwell - 04/21/24 11:20 AM
Do we need grounding?
by gfretwell - 04/06/24 08:32 PM
UL 508A SPACING
by tortuga - 03/30/24 07:39 PM
Increasing demand factors in residential
by tortuga - 03/28/24 05:57 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 211 guests, and 10 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#148921 05/14/03 10:32 PM
Admin Offline OP
Administrator
From the EmailBag:
Hello
My name is Dave Jackson, I work in the papermaking industry and am a Safety Rep. I have a question that some of your members may be able to answer.

Is there a minimum standard of design for electrical isolation points? Some of the ones we have in my workplace, I believe, are not up to standard. There are a few where an operative is able to attach a lock whilst the
switch is still in the 'ON' position. Surely this cannot be right. I would be grateful if anyone can advise me on the appropriate designs.

Thank you
Dave Jackson
PS. I believe Dave is from the UK

[This message has been edited by Webmaster (edited 05-14-2003).]

Arc Flash PPE Clothing, LOTO & Insulated Tools
S
Dave,

No being 100% sure where you are located and what standards would apply to you, I will base my response in general terms, trying to to reference OSHA too often.